Posted in Giveaways

Beauty and the Beasts: The Language of Secrets by Ausma Zehanat Khan @AusmaZehanat @noexitpress #GuestPost @annecater

In October last year, I was lucky to be invited to read The Language of Secrets, the second book in the Esa Khattak and Rachel Getty mystery series. I had ADORED the first novel and was over the moon to read the next adventure of two of the best-crafted characters ever.

Today, I am just as happy to be part of the blog tour with a guest post from the author, the very talented Ausma Zehanat Khan!

Thank you Anne for letting me stay on this great journey with you, Exit Press, and Ausma!

the language of secrets
Find my review of The Language of Secrets here

And the review of The Unquiet Dead here!

AN UNDERCOVER INFORMANT HAS BEEN MURDERED… BUT WHOSE SIDE WAS HE ON?
TORONTO: A local terrorist cell is planning an attack on New Year’s Day. For months, Mohsin Dar has been undercover, feeding information back to Canada’s national security team.
Now he’s dead.
Detective Esa Khattak, compromised by his friendship with the murdered agent, sends his partner Rachel Getty into the unsuspecting cell. As Rachel delves deeper into the unfamiliar world of Islam and the group’s circle of trust, she discovers Mohsin’s murder may not be politically motivated after all. Now she’s the only one who can stop the most devastating attack the country has ever faced.

Continue reading “Beauty and the Beasts: The Language of Secrets by Ausma Zehanat Khan @AusmaZehanat @noexitpress #GuestPost @annecater”

Posted in Guest Post

Sharing a Cuppa with Sam Carrington! #Guestpost #OneLittleLie @sam_carrington1 @AvonBooksUK @HarperCollinsUK @AnneWilliams4 @Sabah_K

Happy Tuesday! I might not be able to blog today as I’m in a hospital and their Wifi is awful, but I am over the moon to be able to share a guest post from the very Sam Carrington!! Excited, much?? YES!

I’d like to thank Avon Books UK’s team for inviting me to be part of this tour!

one little lie.png

‘My name is Alice. And my son is a murderer.’

Deborah’s son was killed four years ago. Alice’s son is in prison for committing that crime.

Deborah would give anything to have her boy back, and Alice would do anything to right her son’s wrongs.

Driven by guilt and the need for redemption, Alice has started a support group for parents with troubled children. But as the network begins to grow, she soon finds out just how easy it is for one little lie to spiral out of control…

They call it mother’s intuition, but can you ever really know your own child?

A twisty and unnerving story about the price of motherhood and the unthinkable things we do to protect our children. Perfect for fans of Cara Hunter and Laura Marshall.

‘Sam Carrington has done it again. One Little Lie is a twisty, gripping read that deserves to fly. I loved it.’ Cass Green, bestselling author of In a Cottage In a Wood

Continue reading “Sharing a Cuppa with Sam Carrington! #Guestpost #OneLittleLie @sam_carrington1 @AvonBooksUK @HarperCollinsUK @AnneWilliams4 @Sabah_K”

Posted in Excerpt

Wednesday Teasing: The New Girl by Ingrid Alexandra @IngridWrites @AvonBooksUK @Sabah_K #Excerpt

Busy day today! I am very excited to share an extract of The New Girl by Ingrid Alexandra. The book sounds BRILLIANT!

Thank you to Avon UK for inviting me to be part of this tour!

the new girl

You’ve only just met.

But she already knows you so well.

When Rachel moves into the spare room in Mary’s flat, everyone is quick to jump to the conclusion that there’s something strange about her. Everyone apart from Mary.

And when Rachel starts sleepwalking, everyone’s fears grow. But there’s something about the new girl that Mary can’t help but trust, and having recently escaped a toxic relationship, she needs the support.

Rachel becomes a friend and an ally, and Mary soon discovers that they have more in common than she ever could have imagined.

In fact, Rachel seems to know more about Mary than she knows about herself…

Continue reading “Wednesday Teasing: The New Girl by Ingrid Alexandra @IngridWrites @AvonBooksUK @Sabah_K #Excerpt”

Posted in Excerpt

Look What I’ve Found: The Hidden Bones by Nicola Ford #BlogTour #Excerpt @AllisonandBusby

Time for an extract!

Thank you to the publisher for inviting me to take part in this blog tour!

