Posted in Book Reviews

Tell Me Where You Live, I’ll Tell You Who You Are: The Woman at 46 Heath Street by @LSandersonbooks @bookouture @Christina_Dem

Getting ready for the weekend? I have something for you…

My biggest thanks to Bookouture and Kim Nash for inviting me to be part of the blog tour for this book and for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

unnamedTitle: The Woman at 46 Heath Street
Publisher: Bookouture
Date of publication: 28.03.2019
Format: e-copy
Source: Publisher
Number of pages: 280

The letter is addressed to me. No stamp, swirly handwriting in black ink. I pull out a piece of paper, stiffening when I read the message. Hands trembling, the note slides to the floor: Your husband is having an affair.

Six words written in neat block letters. Six words slipped through her letterbox, destroying her marriage, exposing Ella’s perfect life as perfect lies.

But Ella has a plan: Alice is the answer to her problems. A lodger, to help keep her afloat, a friend, to keep the loneliness at bay.

Only Alice has her own reasons for wanting to live at 46 Heath Street…

Continue reading “Tell Me Where You Live, I’ll Tell You Who You Are: The Woman at 46 Heath Street by @LSandersonbooks @bookouture @Christina_Dem”

Posted in Book Reviews

Why: Runaway by Claire MacLeary @Sarabandbooks @ClaireMacLeary #LoveBooksGroupTours

You can’t imagine my joy at the idea of sharing my review of Runaway by the wonderful and kind Claire MacLeary!

Thank you so much to Kelly at Love Books Group for inviting me to be part of this wonderful blog tour and for introducing me to a great series!

runaway.jpgTitle: Runaway
Publisher: Contraband
Date of publication: 2019
Format: e-copy
Source: blog tour organiser
Number of pages: 304

The third book in the awards-listed Harcus & Laird series

When Aberdeen housewife Debbie Milne abruptly vanishes without trace, leaving behind her two young children, husband Scott is too distraught to sit out the police’s 72-hour window and await developments. He turns to local detective agency Harcus & Laird.

Put off by previous “domestic” cases, Maggie Laird isn’t keen, but is cajoled by partner Wilma Harcus into a covert operation. Together they comb through meagre scraps of information, eventually trawling the city’s women’s refuges and homeless squats, in spite of the deadly danger.

Then a woman’s body is discovered in a Dundee builder’s skip. With the clock ticking and the police struggling to make identification, the race is on. Claire MacLeary fashions a surprising, gritty, fast-paced tale with the warmth and wisdom of ‘women of a certain age’.

Continue reading “Why: Runaway by Claire MacLeary @Sarabandbooks @ClaireMacLeary #LoveBooksGroupTours”

Posted in Book Reviews

The Way Home: The Lost Man by Jane Harper @janeharperautho @caolinndouglas @GraceEVincent @LittleBrownUK #TheLostMan #blogtour

Here comes a new week, and with it, new books, new reviews, new (or not) authors! I am really happy to publish my review of The Lost Man on this freezing February morning!

I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. I would like to thank Little, Brown UK and Caolinn for inviting me to be part of this wonderful tour.

the lost manTitle: The Lost Man
Author: Jane Harper
Publisher: Little Brown UK
Date of hardback publication: 7th February 2019
Format: uncorrected bound proof
Number of pages: 362

The gripping new novel from the author of the Sunday Times top ten bestsellers, The Dry and Force of Nature.

He had started to remove his clothes as logic had deserted him and his skin was cracked. Whatever had been going through Cameron’s mind when he was alive, he didn’t look peaceful in death.

Two brothers meet at the remote fence line separating their cattle farms under the relenting sun of the remote outback. In an isolated part of Western Australia, they are each other’s nearest neighbour, their homes three hours’ drive apart.

They are at the stockman’s grave, a landmark so old that no one can remember who is buried there. But today, the scant shadow it casts was the last hope for their middle brother, Cameron, who lies dead at their feet.

Something had been on Cam’s mind. Did he choose to walk to his death? Because if he didn’t, the isolation of the outback leaves few suspects…

Continue reading “The Way Home: The Lost Man by Jane Harper @janeharperautho @caolinndouglas @GraceEVincent @LittleBrownUK #TheLostMan #blogtour”

Posted in Book Reviews

Ready for the Rollecoaster of the Year? Twisted by Steve Cavanagh @SSCav @orionbooks @AMHeathLtd

Some books just leave you staring at the Kindle in total silence for five minutes, unable to process that the novel is finished and that you’ve just experienced a hell of a story…

Note: This review is one of the shortest I’ve ever written. The words are still stuck in my head, and my head has been Twisted…

twistedTitle: Twisted
Author: Steve Cavanagh
Publisher: Orion
Date of publication: 24st January 2019
Format: uncorrected e-copy
Number of pages: 352

BEFORE YOU READ THIS BOOK
I WANT YOU TO KNOW THREE THINGS:

1. The police are looking to charge me with murder.
2. No one knows who I am. Or how I did it.
3. If you think you’ve found me. I’m coming for you next.

