Posted in Cover Reveal

Open the Curtain: @Bookouture @cerilowepetrask #CoverReveal

Hello, hello, hello!

Yes, I am very excited! Today on the blog, I am sharing something different from my usual genres and it comes from one of my go-to publishers, so DOUBLE WIN!

Now you are wondering what I am talking about, right? Let me show you!

Thank you to my queen Noelle from Bookouture for inviting me to be part of this project!

allons y

Continue reading “Open the Curtain: @Bookouture @cerilowepetrask #CoverReveal”

Posted in Excerpt

#BlackHeart Extract! @annaloulondon @Bookouture

Happy Bookouture day here on Chocolate’n’Waffles! Today, as part of the tour for Black Heart by Anna-Lou Weatherly, I’m sharing an extract that I hope will make you curious!

Thank you to the beautiful Kim at Bookouture for inviting me to be part of this blog tour!

Black-Heart-Kindle

There’s a letter on the floor covered with blood next to a heart-shaped box of chocolates. The note says: ‘My beautiful darling, I’m sorry, please forgive me.’

When the body of a man is found with his wrists slashed in a London hotel room, it appears at first to be a tragic suicide. But Detective Dan Rileysuspects there is more to this case than meets the eye and the pathology report confirms his worst fears – the victim was poisoned and suddenly Dan is dealing with a murder inquiry. 

Then he makes a disturbing discovery, uncovering links between the victim and a woman calling herself Goldilocks on an online dating site. Is she seeking revenge or something more? 

Still grieving the devastating loss of his girlfriend and unborn child in a car accident two years ago, Dan throws everything he has into the investigation. Yet just as Dan begins to piece together the clues of this complex case, the body of a woman is found in her bed with identical wounds. 

Dan is on the trail of a twisted individual who is much closer than he realises. Can he overcome his own demons and stop the killer before it’s too late? 

An all-consuming and totally unputdownable read that will have you holding your breath to the very last page. Perfect for fans of Rachel Abbott, Robert Bryndza and Karin Slaughter. 

Previously published as Last Cry.

Continue reading “#BlackHeart Extract! @annaloulondon @Bookouture”

Posted in Guest Post

Making or Breaking a Book, a Guest Post from Helen Fields #PerfectDeath #BlogTour @Helen_Fields @HarperCollinsUK

Two posts in one day, how lucky you are, haha! I just couldn’t pass on the opportunity to take part in the blog tour for Helen Fields’ Perfect Death!

I’d like to thank Harper Collins and the wonderful team for inviting me to be part of this tour!

perfect death

Your new addiction starts here: get hooked on the #1 bestselling series. Perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter and M.J. Arlidge.

There’s no easy way to die…

Unknown to DI Luc Callanach and the newly promoted DCI Ava Turner, a serial killer has Edinburgh firmly in his grip. The killer is taking his victims in the coldest, most calculating way possible – engineering slow and painful deaths by poison, with his victims entirely unaware of the drugs flooding their bloodstream until it’s too late.

But how do you catch a killer who hides in the shadows? A killer whose pleasure comes from watching pain from afar? Faced with their most difficult case yet, Callanach and Turner soon realise they face a seemingly impossible task…

Continue reading “Making or Breaking a Book, a Guest Post from Helen Fields #PerfectDeath #BlogTour @Helen_Fields @HarperCollinsUK”

Posted in Book Talk, The Pub Corner, Wrap-up

My totally-not-original TOP 17 books of the year featuring so many @Bookouture & @OrendaBooks !

2017… 17 books… Get it? Okay, the truth is I couldn’t boil down the list to less than seventeen books so I used the first excuse I found! Which means next year I’ll have even more room for book love!

top 17

Continue reading “My totally-not-original TOP 17 books of the year featuring so many @Bookouture & @OrendaBooks !”

Posted in Book Talk, Life in General

5 Things Not to Say to a Book Lover If You Want To Make It to the Second Date!

A few days ago, I was sitting in Communication class, listening to my favorite teacher talking about how we use or are used by the media, and the discussion moved to communities, and bloggers, and the things we have in common that the Internet allows us to blabber about and be happy together. It made me think of how my love for books has invaded my life, on top of my studies, and how I react as a book lover to any given situation. Yep, my mind likes to keep busy and go in million ways. And I was angry and I missed blogging. Hence, this post!

book lover date.png

Continue reading “5 Things Not to Say to a Book Lover If You Want To Make It to the Second Date!”