40031710

Clare Hills thinks she’s discovered every archaeologist’s dream…

Instead she’s unearthed a nightmare that puts her at the centre of a murder inquiry.

Following the recent death of her husband, Clare Hills is listless and unsure of her place in the world. When her former university friend Dr David Barbrook asks her to help him sift through the effects of deceased archaeologist Gerald Hart, she sees this as a useful distraction from her grief. During her search, Clare stumbles across the unpublished journals detailing Gerald’s most glittering dig. Hidden from view for decades and supposedly destroyed in an arson attack, she cannot believe her luck. Finding the Hungerbourne Barrows archive is every archaeologist’s dream. Determined to document Gerald’s career-defining find for the public, Clare and David delve into his meticulously kept records of the excavation.

But the dream suddenly becomes a nightmare as the pair unearth a disturbing discovery, putting
them at the centre of a murder inquiry and in the path of a dangerous killer determined to bury the truth for ever.

Continue reading “Look What I’ve Found: The Hidden Bones by Nicola Ford #BlogTour #Excerpt @AllisonandBusby”

Posted in Excerpt

Scoop of the Year by Tom Claver: The Extract @Bookollective @Tom_Claver

Good morning, afternoon, evening! Happy new week! We are starting the day (at least, I am!) with an extract of Scoop of the Year by Tom Claver! I haven’t had the chance to read it yet, but I really want to!

scoop3d.png

Title: Scoop of the Year
Author: Tom Claver
Date of publication:  2017
Publisher: Troubador

Martin, a hapless journalist on a weekly financial magazine, sees his life take a nosedive with the arrival of Tom de Lacy, a well-heeled reporter who grabs the limelight, not to mention the well-paid industrial correspondent’s job that he has his eye on.

He does his level best to sabotage Tom’s career, only to see his rival land a plum job in television.

But watching his rival’s success while his life disintegrates makes Martin a desperate fellow. Falling on hard times can be murder, and in certain circumstances could even give rise to it.

So when Martin gets a scoop on a major corporate scandal, he just has to grab the opportunity with both hands. He sees it as not only his turn to shine, but his duty.

Continue reading “Scoop of the Year by Tom Claver: The Extract @Bookollective @Tom_Claver”

Posted in Excerpt

Drift Stumble Fall #BlogTour @HideawayFall @MJonathanLee

With the madness surrounding the London Book Fair, I did not check if my scheduled posts had been sent. Guess what? They did not! This is why you are getting this extract one day later than planned! I apologize, it seems to be happening too much recently! Time for me to stop trusting WP and go back to my old ways!

Anyway, today is discovery day with an extract of Drift Stumble Fall from M. Jonathan Lee! My review will be up same day next month!

Screen Shot 2018-04-13 at 11.16.33 AM.pngTitle: Drift Stumble Fall
Author: M. Jonathan Lee
Publisher: Hideaway Fall
Date of publication: April 2018

This darkly humorous novel is an insightful commentary on the
fragility of family life, and a modern fascination with
the grass always being greener on the other side.

The author of five novels, M Jonathan Lee is a tireless mental health awareness campaigner, working closely with organisations including Mind, Time to Change and Rethink and blogs regularly for Huffington Post. Having personally experienced anxiety and depression during his life, Jonathan draws on his experiences to inform his writing.

Richard feels trapped in his hectic life of commitment and responsibility. From the daily mayhem of having young children, an exhausted wife and pushy in-laws who frequently outstay their welcome, Richards existence fills him with panic and resentment. The only place he can escape the dark cloud descending upon him is the bathroom, where he hides for hours on end, door locked, wondering how on earth he can escape.

Often staring out of his window, Richard enviously observes the tranquil life of Bill, his neighbour living in the bungalow across the road. From the outside, Bills world appears filled with comfort and peace. Yet underneath the apparent domestic bliss of both lives are lies, secrets, imperfections, sadness and suffering far greater than either could have imagined. Beneath the surface, a family tragedy has left Bill frozen in time and unable to move on. As he waits for a daughter who may never return, Bill watches Richards bustling family life and yearns for the joy it brings. As the two men watch each other from afar, it soon becomes apparent that other peoples lives are not always what they seem.

Continue reading “Drift Stumble Fall #BlogTour @HideawayFall @MJonathanLee”