After you’ve read this book, you’ll know: the truth is far more twisted…

Continue reading “Ready for the Rollecoaster of the Year? Twisted by Steve Cavanagh @SSCav @orionbooks @AMHeathLtd”

Posted in Book Reviews

Hide & Seek: Gone by Midnight by Candice Fox @candicefoxbooks @SarahHarwood_ @PenguinUKBooks

I’m kicking off this week with a shiny and fantastic read! Nothing better to teach this Monday to behave!

img_2777
Title: Gone By Midnight
Author: Candice Fox
Publisher: Century
Date of publication: 24st January 2019
Format: uncorrected bound copy
Number of pages: 370

They left four children safe upstairs.
They came back to three.
__________________

On the fifth floor of the White Caps Hotel, four young boys are left alone while their parents dine downstairs.

But when one of the parents checks on the children at midnight, they discover one of them is missing.

The boys swear they stayed in their room. CCTV confirms that none of them left the building. No trace of the child is found.

Now the hunt is on to find him, before it’s too late – and before the search for a boy becomes a search for a body…

Continue reading “Hide & Seek: Gone by Midnight by Candice Fox @candicefoxbooks @SarahHarwood_ @PenguinUKBooks”

Posted in Book Reviews

Tell Me Your Name: My Name Is Anna by Lizzy Barber @ByLizzyBarber @Rachel90Kennedy @arrowpublishing

Happy Wednesday, guys! I’m back today after a little reading-binge to talk about a fantastic book! Let me tell you, January is being very nice to me book-wise!

My biggest thanks to Rachel at Century for inviting me to be part of this blog tour and for providing me with a copy of this book. (I hate the post for losing my print copy!!!!)

my name is anna coverTitle: My Name Is Anna
Author: Lizzy Barber
Publisher: Century
Date of publication: 10th January 2019
Format: e-copy
Source: NetGalley

Two women – desperate to unlock the truth.
How far will they go to lay the past to rest?

ANNA has been taught that virtue is the path to God. But on her eighteenth birthday she defies her Mamma’s rules and visits Florida’s biggest theme park.

She has never been allowed to go – so why, when she arrives, does everything seem so familiar? And is there a connection to the mysterious letter she receives on the same day?

ROSIE has grown up in the shadow of the missing sister she barely remembers, her family fractured by years of searching without leads.Now, on the fifteenth anniversary of her sister’s disappearance, the media circus resumes in full flow, and Rosie vows to uncover the truth.

But will she find the answer before it tears her family apart?

Continue reading “Tell Me Your Name: My Name Is Anna by Lizzy Barber @ByLizzyBarber @Rachel90Kennedy @arrowpublishing”

Posted in Book Reviews

How Well Do You Know Your Neighbours? #DirtyLittleSecrets by Jo Spain @SpainJoanne @QuercusBooks @Millsreid11

Good morning, lovelies!!! Or afternoon. Or night. Wherever you are, hello!

I am so excited to post my very first review of the year! And so happy that it is about a book that blew me away! I’m kinda spoiling the effect but… OMG I adored this novel!!!! Can you think of a best way to start your blogging year? Because I can’t!

I received a copy of Dirty Little Secrets from Quercus Books through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you to the team, and the author!

dirty little secretsTitle: Dirty Little Secrets
Author: Jo Spain
Publisher: Quercus Books
Date of publication: 7th February 2019
Format: e-copy
Source: NetGalley
Rating: 5 ⭐️

Six neighbours, six secrets, six reasons to want Olive Collins dead.

In the exclusive gated community of Withered Vale, people’s lives appear as perfect as their beautifully manicured lawns. Money, success, privilege – the residents have it all. Life is good.

There’s just one problem.

Olive Collins’ dead body has been rotting inside number four for the last three months. Her neighbours say they’re shocked at the discovery but nobody thought to check on her when she vanished from sight.

The police start to ask questions and the seemingly flawless facade begins to crack. Because, when it comes to Olive’s neighbours, it seems each of them has something to hide, something to lose and everything to gain from her death.

The new psychological thriller from the bestselling author of The Confession, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty.

Continue reading “How Well Do You Know Your Neighbours? #DirtyLittleSecrets by Jo Spain @SpainJoanne @QuercusBooks @Millsreid11”

Posted in Book Reviews

Is a Mortgage the Worst Thing you Can Get: The House by @Simon_Lelic @PenguinUKBooks

I would like to thank Penguin Books for providing me with a copy of The House in exchange for an honest review!

the houseTitle: The House
Author: Simon Lelic
Publisher: Penguin Books UK
Source: NetGalley
Genre: Mystery, thriller
Date of publication: August 17th 2017
Format: eARC
Number of pages: 340
Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐️

Continue reading “Is a Mortgage the Worst Thing you Can Get: The House by @Simon_Lelic @PenguinUKBooks”