Posted in Giveaways

Holiday Giveaway! His Guilty Secret by @helenefermont @BookPublicistUK #HisGuiltySecret

December is already halfway gone, can you believe it? To add to the holiday spirit brought by the snow on this page, today’s post offers you the chance to win a copy of His Guilty Pleasure!

his guilty secretTitle: His Guilty Secret
Author: Hélene Fermont
Date of publication: November 27th 2017
Check out the book trailer here!

When Jacques’s body is discovered in a hotel room his wife, Patricia, suspects he has been hiding something from her.

Why was he found naked and who is the woman that visited his grave on the day of the funeral? Significantly, who is the unnamed beneficiary Jacques left a large sum of money to in his will and what is the reason her best friend, also Jacques’s sister, Coco, refuses to tell her what he confided to her?

Struggling to find out the truth, Patricia visits Malmö where her twin sister Jasmine lives and is married to her ex boyfriend. But the sisters relationship is toxic and when a family member dies shortly after, an old secret is revealed that shines a light on an event that took place on their tenth birthday.

As one revelation after the other is revealed, Patricia is yet to discover her husband’s biggest secret and what ultimately cost him his life.

His Guilty Secret is an unafraid examination of the tangled bonds between siblings, the lengths we go to in protecting our wrongdoings, and the enduring psychological effects this has on the innocent…and the not so innocent.

Continue reading “Holiday Giveaway! His Guilty Secret by @helenefermont @BookPublicistUK #HisGuiltySecret”

Posted in Life in General, Mental Health

What I Make of December: My Very Own Little Christ…Thanksgiv..Well, Post.

If you’ve been around for a while, you already know it. If you are new, let me tell you Christmas time is not very welcome around here. Forced gatherings, fake smiles, compulsory gifts. I don’t care for any of it. Don’t talk to me about the Christmas spirit, I haven’t seen it in years! Plus, I don’t have a chimney. This totally ruins the thing.

christmas.gif

Continue reading “What I Make of December: My Very Own Little Christ…Thanksgiv..Well, Post.”

Posted in Excerpt

The Icelandic Storm Part 1: Extract of Whiteout by Ragnar Jonasson @ragnarjo @OrendaBooks

Good morning, afternoon or evening! I am freezing but absolutely happy to be a part of the tour for Whiteout by our very own Ragnar Jonasson! I need to thank Anne Cater and Karen Sullivan for including me! Today, I am lucky to present you a slice of Whiteout!!!

Whiteout_New_Cover.jpeg

Two days before Christmas, a young woman is found dead beneath the cliffs of the deserted village of Kálfshamarvík. Did she jump, or did something more sinister take place beneath the lighthouse and the old house on the remote rocky outcrop? With winter closing in and the snow falling relentlessly, Ari Thór Arason discovers that the victim’s mother and young sister also lost their lives in this same spot, twenty-five years earlier. As the dark history and the secrets of the village are unveiled, and the death toll begins to rise, the Siglufjordur detectives must race against the clock to find the killer, before another tragedy takes place. Dark, chilling and complex, Whiteout is a haunting, atmospheric and stunningly plotted thriller from one of Iceland’s bestselling crime writers.

Continue reading “The Icelandic Storm Part 1: Extract of Whiteout by Ragnar Jonasson @ragnarjo @OrendaBooks”

Posted in Excerpt

7th Sin: A gift from Angela Marsons! #Extract of Broken Bones @Bookouture @WriteAngie

I hate Sunday nights, they are gloom and dark. But this Sunday, Bookouture and Angela Marsons have chosen to spoil us with a delighting gift to end this week the perfect way!

Thanks a lot to Kim at Bookouture for letting me be a part of this book love share!

Broken-Bones-Kindle.jpeg

They thought they were safe. They were wrong.

The murder of a young prostitute and a baby found abandoned on the same winter night signals the start of a disturbing investigation for Detective Kim Stone – one which brings her face to face with someone from her own horrific childhood.

As more sex workers are murdered in quick succession, each death more violent than the last, Kim and her team realise that the initial killing was no one-off frenzied attack, but a twisted serial killer preying on the vulnerable.

At the same time, the search begins for the desperate woman who left her newborn baby at the station – but what looks like a tragic abandonment turns even more sinister when a case of modern slavery is uncovered.

The two investigations bring the team into a terrifying world of human exploitation and cruelty – and a showdown that puts Kim’s life at risk as shocking secrets from her own past come to light.

Continue reading “7th Sin: A gift from Angela Marsons! #Extract of Broken Bones @Bookouture @WriteAngie”