Posted in Book Reviews

Aim for Happiness: Reach for the Stars, Colleen Coleman @CollColemanAuth @bookouture #BlogTour

I’m so happy to be kicking off the blog tour for Reach for the Stars with my wonderful friend Keisha from The Writing Garnet! A big hug to Bookouture for inviting me to be a part of this and for providing me with an ARC of the book!

reach for the starsTitle: Reach for the Stars
Author: Colleen Coleman
Publisher: Bookouture
Genre: Women fiction
Date of publication: 2017
Format: eARC
Number of pages: 240
Rating: ⭐⭐⭐ and a half

When Evelyn Dooley married her high-school sweetheart, James, she thought she was set for life. Now she’s twenty-eight, single, and fleeing to Dublin from her hometown to avoid the gossip surrounding their break-up. And all because of a test-your-relationship board game.

This was not in her five-year plan.

Then a chance encounter with gorgeous musician Danny leads to an unlikely friendship, and soon the pair are running music nights together in one of the oldest pubs in Dublin. For the first time Evelyn is following her dreams rather than someone else’s – and sparks are beginning to fly between her and Danny…

But when her savings run out and home beckons, Evelyn has to choose. The safe, comfortable life she left behind, or a new adventure with Danny? Will Evelyn flee back to the familiarity of her ex, or reach for the stars and take a leap into the unknown?

A laugh-out-loud, feel-good story of friendship, second chances, and romance, perfect for fans of Mhairi McFarlane, Lindsey Kelk and Marian Keyes.

Continue reading “Aim for Happiness: Reach for the Stars, Colleen Coleman @CollColemanAuth @bookouture #BlogTour”

Posted in This week in books

This Week in Books (September 20th 2017)

thisweekinbooks

This Week In Books is a weekly update on what you’ve been reading hosted by Lipsyy Lost & Found . A similar meme is hosted by Sam @ Taking on a World of Words.

My last TWIB post was on August 23rd! So much has happened since then but unfortunately, it’s been quiet book-wise!

Continue reading “This Week in Books (September 20th 2017)”

Posted in Book Reviews

Float the Boat: Dangerous Crossing by Rachel Rhys @TransworldBooks #BlogTour

I’d like to thank the fantastic Anne Cater and the publisher for including me in this blog tour and providing me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review!

Dangerous Crossing Cover
Title: Dangerous Crossing
Author: Rachel Rhys
Publisher: Transworld Books
Genre: historical fiction
Date of publication: 2017
Format: eARC
Number of pages: 364
Rating: ⭐⭐⭐

England, September 1939
Lily Shepherd boards a cruise liner for a new life in Australia and is plunged into a world of cocktails, jazz and glamorous friends. But as the sun beats down, poisonous secrets begin to surface. Suddenly Lily finds herself trapped with nowhere to go …

Australia, six-weeks later
The world is at war, the cruise liner docks, and a beautiful young woman is escorted onto dry land in handcuffs. 

What has she done?

Continue reading “Float the Boat: Dangerous Crossing by Rachel Rhys @TransworldBooks #BlogTour”

Posted in Book Reviews

The World Isn’t a Safe Place: The Kindred Killers @GrahamSmith1972 @Bloodhoundbook #BlogTour

This unbiased review is part of the blog tour organized by Bloodhound Books. I’d like to thank them for letting me participate!

The Kindred Killers FINAL correct
Title: The Kindred Killers
Author: Graham Smith
Publisher: Bloodhound Books
Genre: Mystery, thriller
Date of publication: September 2017
Format: eARC
Number of pages: 318
Rating: ⭐⭐⭐ and a half

Jake Boulder’s help is requested by his best friend, Alfonse, when his cousin is crucified and burned alive along with his wife and children. As Boulder tries to track the heinous killer, a young woman is abducted. Soon her body is discovered and Boulder realises both murders have something unusual in common.

With virtually no leads for Boulder to follow, he strives to find a way to get a clue as to the killer’s identity. But is he hunting for one killer or more?

After a young couple are snatched in the middle of the night the case takes a brutal turn. When the FBI are invited to help with the case, Boulder finds himself warned off the investigation. When gruesome, and incendiary, footage from a mobile phone is sent to all the major US News outlets and the pressure to find those responsible for the crimes mounts. But with the authorities against him can Boulder catch the killer before it’s too late?

Continue reading “The World Isn’t a Safe Place: The Kindred Killers @GrahamSmith1972 @Bloodhoundbook #BlogTour”

Posted in Book Reviews

More than Words: Maria in the Moon by Louise Beech @LouiseWriter @OrendaBooks #BlogTour

Many can write. It takes a pure soul to build a story with a path to your heart.

By me.

My biggest thanks to Karen Sullivan and Anne Cater for including me in this blog tour. This unbiased review is my humble participation and my thank you to the author, Louise Beech.

maria in the moonTitle: Maria in the Moon
Author: Louise Beech
Publisher: Orenda Books
Date of publication: August 2017
Format: eARC
Number of pages: 270
Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐️⭐️

Long ago my beloved Nanny Eve chose my name. Then one day she stopped calling me it. I try now to remember why, but I just can’t.’

