Posted in Book Reviews, Giveaways

Bloody Holiday GIVEAWAY: Palm Beach, Finland by Antti Tuomainen @antti_tuomainen @OrendaBooks #RandomThingsTours

Happy Tuesday! If you are as lucky as I am, the cold days are here. But I know how to bring back the sun!

Thanks to Anne Cater for organizing this blog tour and Orenda Books for allowing me to share the love with a giveaway.

PALM BEACH PROOF COVER AW.jpg

Title: Palm Beach, Finland
Author: Antti Tuomainen
Date of publication:  30th October 2018
Publisher: Orenda Books
My Rating: 🧚‍♀️🧚‍♀️🧚‍♀️🧚‍♀️🧚‍♀️

Sex, lies and ill-fitting swimwear … Sun Protection Factor 100

Jan Nyman, the ace detective of the covert operations unit of the National Central Police, is sent to a sleepy seaside town to investigate a mysterious death. Nyman arrives in the town dominated by a bizarre holiday village – the ‘hottest beach in Finland’. The suspect: Olivia Koski, who has only recently returned to her old hometown. The mission: find out what happened, by any means necessary.

With a nod to Fargo, and dark noir, Palm Beach, Finland is both a page-turning thriller and a black comedy about lust for money, fleeing dreams and people struggling at turning points in their lives – chasing their fantasies regardless of reason.

Enter the realm to get a chance to win a copy…

Continue reading “Bloody Holiday GIVEAWAY: Palm Beach, Finland by Antti Tuomainen @antti_tuomainen @OrendaBooks #RandomThingsTours”

Posted in Life in General, Mental Health, Uncategorized

@JenLGilmour does it again for the good cause: The Instagram Positive Challenge!

Did you know that October is Domestic Violence Awareness Month? I did not! But my dear friend Jennifer always makes sure we get the information needed to never forget the fight and the help required to stop this!

In honor of this awareness month, she has created an Instagram Challenge and we are all invited to take part! I love Instagram, I love Jen, I love the idea, and I want in! My pictures are never good but it’s fun and it’s useful, so here I am!

Want to join me?

Continue reading “@JenLGilmour does it again for the good cause: The Instagram Positive Challenge!”

Posted in Book Reviews, Excerpt

Wednesday Treat: Heart Swarm by Allan Watson @allanwatson12 @BOTBSPublicity

Happy hump day everyone! No This Week In Books meme today as I have more interesting things to share! This morning, you get the chance to read an excerpt of Heart Swarm… And another surprise will be waiting for you tonight!

Thank you yo Book On The Bright Side for this blog blitz!

513NPATgJvL

Heart Swarm – Prepare to be Scared…

It feels like history is repeating itself when out-of-favour detective Will Harlan gets summoned to a crime scene in the village of Brackenbrae after a young girl is found hanging in the woods.

Five years ago Harlan headed up the investigation of an identical murder in the same woods; a mishandled investigation that effectively destroyed his credibility as a detective. The new case immediately takes a bizarre twist when the body is identified as the same girl found hanging in the woods five years ago.

The following day a local man commits suicide and the police find more dead girls hidden in his basement. The case seems open and closed.

Until the killing spree begins.

Harlan finds himself drawn into a dark world where murder is a form of self-expression and human life treated as one more commodity to be used and discarded.

The only clue that links everything is a large oil painting of ‘Sagittarius A’ – a massive black hole at the centre of the galaxy orbited by thirteen stars daubed in blood with the words –

Heart Swarm

Continue reading “Wednesday Treat: Heart Swarm by Allan Watson @allanwatson12 @BOTBSPublicity”

Posted in Giveaways

Beauty and the Beasts: The Language of Secrets by Ausma Zehanat Khan @AusmaZehanat @noexitpress #GuestPost @annecater

In October last year, I was lucky to be invited to read The Language of Secrets, the second book in the Esa Khattak and Rachel Getty mystery series. I had ADORED the first novel and was over the moon to read the next adventure of two of the best-crafted characters ever.

Today, I am just as happy to be part of the blog tour with a guest post from the author, the very talented Ausma Zehanat Khan!

Thank you Anne for letting me stay on this great journey with you, Exit Press, and Ausma!

the language of secrets
Find my review of The Language of Secrets here

And the review of The Unquiet Dead here!

