Posted in Book Reviews

Don’t Blink: The Uninvited by J. A. Baker @thewriterjude @Bloodhoundbook

If you got the reference in the title, you’re my friend forever!

J.A. Baker - The Uninvited_cover

Title: The Uninvited
Author: J. A. Baker
Publisher: Bloodhound Books
Date of publication: November 2018
Format: ebook
Source: publisher

A fragile woman. An unwelcome intruder. A house full of secrets.

Faye and her husband Hugh have had a traumatic year. Wanting to start again, the couple decide to buy a large rundown property, Cross House in a village in North Yorkshire, hoping to leave the past behind them.

However, the tranquillity is soon ruined when Faye begins to awake, every night, to the sound of somebody creeping around the bedroom. She tries to explain it to Hugh, frightened for the safety of their children Aiden and Poppy, but Hugh dismisses her claims, thinking she is heading for another breakdown.

But when Faye discovers some diaries that contain secrets about the family that lived in the house before them, she starts to wonder if the intruder might be closer to home than she first thought.

Obsessed with finding answers, Faye is determined to learn about the Wentworth family, a fractured family with a tragic past.

And when she discovers that Hilary Wentworth fell to her death down the stairs in Cross House, Faye realises she is in mortal danger…

Continue reading “Don’t Blink: The Uninvited by J. A. Baker @thewriterjude @Bloodhoundbook”

Posted in Book Reviews

Blood is Thicker… and Messier: Cuckoo by Sophie Draper @sophiedraper9 @AvonBooksUK #BlogTour

Here comes a bloody Sunday…

I am over the moon to reveal my thoughts about the brilliant and clever Cuckoo, a novel that makes you see things under a new light…

Thank you to Sabah and the Avon team for inviting me to be part of this tour.

cuckooTitle: Cuckoo
Author: Sophie Draper
Publisher: Avon
Date of publication: November 2018
Format: ebook
Source: NetGalley
Number of pages: 297

There’s a stranger in your house…

When her stepmother dies unexpectedly, Caro returns to her childhood home in Derbyshire. She hadn’t seen Elizabeth in years, but the remote farmhouse offers refuge from a bad relationship, and a chance to start again.

But going through Elizabeth’s belongings unearths memories Caro would rather stay buried. In particular, the story her stepmother would tell her, about two little girls and the terrible thing they do.

As heavy snow traps Caro in the village, where her neighbours stare and whisper, Caro is forced to question why Elizabeth hated her so much, and what she was hiding. But does she really want to uncover the truth?

Continue reading “Blood is Thicker… and Messier: Cuckoo by Sophie Draper @sophiedraper9 @AvonBooksUK #BlogTour”

Posted in Cover Reveal

Open the Curtain… Kim Stone Book Ten! #DeadMemories by Angela Marsons @WriteAngie @bookouture #CoverReveal #ALERT #FAVOURITE SERIES

OMG OMG OMG OMG. The time has come! You have no idea how happy I am! I was extatic when I received the email containing information on the next Kim Stone novel. I couldn’t keep my feelings in and started running in the house like a maniac!

 But you don’t care, do you?

No, what you want to see is THE FABULOUS COVER WAITING FOR US! And the amazing blurb that comes with it!

Let’s go!

Ps; A mahoosive thank you to the wonderful Kim at Bookouture for this treasure and my participation in sharing the news with the world!

cover-reveal

Continue reading “Open the Curtain… Kim Stone Book Ten! #DeadMemories by Angela Marsons @WriteAngie @bookouture #CoverReveal #ALERT #FAVOURITE SERIES”

Posted in Book Reviews

Long Lost Love Letters: I Wanted To Tell You by Anna Mansell @AnnaMansell @bookouture #5starreview #BlogTour

The end of another week, and I am proud and absolutely delighted to talk about I Wanted To Tell You by Anna Mansell on the blog today. Warning, this book is dear to me and I might blabber a lot in this review!

Thank you ever so much to the fab Kim for inviting me to be part of this tour and for providing me a copy of the novel in exchange for an honest review.

wanted to tellTitle: I Wanted To Tell You
Author: Anna Mansell
Publisher: Bookouture
Date of publication: November 2018
Format: ebook
Source: NetGalley
Number of pages: 335
Rating: (yes, I know, I said no more ratings…) 5 stars!

