Posted in Book Reviews

Not So Innocent: Child’s Play by Angela Marsons @WriteAngie @bookouture #BookonTour #Favouriteseries

Mondays can be great days! Today is a good example as I am lucky to share my review of the latest Kim Stone novel!!! I couldn’t be happier to kick off the week with another stunner from Angela Marsons!

Hugs and huge thanks to Kim and Bookouture for inviting me to read and review Child’s Play as part of the blog tour!

Childs-Play-Kindle.jpg

Title: Child’s Play
Author: Angela Marsons
Date of publication:  11th July 2019
Publisher: Bookouture
Format: e-ARC
Number of pages: 359

Finally we’re playing a game. A game that I have chosen. I give one last push of the roundabout and stand back. ‘You really should have played with me,’ I tell her again although I know she can no longer hear.

Late one summer evening, Detective Kim Stone arrives at Haden Hill Park to the scene of a horrific crime: a woman in her sixties tied to a swing with barbed wire and an X carved into the back of her neck. 

The victim, Belinda Evans, was a retired college Professor of Child Psychology. As Kim and her team search her home, they find an overnight bag packed and begin to unravel a complex relationship between Belinda and her sister Veronica.

Then two more bodies are found bearing the same distinctive markings, and Kim knows she is on the hunt for a ritualistic serial killer. Linking the victims, Kim discovers they were involved in annual tournaments for gifted children and were on their way to the next event. 

With DS Penn immersed in the murder case of a young man, Kim and her team are already stretched and up against one of the most ruthless killers they’ve ever encountered. The clues lie in investigating every child who attended the tournaments, dating back decades.

Faced with hundreds of potential leads and a bereaved sister who is refusing to talk, can Kim get inside the mind of a killer and stop another murder before it’s too late?

The addictive new crime thriller from multi-million copy, number one bestseller Angela Marsons explores the dark side of child prodigies and will have you absolutely hooked.

Continue reading “Not So Innocent: Child’s Play by Angela Marsons @WriteAngie @bookouture #BookonTour #Favouriteseries”

Posted in Book Reviews

It Comes and Goes in Waves: #ComeBackForMe by Heidi Perks @HeidiPerksBooks @arrowpublishing #TeamHeidi #BlogTour

🥳 HAPPY PUBLICATION DAY, HEIDI PERKS!

Thank you for writing amazing novels turning me into a huge fangirl! 🎉

You can read my review of Now You See Her here!

I would like to thank the amazing Rachel at Century for inviting me to be part of this blog tour and, more importantly, to hold my #TeamHeidi banner high on this special day. I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Come Back For Me Hi-Res Cover
Title: Come Back For Me
Author: Heidi Perks
Date of publication:  11th July 2019
Publisher: Century
Format: e-ARC
Number of pages: 400
Rating: 🧚‍♀️🧚‍♀️🧚‍♀️🧚‍♀️🧚‍♀️

A shocking discovery. An island wrapped in secrets.You can bury the body, but the truth will always surface…

A tiny island community is stunned by the discovery of a long-buried body. For Stella Harvey, the news is doubly shocking, as the body is found in the garden of her childhood home. The home her family fled without explanation twenty-five years ago.

Now, questioning her past and desperate to unearth the truth, Stella returns to the Dorset island.
But she quickly finds that the community she left isn’t as welcoming as she remembers – and that people in it will go to any length to protect their secrets. But one thing rings true… You can’t bury the truth forever.

Continue reading “It Comes and Goes in Waves: #ComeBackForMe by Heidi Perks @HeidiPerksBooks @arrowpublishing #TeamHeidi #BlogTour”

Posted in Book Reviews

Place Your Bet: #FixedOdds by William McIntyre @cerisanne @Best_Defence @sandstonepress #BlogTour

I love courtroom thrillers. I love the Law, rules, and those clever enough to play with them. Today is a good day. No, a great day! Today’s book review is all about a stunning book mixing courtroom chills with fun and tension!

Special thanks to Ceris from Sandstone Press for inviting me to be part of this tour and providing me with a gorgeous proof copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

fixed odds.jpg

Title: Fixed Odds
Author: William McIntyre
Publisher: Sandstone Press
Date of publication: 4 July 2019
Format: physical proof copy
Source: publisher
Number of pages: 290

George ‘Genghis’ McCann has stolen – and lost – a priceless masterpiece. Snooker
champion Oscar ‘The Showman’ Bowman is charged with betting fraud. With a second baby on the way, and promises of great rewards if he wins Bowman’s case and recovers the painting, defence lawyer Robbie Munro has never been so tempted to fix the odds in his favour.

Continue reading “Place Your Bet: #FixedOdds by William McIntyre @cerisanne @Best_Defence @sandstonepress #BlogTour”

Posted in Book Reviews

Chocolate’n’Orenda Round 1: Beton Rouge by Simone Buchholz @ohneKlippo @OrendaBooks @FwdTranslations

Hello!!!!!!!!!!

Can you guess I am bursting with excitement?

Why, I hear you ask…

Because today, I am launching something exciting! For the duration of this summer, I will be featuring an Orenda Books novel each week! I have been a huge fan of this publisher for years now and I was lucky to learn a lot from Orenda Mama, so it’s a real pleasure to devote a day per week to fresh and original voices!

chocolate'n'orenda

Continue reading “Chocolate’n’Orenda Round 1: Beton Rouge by Simone Buchholz @ohneKlippo @OrendaBooks @FwdTranslations”

Posted in Book Reviews

Glitch: #Proximity by Jem Tugwell @JemTugwell @SerpentineBooks

Welcome to iReview!

Today on the blog, we’re taking a ride in the TARDIS to walk straight to the future!

