Posted in Book Reviews

Meggy’s Quickies: Only The Evidence Against Cruelty Is Completely Fine

Yes, I know, I should stop mixing all the titles together but… I enjoy it too much! Bear with me!

Why choose the short way? For a million reasons! I still haven’t recovered from the awesomeness of the book. The author burnt my brain. The book didn’t have a big impact on me. I could go on and on. The length of each review doesn’t reflect my appreciation of the book. Sometimes, fewer words are enough to convey what you felt and thought.

In a nutshell: I write Regular Reviews, Lazy Saturday reviews which are shorter than the regular ones and focus on my feelings instead of analysing the novel, and Quickies to unload feelings and keep track of what worked and what didn’t!

Books Quickies

Continue reading “Meggy’s Quickies: Only The Evidence Against Cruelty Is Completely Fine”

Posted in The Positivity Wave

Happy Friday! #ThePositivityWave 14

Welcome to today’s Happy Friday! My remedy against feeling down is to make a list of all the good things in my life. It can be anything. Really, anything. The smallest gesture from a stranger can change your day, if you open your eyes. Now, I am a pessimistic and I need daily reminders to look for the bright side. Maybe you are too, or maybe the state of our world is weighing on you. In any case, here’s your shot at some happy things!

The POsitivity wave without c`

Continue reading “Happy Friday! #ThePositivityWave 14”

Posted in Book Reviews

Dear Clare: After The End by Clare Mackintosh @claremackint0sh @LittleBrownUK @LucyMalagoni @CathBurkeEditor @CBGBooks

If you are lucky, you stumble upon books that change your life. Don’t mind my dramatic tone… In fact, do mind, because today’s post is special. I couldn’t put down my feelings, I couldn’t come up with a review. I read a book, and I felt different. Isn’t it magic when it happens?

I can’t thank Little, Brown UK enough for letting me read a copy of this novel through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

after the end.pngTitle: After The End
Author: Clare Mackintosh
Publisher: Little, Brown UK
Date of publication: 25 June 2019
Format: NetGalley copy
Source: publisher
Number of pages: 384

Max and Pip are the strongest couple you know. They’re best friends, lovers—unshakable. But then their son gets sick and the doctors put the question of his survival into their hands. For the first time, Max and Pip can’t agree. They each want a different future for their son.

What if they could have both?

A gripping and propulsive exploration of love, marriage, parenthood, and the road not taken, After the End brings one unforgettable family from unimaginable loss to a surprising, satisfying, and redemptive ending and the life they are fated to find. With the emotional power of Jodi Picoult’s My Sister’s Keeper, Mackintosh helps us to see that sometimes the end is just another beginning.

Continue reading “Dear Clare: After The End by Clare Mackintosh @claremackint0sh @LittleBrownUK @LucyMalagoni @CathBurkeEditor @CBGBooks”

Posted in Book Reviews

Mama’s Gonna Buy You a Mockingbird: The Mother’s Mistake by Ruth Heald @RJ_Heald @bookouture #BlogTour

Mothers. Do we need to be one to talk about one? I don’t think so. Anyway, the subject is one we all relate to, in one way or another, and today, I’m excited to kick off the blog tour for The Mother’s Mistake with fellow bloggers to let you know you should read this book!

Happy publication day, Ruth!!! 🎉🎉

Hugs to Team Bookouture for providing me with a copy of this book and to Kim and Noelle for inviting me to be part of the blog tour!

The-Mothers-Mistake-Kindle
Title: The Mother’s Mistake
Author: Ruth Heald
Publisher: Bookouture
Date of publication: 11 June 2019
Format: uncorrected NetGalley copy
Source: publisher
Number of pages: 374

Everyone makes mistakes. But does everyone deserve to be forgiven?

She runs past the tinkling of children’s laughter that fills the park. Heart hammering, feet stinging, she reaches the riverbank, her breath catching in her throat. And then she sees…

Three years later.

Claire has everything she’s always wanted. A new-born baby. A doting husband by her side. A picturesque home in the countryside.

But behind closed doors, Claire’s life is falling apart. Her husband is barely ever home, she’s struggling to bond with her baby girl, and she swears that she is being watched in the remote, lonely cottage.

