Posted in Book Reviews

Almost: Perfect Crime by Helen Fields @Helen_Fields @AvonBooksUK @Sabah_K #BlogTour

Reading Helen Fields’ Perfect series is like drinking a hot cup of tea after having walked miles in the rain. It’s comforting, absorbing, and feels oh-so-good!

I would like to thank Sabah for inviting me to be part of this amazing blog tour!

perfect crimeTitle: Perfect Crime
Author: Helen Fields
Date of publication: 18 April 2019
Publisher: Avon Books UK
Format: Paperback proof
Number of pages: 400

Your darkest moment is your most vulnerable…

Stephen Berry is about to jump off a bridge until a suicide prevention counsellor stops him. A week later, Stephen is dead. Found at the bottom of a cliff, DI Luc Callanach and DCI Ava Turner are drafted in to investigate whether he jumped or whether he was pushed…

As they dig deeper, more would-be suicides roll in: a woman found dead in a bath; a man violently electrocuted. But these are carefully curated deaths – nothing like the impulsive suicide attempts they’ve been made out to be.

Little do Callanach and Turner know how close their perpetrator is as, across Edinburgh, a violent and psychopathic killer gains more confidence with every life he takes…

Continue reading “Almost: Perfect Crime by Helen Fields @Helen_Fields @AvonBooksUK @Sabah_K #BlogTour”

Posted in Book Reviews

Trapped: #NoWayOut by Cara Hunter @CaraHunterBooks @EllieeHud @PenguinUKBooks #BlogTour

Weekends are for snuggling on the couch with a book and a pot of tea. Let me help you choose your next crime fiction gem!

I would like to thank Penguin Random House, and particularly Ellie, for inviting me to be part of this blog tour and for providing me with a copy of No Way Out.

no way out.jpgTitle: No Way Out
Author: Cara Hunter
Publisher: Penguin Random House UK
Date of publication: 2019
Format: paperback
Source: Publisher
Number of pages: 360

The Christmas holidays, and two children have just been pulled from the wreckage of their burning home in North Oxford. The toddler is dead, and his brother is soon fighting for his life.

Why were they left in the house alone? Where is their mother, and why is their father not answering his phone?

Then new evidence is discovered, and DI Fawley’s worst nightmare comes true.

Because this fire wasn’t an accident.

It was murder.

Continue reading “Trapped: #NoWayOut by Cara Hunter @CaraHunterBooks @EllieeHud @PenguinUKBooks #BlogTour”

Posted in Book Reviews

Never Like That In Traffic: #DeathBeforeCoffee by Desmond P. Ryan @RealDesmondRyan #MikeOShea #damppebblesblogtours

I’m on a roll! One day, two fab books! Tonight, I’m talking about a book that made me laugh, roll my eyes, and race through time!

My biggest thanks to the fantastic Emma @ damppebblesblogtour for giving me the opportunity to discover this author and book. I received a copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review on the blog tour.

DeathBeforeCoffeeCover from Des.jpg
Title: Death Before Coffee
Author: Desmond P. Ryan
Date of publication: 8th February 2019
Format: e-copy
Source: blog tour organiser
Number of pages: 245

By 2:27 on a Thursday afternoon, the one-legged man from Room 8 at 147 Loxitor Avenue has been beaten to death with a lead pipe. Twenty-eight minutes later, Detective Mike O’Shea is testifying in a stuffy courtroom, unaware that, within an hour, he will be standing in an alleyway littered with beer cans and condoms while his new partner—the man who saved his life thirteen years ago—flicks bugs off of a battered corpse with a ballpoint pen. When a rogue undercover copper prematurely hauls in the prime suspect, Mike blows a fuse, resulting in an unlikely rapport developing between him and the lead homicide detective sergeant, a woman known for her stilettos and razor sharp investigative skills.

At the end of his seventy-two-hour shift, three men are dead and Mike O’Shea is floating in and out of consciousness in an emergency room hallway, two women by his side. Death Before Coffee, the second book in the Mike O’Shea Crime Fiction Series, weaves a homicide investigation through the life of an inner-city police detective intent on balancing his responsibilities as a son, brother, and newly single father with his sworn oath of duty. When faced with death, Mike is forced to make decisions that stir up old memories, compelling him to confront his demons while fighting the good fight.

Continue reading “Never Like That In Traffic: #DeathBeforeCoffee by Desmond P. Ryan @RealDesmondRyan #MikeOShea #damppebblesblogtours”

Posted in Book Reviews

Hear Me: Before She Knew Him by Peter Swanson @PeterSwanson3 @FaberBooks

I will never be able to come up with a Top 10 or 20 this year again. Before She Knew Him is another proof of this. What a read. What A READ! Do I wish my TBR were less good? Nope!!!

My biggest thanks to Faber & Faber for providing me with a copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review. Hugs to Namra for the speed delivery to fight postage fails!

D39A372C-5584-4AE5-B863-EF3A703BE975
Title: Before She Knew Him
Author: Peter Swanson
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Date of publication: 7.03.2019
Format: Hardback
Source: Publisher
Number of pages: 309

‘Ever since she’d been old enough to pick out her own library books, Hen had always
had a morbid streak, a preoccupation with death.’

When Hen and Lloyd move into their new house in West Dartford, Mass., they’re
relieved to meet, at their first block party, the only other seemingly-childless couple in

their neighborhood, Matthew and Mira Dolamore. Turns out they live in the Dutch
Colonial immediately next door.

When they’re invited over for dinner, however, things take a sinister turn when Hen thinks she sees something suspicious in Matthew’s study. Could this charming, mild-mannered College Professor really be hiding a dark secret, one that only Hen, who’s been battling her own problems with depression and medication, could know about?