‘Sometimes I think that if I’d found a way to talk, we’d be together now…’

When Helen finds a bundle of unsent love letters, tied with a red ribbon, and signed only ‘the love you wished I could be’, she wonders who they could belong to.

The same day, however, her husband Alex announces he’s leaving. She’d believed their love would last a lifetime, but now he’s gone and she hadn’t even realised there was anything wrong.

Desperate to understand, Helen doesn’t know where to look for answers. But the letters keep drawing her back. As she reads the words of loneliness, loss and regret, something in them helps her start to make sense of it all… Even as she realises someone has been keeping heart-breaking secrets.

But who do the letters belong to? Can the sender ever be reunited with the one they love, or is it too late? And when Helen finds out the truth about Alex, can she find it in her heart to forgive him, or will he never be the love she wished he could be?

An emotional, unmissable read, exploring the devastation of loss, the power of love to heal, and the truths that bind us all together. Perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes, Diane Chamberlain and Daniela Sacerdoti.

Continue reading “Long Lost Love Letters: I Wanted To Tell You by Anna Mansell @AnnaMansell @bookouture #5starreview #BlogTour”

Posted in Book Reviews

#Signing Off: Follow Me by Angela Clarke @TheAngelaClarke #favouritealert #series @AvonBooksUK

Happy new week!!!!!!!!

What? Too much?

Nope, can’t be. This week is going to be awesome. You know how I know it? Because I am kicking it off with a review of one of this year’s favorite reads! Brace yourself, fangirling coming!

follow meTitle: Follow Me (Social Media Murders #1)
Author: Angela Clarke
Publisher: Avon
Date of publication: 2015
Format: Paperback
Source: Amazon
Number of pages: 352

LIKE. SHARE. FOLLOW . . . DIE

The ‘Hashtag Murderer’ posts chilling cryptic clues online, pointing to their next target. Taunting the police. Enthralling the press. Capturing the public’s imagination.

But this is no virtual threat.

As the number of his followers rises, so does the body count.

Eight years ago two young girls did something unforgivable. Now ambitious police officer Nasreen and investigative journalist Freddie are thrown together again in a desperate struggle to catch this cunning, fame-crazed killer. But can they stay one step ahead of him? And can they escape their own past?

Time’s running out. Everyone is following the #Murderer. But what if he is following you?

ONLINE, NO ONE CAN HEAR YOU SCREAM. . .

Continue reading “#Signing Off: Follow Me by Angela Clarke @TheAngelaClarke #favouritealert #series @AvonBooksUK”

Posted in Book Reviews

Too Close to Her Bones in The Graveyard: The Quickies are back! #reviews @natdaniels2018 @TransworldBooks @KateMoretti1 @TitanBooks @neilhimself

Quickies!

Why choose the short way? For a million reasons! I still haven’t recovered from the awesomeness of the book. The author burnt my brain. The book didn’t have a big impact on me. I could go on and on. The length of each review doesn’t reflect my appreciation of the book. Sometimes, fewer words are enough to convey what you felt and thought.

In a nutshell: I write Regular Reviews, Lazy Saturday reviews which are shorter than the regular ones and focus on my feelings instead of analysing the novel, and Quickies to unload feelings and keep track of what worked and what didn’t!

Books Quickies

Continue reading “Too Close to Her Bones in The Graveyard: The Quickies are back! #reviews @natdaniels2018 @TransworldBooks @KateMoretti1 @TitanBooks @neilhimself”

Posted in Book Reviews, Tags & Awards

Would You Rather…? The Spooky Edition (without the book rec)

I was lacking inspiration to bring my Suntags back to life so I decided to give my friend Inge’s Spooky tag a try!

Now, anyone who knows me is aware I don’t do scary. I’m a wuss. I steer clear of horror movies, I haven’t touched my Stephen King novels in forever, and I prefer to sing to the lyrics of Frozen than watch American Horror Story or whatever the name is. But hey, let’s have fun pretending I’m braver than I really am!

scared buffy gif

Continue reading “Would You Rather…? The Spooky Edition (without the book rec)”