Posted in Book Reviews

It’s #BookoutureWeek! Day 5: Death in the Lakes by Graham Smith @GrahamSmith1972 @bookouture

This week is BOOKOUTURE WEEK on Chocolate’n’Waffles!

Screenshot 2018-12-24 at 00.15.53

Why focus on one publisher? The main reason is that few Bookouture books have disappointed me and I wanted December to be a good reading month. So I took a bet on them. Okay, a safe bet, but still! Another reason is that Bookouture was the first publisher to trust me when I started blogging, and they have given me great novels, fab friendships, and lots of fun, so I wanted to give back with seven reviews in a row, as a thank you and a ‘let’s have even more fun next year’!

One rule: all books have been read this month! As always, thank you to the fantastic Bookouture team for feeding me via NetGalley in exchange for honest reviews.


I am over the moon to talk about Graham Smith’s latest book!

41KuBApv-dLTitle: Death in the Lakes
Author: Graham Smith
Publisher: Bookouture
Date of publication: 2018
Format: e-copy uncorrected proof
Source: NetGalley

Detective Beth Young has just joined the Cumbrian major crimes team when a body is found posed in a ritualistic manner – arms spread and graceful wings attached – at a crumbling castle in the hills of the Lake District.

The entire police force is on red alert. But Beth begins to feel she’s the only one who can follow the disturbing clues left by the twisted killer. Because she doesn’t think like everyone else. To Beth, crimes are puzzles she can solve. Even if real life is a little harder.

As more bodies are discovered in derelict stately homes across the Lake District, Beth knows she’s in a race against time.

But the killer is looking for another victim to add to his collection… Will Beth be able to save her? Or will he get there first?

Continue reading “It’s #BookoutureWeek! Day 5: Death in the Lakes by Graham Smith @GrahamSmith1972 @bookouture”

Posted in Book Reviews

It’s #BookoutureWeek! Day 2: Last Lullaby by Carol Wyer @carolewyer @bookouture

This week is BOOKOUTURE WEEK on Chocolate’n’Waffles!

Screenshot 2018-12-24 at 00.15.53

Why focus on one publisher? The main reason is that few Bookouture books have disappointed me and I wanted December to be a good reading month. So I took a bet on them. Okay, a safe bet, but still! Another reason is that Bookouture was the first publisher to trust me when I started blogging, and they have given me great novels, fab friendships, and lots of fun, so I wanted to give back with seven reviews in a row, as a thank you and a ‘let’s have even more fun next year’!

One rule: all books have been read this month! As always, thank you to the fantastic Bookouture team for feeding me via NetGalley in exchange for honest reviews.


Merry Christmas to those who celebrate! Happy Tuesday to everyone! I’m excited to talk about Last Lullaby today for the second day of our Bookouture Week!

last lullabyTitle: Last Lullaby
Author: Carol Wyer
Publisher: Bookouture
Date of publication: December 2018
Format: e-copy
Source: NetGalley

Charlotte’s baby is safe. But is she?

When the body of mother Charlotte Brannon is discovered by her husband Adam, in their bedroom, Detective Natalie Ward is first on the scene. The killer has left a chilling calling card: The word ‘Why?’ written on the wall in blood. 

As Natalie begins to delve deeper into the couple’s lives, she discovers that Adam has a dark past he’s been hiding and she’s sure that the Brannon’s teenage babysitter Inge has secrets of her own.

Then another mother is murdered on her doorstep in front of her young son, the word ‘why’ scrawled on the wall next to her. 

All the key suspects have alibis and with her own marriage hanging by a thread, Natalie is struggling to stay focused on cracking her toughest case yet.

When a young woman and her baby disappear, a member of Natalie’s own team is put in terrible danger. Can Natalie stop this twisted serial killer and save one of her own before more families are torn apart forever?

Gripping, fast-paced and nail-bitingly tense, this book will send shivers down your spine. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott and Karin Slaughter.

Continue reading “It’s #BookoutureWeek! Day 2: Last Lullaby by Carol Wyer @carolewyer @bookouture”

Posted in Book Reviews

Length doesn’t Matter: CWA Anthology of Short Stories @OrendaBooks @the_cwa

Let’s begin the day with an Orenda Books review! And not any review. Today I’m finally publishing my thoughts about the CWA anthology of short stories. Personal reasons prevented me from posting on time, I apologize to the lovely Karen Sullivan and to the patient Anne Cater for this! This post in my thank you for including me in the tour!

cwa anthology.jpg

Title: CWA Anthology of Short Stories
Edited by: Martin Edwards
Publisher: Orenda Books
Date of publication: November 2017
Format: eARC
Number of pages: 306
Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

This exciting collection of short stories features crime writers working with a “mystery tour” or travel theme. Ann Cleeves on Tanzania, Vas Khan on Mumbai, and Marnie Riches on Holland. Other writers include Sarah Hilary, Alex Marwood, Cally Taylor, Elly Griffiths, Steph Broadribb, Johana Gustawsson, Liz Nugent, Steve Cavanagh, Cal Moriarty, Paul Hardisty, Mason Cross, Sharon Bolton, Vas Khan, Marnie Riches, Bill Ryan, Ian Rankin, Peter James, Kate Rhodes, Ragnar Jonasson, and Ann Cleeves.

Continue reading “Length doesn’t Matter: CWA Anthology of Short Stories @OrendaBooks @the_cwa”