Posted in This week in books

This Week in Books (Feb 22nd 2017)

thisweekinbooks

This Week In Books is a weekly update on what you’ve been reading hosted by Lipsyy Lost & Found . A similar meme is hosted by Sam @ Taking on a World of Words.

∧ Then ∧ The Silent Wife, Kerry Fisher

The Silent Wife.jpg

Would you risk everything for the man you loved? Even if you knew he’d done something terrible?

A heart wrenching and gripping tale. I was hooked from the very first page.’ Write Escape

Lara’s life looks perfect on the surface. Gorgeous doting husband Massimo, sweet little son Sandro and the perfect home. Lara knows something about Massimo. Something she can’t tell anyone else or everything Massimo has worked so hard for will be destroyed: his job, their reputation, their son. This secret is keeping Lara a prisoner in her marriage.

Maggie is married to Massimo’s brother Nico and lives with him and her troubled stepdaughter. She knows all of Nico’s darkest secrets – or so she thinks. The one day she discovers a letter in the attic which reveals a shocking secret about Nico’s first wife Caitlin. Will Maggie set the record straight or keep silent to protect those she loves?

For a family held together by lies, the truth will come at a devastating price.

A heart-wrenching, emotionally gripping read for fans of Amanda Prowse, Liane Moriarty and Diane Chamberlain.

It’s good to be reminded all families have issues… Even if the Farinelli take it to the extreme!

≈ Now ≈ The Devil You Know, Terry Tyler

the devil you know.jpg

Every serial killer is someone’s friend, spouse, lover or child….

Young women are being murdered in the Lincolnshire town of Lyndford, where five people fear someone close to them might be the monster the police are searching for.

One of them is right.

Juliet sees an expert’s profile of the average serial killer and realises that her abusive husband, Paul, ticks all the boxes.

Maisie thinks her mum’s new boyfriend seems too good to be true. Is she the only person who can see through Gary’s friendly, sensitive façade?

Tamsin is besotted with her office crush, Jake. Then love turns to suspicion…

Steve is used to his childhood friend, Dan, being a loud mouthed Lothario with little respect for the truth. But is a new influence in his life leading him down a more sinister path?

Dorothy’s beloved son, Orlando, is keeping a secret from her—a chilling discovery forces her to confront her worst fears.

THE DEVIL YOU KNOW is a character-driven psychological drama that will keep you guessing until the very end.

Suspecting everyone is something I love to do, maybe a little bit too much… I hear you say paranoid. Yep. But when your favorite genre is psychological thrillers, you can’t help it!

∨ Next ∨ I Found You, Lisa Jewell

I found you.jpg

Everyone has secrets. What if you can’t remember yours?

Lily has only been married for three weeks. When her new husband fails to come home from work one night, she is left stranded in a new country where she knows no one.

Alice finds a man on the beach outside her house. He has no name, no jacket, no idea what he is doing there. Against her better judgement, she invites him into her home.

But who is he, and how can she trust a man who has lost his memory?

Two women, twenty years of secrets and a man who can’t remember lie at the heart of Lisa Jewell’s brilliant new novel.

My very first Lisa Jewell!

Have you read any of those books? What is on your list this week?
Do share in the comments:)
Happy reading
!

 

Posted in This week in books

This Week In Books (Feb 8th 2017)

thisweekinbooks

This Week In Books is a weekly update on what you’ve been reading hosted by Lipsyy Lost & Found . A similar meme is hosted by Sam @ Taking on a World of Words.

∧ Then ∧ Revenge, Nigel May

revenge

If you keep dangerous secrets you’ll pay the ultimate price…

In the South of France, playground of the rich and famous, world renowned chef Dexter Franklin is organising a night to remember. As he opens the doors to his exclusive restaurant for the first time, he’s handpicked a list of guests, as hot and dazzling as the St Tropez sun itself:

Mew Stanton: Fashionable, beautiful and a notorious TV chef, Dexter’s ex-girlfriend has all the ingredients for success. As her books fly off the shelves, a secret from her past is about to surface with explosive consequences.