AN UNDERCOVER INFORMANT HAS BEEN MURDERED… BUT WHOSE SIDE WAS HE ON?
TORONTO: A local terrorist cell is planning an attack on New Year’s Day. For months, Mohsin Dar has been undercover, feeding information back to Canada’s national security team.
Now he’s dead.
Detective Esa Khattak, compromised by his friendship with the murdered agent, sends his partner Rachel Getty into the unsuspecting cell. As Rachel delves deeper into the unfamiliar world of Islam and the group’s circle of trust, she discovers Mohsin’s murder may not be politically motivated after all. Now she’s the only one who can stop the most devastating attack the country has ever faced.

Continue reading “Beauty and the Beasts: The Language of Secrets by Ausma Zehanat Khan @AusmaZehanat @noexitpress #GuestPost @annecater”

Posted in Guest Post

Sharing a Cuppa with Sam Carrington! #Guestpost #OneLittleLie @sam_carrington1 @AvonBooksUK @HarperCollinsUK @AnneWilliams4 @Sabah_K

Happy Tuesday! I might not be able to blog today as I’m in a hospital and their Wifi is awful, but I am over the moon to be able to share a guest post from the very Sam Carrington!! Excited, much?? YES!

I’d like to thank Avon Books UK’s team for inviting me to be part of this tour!

one little lie.png

‘My name is Alice. And my son is a murderer.’

Deborah’s son was killed four years ago. Alice’s son is in prison for committing that crime.

Deborah would give anything to have her boy back, and Alice would do anything to right her son’s wrongs.

Driven by guilt and the need for redemption, Alice has started a support group for parents with troubled children. But as the network begins to grow, she soon finds out just how easy it is for one little lie to spiral out of control…

They call it mother’s intuition, but can you ever really know your own child?

A twisty and unnerving story about the price of motherhood and the unthinkable things we do to protect our children. Perfect for fans of Cara Hunter and Laura Marshall.

‘Sam Carrington has done it again. One Little Lie is a twisty, gripping read that deserves to fly. I loved it.’ Cass Green, bestselling author of In a Cottage In a Wood

Continue reading “Sharing a Cuppa with Sam Carrington! #Guestpost #OneLittleLie @sam_carrington1 @AvonBooksUK @HarperCollinsUK @AnneWilliams4 @Sabah_K”

Posted in Excerpt

Wednesday Teasing: The New Girl by Ingrid Alexandra @IngridWrites @AvonBooksUK @Sabah_K #Excerpt

Busy day today! I am very excited to share an extract of The New Girl by Ingrid Alexandra. The book sounds BRILLIANT!

Thank you to Avon UK for inviting me to be part of this tour!

the new girl

You’ve only just met.

But she already knows you so well.

When Rachel moves into the spare room in Mary’s flat, everyone is quick to jump to the conclusion that there’s something strange about her. Everyone apart from Mary.

And when Rachel starts sleepwalking, everyone’s fears grow. But there’s something about the new girl that Mary can’t help but trust, and having recently escaped a toxic relationship, she needs the support.

Rachel becomes a friend and an ally, and Mary soon discovers that they have more in common than she ever could have imagined.

In fact, Rachel seems to know more about Mary than she knows about herself…

Continue reading “Wednesday Teasing: The New Girl by Ingrid Alexandra @IngridWrites @AvonBooksUK @Sabah_K #Excerpt”

Posted in Excerpt

Look What I’ve Found: The Hidden Bones by Nicola Ford #BlogTour #Excerpt @AllisonandBusby

Time for an extract!

Thank you to the publisher for inviting me to take part in this blog tour!

40031710

Clare Hills thinks she’s discovered every archaeologist’s dream…

Instead she’s unearthed a nightmare that puts her at the centre of a murder inquiry.

Following the recent death of her husband, Clare Hills is listless and unsure of her place in the world. When her former university friend Dr David Barbrook asks her to help him sift through the effects of deceased archaeologist Gerald Hart, she sees this as a useful distraction from her grief. During her search, Clare stumbles across the unpublished journals detailing Gerald’s most glittering dig. Hidden from view for decades and supposedly destroyed in an arson attack, she cannot believe her luck. Finding the Hungerbourne Barrows archive is every archaeologist’s dream. Determined to document Gerald’s career-defining find for the public, Clare and David delve into his meticulously kept records of the excavation.

But the dream suddenly becomes a nightmare as the pair unearth a disturbing discovery, putting
them at the centre of a murder inquiry and in the path of a dangerous killer determined to bury the truth for ever.

Continue reading “Look What I’ve Found: The Hidden Bones by Nicola Ford #BlogTour #Excerpt @AllisonandBusby”