I would like to thank Midas and Serpentine Books for inviting me to be part of the blog tour. I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

proximityTitle: Proximity
Author: Jem Tugwell
Date of publication: 6 June 2019
Publisher: Serpentine Books
Format: paperback
Number of pages: 339

DI Clive Lussac has forgotten how to do his job. Ten years of embedded technology – ‘iMe’ – has led to complete control and the eradication of crime. Then the impossible happens. A body is found, and the killer is untraceable. With new partner Zoe Jordan, Clive must re-sharpen his detective skills and find the killer without technology, before time runs out for the next victim…

Continue reading “Glitch: #Proximity by Jem Tugwell @JemTugwell @SerpentineBooks”

Posted in Book Reviews

Eyes Wide Open: #WeCanSeeYou by Simon Kernick @simonkernick @arrowpublishing

Happy hump day! Today is all about what a mother would do for her daughter…

My thanks to Arrow Publishing for inviting me to be part of this blog tour and providing me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

we can see you.jpg

Title: We Can See You
Author: Simon Kernick
Date of publication: (Paperback) 30 May 2019
Publisher: Arrow Publishing
Format: e-copy
Number of pages: 400

You have it all. Success. A beautiful home. A happy family.

And then in a heartbeat it’s all gone.

Your daughter has been taken. And the people who have her will kill her if you involve the police. You can’t rely on anyone, not even your husband. Because it seems you have enemies too.

But remember, they can see you. And they know everything about you. Including secrets you’d hoped you’d buried in the distant past.

You can be certain of only two things: that you will do anything to get your daughter back alive. And that time is running out…

Continue reading “Eyes Wide Open: #WeCanSeeYou by Simon Kernick @simonkernick @arrowpublishing”

Posted in Book Reviews

Broken Clock: #TickTock by Mel Sherratt @writermels @avonbooksuk @Sabah_K

If you are not on Twitter, you might not know that I lived the last four days without electricity. Because of this, my review of the second installment in the DS Grace Allendale series is late (and I am so so so so sorry for this! Forgive me, Mel!)

But no more waiting! Here I am!

I would like to thank Avon Books, and especially Sabah, for inviting me to be part of this blog tour. Thank you to Mel Sherratt for her understanding (and for writing such amazing books!)

Screenshot 2019-04-29 20.56.53
Title: Tick Tock (DS Grace Allendale Book 2)
Author: Mel Sherratt
Date of publication:  2 May 2019
Publisher: Avon Books UK
Format: Paperback
Number of pages: 385
Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

TICK…

In the city of Stoke, a teenage girl is murdered in the middle of the day, her lifeless body abandoned in a field behind her school.

TOCK…

Two days later, a young mother is abducted. She’s discovered strangled and dumped in a local park.

TIME’S UP…

DS Grace Allendale and her team are brought in to investigate, but with a bold killer, no leads and nothing to connect the victims, the case seems hopeless. It’s only when a third woman is targeted that a sinister pattern emerges. A dangerous mind is behind these attacks, and Grace realises that the clock is ticking…

Can they catch the killer before another young woman dies?

The #1 bestseller returns with a breath-taking thriller that will have you on the edge of your seat. Perfect for fans of Martina Cole and Kimberley Chambers.

Continue reading “Broken Clock: #TickTock by Mel Sherratt @writermels @avonbooksuk @Sabah_K”

Posted in Book Reviews

Almost: Perfect Crime by Helen Fields @Helen_Fields @AvonBooksUK @Sabah_K #BlogTour

Reading Helen Fields’ Perfect series is like drinking a hot cup of tea after having walked miles in the rain. It’s comforting, absorbing, and feels oh-so-good!

I would like to thank Sabah for inviting me to be part of this amazing blog tour!

perfect crimeTitle: Perfect Crime
Author: Helen Fields
Date of publication: 18 April 2019
Publisher: Avon Books UK
Format: Paperback proof
Number of pages: 400

Your darkest moment is your most vulnerable…

Stephen Berry is about to jump off a bridge until a suicide prevention counsellor stops him. A week later, Stephen is dead. Found at the bottom of a cliff, DI Luc Callanach and DCI Ava Turner are drafted in to investigate whether he jumped or whether he was pushed…

As they dig deeper, more would-be suicides roll in: a woman found dead in a bath; a man violently electrocuted. But these are carefully curated deaths – nothing like the impulsive suicide attempts they’ve been made out to be.

Little do Callanach and Turner know how close their perpetrator is as, across Edinburgh, a violent and psychopathic killer gains more confidence with every life he takes…

Continue reading “Almost: Perfect Crime by Helen Fields @Helen_Fields @AvonBooksUK @Sabah_K #BlogTour”

Posted in Book Reviews

Trapped: #NoWayOut by Cara Hunter @CaraHunterBooks @EllieeHud @PenguinUKBooks #BlogTour

Weekends are for snuggling on the couch with a book and a pot of tea. Let me help you choose your next crime fiction gem!

I would like to thank Penguin Random House, and particularly Ellie, for inviting me to be part of this blog tour and for providing me with a copy of No Way Out.

no way out.jpgTitle: No Way Out
Author: Cara Hunter
Publisher: Penguin Random House UK
Date of publication: 2019
Format: paperback
Source: Publisher
Number of pages: 360

The Christmas holidays, and two children have just been pulled from the wreckage of their burning home in North Oxford. The toddler is dead, and his brother is soon fighting for his life.

Why were they left in the house alone? Where is their mother, and why is their father not answering his phone?

Then new evidence is discovered, and DI Fawley’s worst nightmare comes true.

Because this fire wasn’t an accident.

It was murder.

Continue reading “Trapped: #NoWayOut by Cara Hunter @CaraHunterBooks @EllieeHud @PenguinUKBooks #BlogTour”