Lloyd certainly doesn’t seem to believe her, and so, forced together, Hen and Matthew start to form an unlikely bond. But who, if anyone, is really in danger?

From its deeply unsettling opening, Peter Swanson, the master of contemporary domestic thrillers, fashions a novel as brilliant, dark, coruscating and surprising as Patricia Highsmith and Ira Levin at their very best.

Continue reading “Hear Me: Before She Knew Him by Peter Swanson @PeterSwanson3 @FaberBooks”

Posted in Book Reviews

It’s #BookoutureWeek! Day 5: Death in the Lakes by Graham Smith @GrahamSmith1972 @bookouture

This week is BOOKOUTURE WEEK on Chocolate’n’Waffles!

Screenshot 2018-12-24 at 00.15.53

Why focus on one publisher? The main reason is that few Bookouture books have disappointed me and I wanted December to be a good reading month. So I took a bet on them. Okay, a safe bet, but still! Another reason is that Bookouture was the first publisher to trust me when I started blogging, and they have given me great novels, fab friendships, and lots of fun, so I wanted to give back with seven reviews in a row, as a thank you and a ‘let’s have even more fun next year’!

One rule: all books have been read this month! As always, thank you to the fantastic Bookouture team for feeding me via NetGalley in exchange for honest reviews.


I am over the moon to talk about Graham Smith’s latest book!

41KuBApv-dLTitle: Death in the Lakes
Author: Graham Smith
Publisher: Bookouture
Date of publication: 2018
Format: e-copy uncorrected proof
Source: NetGalley

Detective Beth Young has just joined the Cumbrian major crimes team when a body is found posed in a ritualistic manner – arms spread and graceful wings attached – at a crumbling castle in the hills of the Lake District.

The entire police force is on red alert. But Beth begins to feel she’s the only one who can follow the disturbing clues left by the twisted killer. Because she doesn’t think like everyone else. To Beth, crimes are puzzles she can solve. Even if real life is a little harder.

As more bodies are discovered in derelict stately homes across the Lake District, Beth knows she’s in a race against time.

But the killer is looking for another victim to add to his collection… Will Beth be able to save her? Or will he get there first?

Continue reading “It’s #BookoutureWeek! Day 5: Death in the Lakes by Graham Smith @GrahamSmith1972 @bookouture”

Posted in Book Reviews

It’s #BookoutureWeek! Day 2: Last Lullaby by Carol Wyer @carolewyer @bookouture

This week is BOOKOUTURE WEEK on Chocolate’n’Waffles!

Screenshot 2018-12-24 at 00.15.53

Why focus on one publisher? The main reason is that few Bookouture books have disappointed me and I wanted December to be a good reading month. So I took a bet on them. Okay, a safe bet, but still! Another reason is that Bookouture was the first publisher to trust me when I started blogging, and they have given me great novels, fab friendships, and lots of fun, so I wanted to give back with seven reviews in a row, as a thank you and a ‘let’s have even more fun next year’!

One rule: all books have been read this month! As always, thank you to the fantastic Bookouture team for feeding me via NetGalley in exchange for honest reviews.


Merry Christmas to those who celebrate! Happy Tuesday to everyone! I’m excited to talk about Last Lullaby today for the second day of our Bookouture Week!

last lullabyTitle: Last Lullaby
Author: Carol Wyer
Publisher: Bookouture
Date of publication: December 2018
Format: e-copy
Source: NetGalley

Charlotte’s baby is safe. But is she?

When the body of mother Charlotte Brannon is discovered by her husband Adam, in their bedroom, Detective Natalie Ward is first on the scene. The killer has left a chilling calling card: The word ‘Why?’ written on the wall in blood. 

As Natalie begins to delve deeper into the couple’s lives, she discovers that Adam has a dark past he’s been hiding and she’s sure that the Brannon’s teenage babysitter Inge has secrets of her own.

Then another mother is murdered on her doorstep in front of her young son, the word ‘why’ scrawled on the wall next to her. 

All the key suspects have alibis and with her own marriage hanging by a thread, Natalie is struggling to stay focused on cracking her toughest case yet.

When a young woman and her baby disappear, a member of Natalie’s own team is put in terrible danger. Can Natalie stop this twisted serial killer and save one of her own before more families are torn apart forever?

Gripping, fast-paced and nail-bitingly tense, this book will send shivers down your spine. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott and Karin Slaughter.

Continue reading “It’s #BookoutureWeek! Day 2: Last Lullaby by Carol Wyer @carolewyer @bookouture”

Posted in Book Reviews

Length doesn’t Matter: CWA Anthology of Short Stories @OrendaBooks @the_cwa

Let’s begin the day with an Orenda Books review! And not any review. Today I’m finally publishing my thoughts about the CWA anthology of short stories. Personal reasons prevented me from posting on time, I apologize to the lovely Karen Sullivan and to the patient Anne Cater for this! This post in my thank you for including me in the tour!

cwa anthology.jpg

Title: CWA Anthology of Short Stories
Edited by: Martin Edwards
Publisher: Orenda Books
Date of publication: November 2017
Format: eARC
Number of pages: 306
Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

This exciting collection of short stories features crime writers working with a “mystery tour” or travel theme. Ann Cleeves on Tanzania, Vas Khan on Mumbai, and Marnie Riches on Holland. Other writers include Sarah Hilary, Alex Marwood, Cally Taylor, Elly Griffiths, Steph Broadribb, Johana Gustawsson, Liz Nugent, Steve Cavanagh, Cal Moriarty, Paul Hardisty, Mason Cross, Sharon Bolton, Vas Khan, Marnie Riches, Bill Ryan, Ian Rankin, Peter James, Kate Rhodes, Ragnar Jonasson, and Ann Cleeves.

Continue reading “Length doesn’t Matter: CWA Anthology of Short Stories @OrendaBooks @the_cwa”