Thirty-one-year-old Catherine Hope has a great memory. But she can’t remember everything. She can’t remember her ninth year. She can’t remember when her insomnia started. And she can’t remember why everyone stopped calling her Catherine-Maria. With a promiscuous past, and licking her wounds after a painful breakup, Catherine wonders why she resists anything approaching real love. But when she loses her home to the deluge of 2007 and volunteers at Flood Crisis, a devastating memory emerges … and changes everything. Dark, poignant and deeply moving, Maria in the Moon is an examination of the nature of memory and truth, and the defences we build to protect ourselves, when we can no longer hide…

Continue reading “More than Words: Maria in the Moon by Louise Beech @LouiseWriter @OrendaBooks #BlogTour”

Posted in Excerpt

37 Hours by J. F. Kirwan @kirwanjf @TAsTPublicity #BlogTour #Excerpt

I am so excited to be part of this blog your! I really enjoyed J. F. Kirwan’s first book featuring Nadia, and I am a little emotional and proud of my friend Noelle for whom this tour is the last with Thick as Thieves! Congrats to you for creating this great tool for authors and congrats to Kate for managing the tours so well. It’s been a pleasure working with you, ladies!

But it’s time to go back to business! I have a great extract to share with you today!

37 hoursTitle: 37 Hours
Author: J. F. Kirwan
Publisher: HQ Digital
Genre: action thriller
Date of publication: 2017
Format: eARC
Number of pages: 315

The only way to hunt down a killer is to become one.
Imprisoned by MI6 for two long years in solitary, Nadia suddenly finds herself free again. But there is a price to pay for her release. Another dangerous and near impossible mission – retrieve the Russian nuclear warhead stolen by her old nemesis, the deadliest of terrorists.
But he is always one step ahead, and soon Nadia finds herself at the front line of preventing London from disappearing into a cloud of ash. Only this time, she is ready to pull the trigger at any cost.
And with the clock counting down from 37 hours, time is running out…

Continue reading “37 Hours by J. F. Kirwan @kirwanjf @TAsTPublicity #BlogTour #Excerpt”

Posted in Guest Post

Mummy?: The Mother by Jaime Raven @JaimeRaven1 @Sabah_K @HarperCollinsUK #BlogTour #GuestPost

Today I am over the moon to be able to share with you a special guest post from the author of the anticipated book The Mother, Jaime Raven!

I would like to thank Harper Collins and Sabah Khan for inviting me to be a part of this blog tour. My review of the book will follow shortly, so stay tuned!!

the mother

I’ve taken your daughter, as punishment for what you did…

Prepare to be gripped by the heart-stopping new thriller from the author of The Madam, the read that taps into every mother’s worst fear. 

South London detective Sarah Mason is a single mother. It’s a tough life, but Sarah gets by. She and her ex-husband, fellow detective Adam Boyd, adore their 15-month-old daughter Molly.

Until Sarah’s world falls apart when she receives a devastating threat: Her daughter has been taken, and the abductor plans to raise Molly as their own, as punishment for something Sarah did.

Sarah is forced to stand back while her team try to track down the kidnapper. But her colleagues aren’t working fast enough to find Molly. To save her daughter, Sarah must take matters into her own hands, in a desperate hunt that will take her to the very depths of London’s underworld.

A gripping new voice in crime fiction, this book is perfect for fans of Martina Cole and Jessie Keane.

Continue reading “Mummy?: The Mother by Jaime Raven @JaimeRaven1 @Sabah_K @HarperCollinsUK #BlogTour #GuestPost”

Posted in Cover Reveal

Open the Curtains for… The New Barbara Copperthwaite @BCopperthwait @bookouture #CoverReveal

Following my friend Yvo’s strategy, I’m relying more on covers now than on blurb, by fear of being disappointed or spoiled with a massive piece of information! We’ll see how this goes! And today, I am lucky to be a part of the Bookouture Cover Reveal Team to tempt you with a new story…

cover reveal

Continue reading “Open the Curtains for… The New Barbara Copperthwaite @BCopperthwait @bookouture #CoverReveal”

Posted in Book Reviews

Book Lover Paradise or.. Nightmare: House of Spines by @michaelJmalone1 @OrendaBooks #BlogTour

A huge thank you to Karen Sullivan and Anne Cater for providing me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review as a stop on this fantastic tour!

house of spinesTitle: House of Spines
Author: Michael J. Malone
Publisher: Orenda Books
Genre: Psychological thriller
Date of publication: September 2017
Format: eARC
Number of pages: 276
Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐ and a half

A terrifying psychological thriller cum Gothic mystery, as a young man with mental health issues inherits an isolate mansion, where all is not as it seems…

Ran McGhie’s world has been turned upside down. A young, lonely and frustrated writer, and suffering from mental-health problems, he discovers that his long-dead mother was related to one of Glasgow’s oldest merchant families. Not only that, but Ran has inherited Newton Hall, a vast mansion that belonged to his great-uncle, who it seems has been watching from afar as his estranged great-nephew has grown up. Entering his new-found home, it seems Great-Uncle Fitzpatrick has turned it into a temple to the written word – the perfect place for poet Ran. But everything is not as it seems. As he explores the Hall’s endless corridors, Ran’s grasp on reality appears to be loosening. And then he comes across an ancient lift; and in that lift a mirror. And in the mirror… the reflection of a woman… A terrifying psychological thriller with more than a hint of the Gothic, House of Spines is a love letter to the power of books, and an exploration of how lust and betrayal can be deadly…

Continue reading “Book Lover Paradise or.. Nightmare: House of Spines by @michaelJmalone1 @OrendaBooks #BlogTour”

Posted in Book Reviews

Is a Mortgage the Worst Thing you Can Get: The House by @Simon_Lelic @PenguinUKBooks

I would like to thank Penguin Books for providing me with a copy of The House in exchange for an honest review!

the houseTitle: The House
Author: Simon Lelic
Publisher: Penguin Books UK
Source: NetGalley
Genre: Mystery, thriller
Date of publication: August 17th 2017
Format: eARC
Number of pages: 340
Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐️

Continue reading “Is a Mortgage the Worst Thing you Can Get: The House by @Simon_Lelic @PenguinUKBooks”