Holly Lydon: Ex girlband star who has fallen on hard times. Forced to make ends meet she’s having to sleep her way to the top. Now she’s making headlines for all the wrong reasons.

Rosita Velázquez: Brazilian actress extraordinaire and girlfriend of Dexter’s brother, Leland. When she’s in town everybody needs to know about it, but this is one show-stopping entrance she’ll live to regret.

Three women have a past with Dexter and a grudge to bear against him. As fireworks ignite in the jet set capital of Europe, there’s murder on the menu. Who will be served their just desserts?

The sun is setting in the South of France. Pour yourself a glass of champagne and sit back for a read of revenge, regrets and shocking revelations that will have you hooked to the very last page.

This story is a breath of air. Not the nicest or healthiest air but how so enjoyable!

≈ Now ≈ Blink, K.L. Slater

blink

What if the person you love most in the world was in terrible danger … because of you?

Three years ago, Toni’s five-year-old daughter Evie disappeared after leaving school. The police have never been able to find her. There were no witnesses, no CCTV, no trace.

But Toni believes her daughter is alive. And as she begins to silently piece together her memories, the full story of the past begins to reveal itself, and a devastating truth.

Toni’s mind is trapped in a world of silence, her only chance to save herself is to manage the impossible. She must find a way to make herself heard. She must find her daughter.

A compelling, gripping thriller with a breathtaking twist that will keep you awake until the early hours. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, Behind Closed Doors and The Sister.

If you read my review of the previous book by the author, you must already know I am really thrilled to be starting this today!

∨ Next ∨ Loving the Life Less Lived, Gail Marie Mitchell

loving-the-life-less-lived

An essential companion for anyone dealing with mental illness.
Like many people, Gail Marie Mitchell battled with anxiety and depression for many years, finding it exhausting, stressful and demoralising at times.

Realising that this approach to her condition was futile, Gail chose a different approach: acceptance.

Taking control in this way removed some of the pressure and enabled Gail to focus on developing coping strategies, creating the tips and tools that are included in this empathetic and practical book.

Gail focuses on the positive aspects of her condition, showing how a person living with mental illness is so much more than the label that society puts on them. She found acceptance empowering, enabling her to live her life to the full. Perhaps not the life she had planned, but one that is happy and fulfilling and that she loves. She is Loving the Life Less Lived.

By sharing her experiences and describing what she learnt from them as well as the resulting coping strategies, Gail has created an essential companion for anyone dealing with mental illness and their family and friends.

Then I will be taking care of myself this weekend with a gift from a friend (thank you again, so much!). I will be entering this new story on mental health with an open and curious mind and will take every advice it offers.

Have you read any of those books? What is on your list this week?
Do share in the comments:)
Happy reading
!

Posted in Challenges

2017 Challenges Monthly Update: January

btbchallengeslider

The Beat The Backlist Challenge is hosted by Austine @ Novel Knight. Click on the link for rules and guidelines. You’ll also find an exciting Hogwarts House Cup Challenge linked to the main challenge, how fun!

btbhpcupsicons_ravenclaw
If you’re wondering, I’m PixieGlow in the House Cup challenge. Don’t judge the contender by its stripper name 😂

So basically, we are supposed to read all the books we hoarded and were published before 2017.
My Personal Goal: 50

Books read in January that fit the challenge (with review if available)

It turns out many of my reads for January fit the criteria! February won’t be as good, I can already tell!

wiredintoscifi-1

My goal: Dabbler – Read 10 out of 30 of the Wired into Sci-Fi Books.

rocketshipbadge

From 1900 to our days, one book a month to live or relive some of what sci-fi had to offer through the decades.
I’m going through the decades chronologically, but you can choose not to.

  • In the Days of the Comet by H.G. Wells
    I won’t write a full review because all I have to say is that despite the fact it was really advanced for the time it was written, I wish the book would have been buried by a comet. Wordy, long and full of a romance I never cared about. Leave the comets to the sky.

Find the rules and lists of books here

books-stats

Current TBR 112
Including:
NetGalley 6
ARCs 5

Are you taking part in the challenge? What’s your stripper username? How many books from your TBR have you read?