And when a threatening note is posted through her letterbox, saying she doesn’t deserve her daughter, it’s clear that someone knows about the terrible mistake that Claire made – someone won’t let her forget it. Three years ago, she would have known who to turn to. But now she no longer recognises those closest to her, or the person she’s become. Who can she trust?

An atmospheric, chilling and absolutely unputdownable psychological thriller about a mother’s worst nightmare. Fans of K.L. Slater, Shalini Boland and The Girl on the Train will love the twists, turns and gasp-worthy shocks of this stunning debut from Ruth Heald.

Continue reading “Mama’s Gonna Buy You a Mockingbird: The Mother’s Mistake by Ruth Heald @RJ_Heald @bookouture #BlogTour”

Posted in Giveaways

Looking for the perfect audiobook for the summer? #Twitter #Giveaway #PerfectImperfections by @tarynleighbook

Hello everyone!

Another Monday, another week, another chance for me to change my mind on the worst day of the week :p

Let’s turn this Monday into a good one with a giveaway!

giveaway.png

Continue reading “Looking for the perfect audiobook for the summer? #Twitter #Giveaway #PerfectImperfections by @tarynleighbook”

Posted in Book Reviews

Mouse-ear: Forget Me Not by Claire Allan @ClaireAllan @AvonBooksUK #BlogTour

My second novel by Claire Allan is the perfect way to say bye to this week! If you haven’t checked it yet, here are my thoughts on Apple of My Eye!

I’d like to thank Sabah and Avon Books UK for inviting me to be part of this blog tour and for providing me with a copy of this book.

Capture d'écran 2019-06-09 19.06.21.png
Title: Forget Me Not
Author: Claire Allan
Publisher: Avon Books UK
Date of publication: 30 May 2019
Format: paperback
Source: publisher
Number of pages: 400

I disappeared on a Tuesday afternoon. I was there one minute and the next I was gone. They’ve never found my body…
 
It’s six in the morning during the hottest summer on record when Elizabeth O’Loughlin, out walking her dog, comes across Clare, a victim of a horrific knife attack, clinging onto life at the side of the road.
 
Clare dies minutes later, but not before whispering her haunting last words to Elizabeth.
  
When it becomes clear that Clare’s killer has more than one murder on his mind, Elizabeth has to take drastic action or face losing everything.
 
But what if she can’t stop a killer determined never to be forgotten?

Continue reading “Mouse-ear: Forget Me Not by Claire Allan @ClaireAllan @AvonBooksUK #BlogTour”

Posted in Book Reviews

Friends Forever: #TheFriendWhoLied by Rachel Amphlett @RachelAmphlett @BOTBSPublicity #BlogTour

Happy Saturday! Yes, happy indeed! Because today we’re off to discuss Rachel Amphlett’s latest novel. If you are new here, let me tell you Rachel is a fantastic author, and one of my favourites!

My biggest thanks to Sarah @Books on the Bright Side for inviting me to be part of the blog tour!

The Friend Who Lied Cover EBOOK
Title: The Friend Who Lied
Author: Rachel Amphlett
Date of publication: 9 June 2019
Publisher: Saxon Publishing
Format: e-copy
Number of pages: 362

What she doesn’t know might kill her…

Lisa Ashton receives a last-minute reprieve from death two weeks before her birthday. Regaining consciousness, she is horrified to learn one of her friends has been killed – and saved her life.

As she recovers, she uncovers a trail of carefully guarded reputations, disturbing rumours, and lies. Soon, Lisa begins to wonder if one of her friends is hiding a terrible secret.

Because five of them entered the escape room that day, and only four got out alive.

And someone is determined to cover their tracks before she can find out the truth.

Can Lisa find the killer before someone else dies?

Continue reading “Friends Forever: #TheFriendWhoLied by Rachel Amphlett @RachelAmphlett @BOTBSPublicity #BlogTour”

Posted in The Positivity Wave

Happy Friday! #ThePositivityWave 13

Welcome to today’s Happy Friday! My remedy against feeling down is to make a list of all the good things in my life. It can be anything. Really, anything. The smallest gesture from a stranger can change your day, if you open your eyes. Now, I am a pessimistic and I need daily reminders to look for the bright side. Maybe you are too, or maybe the state of our world is weighing on you. In any case, here’s your shot at some happy things!

The POsitivity wave without c`

Continue reading “Happy Friday! #ThePositivityWave 13”

Posted in Book Reviews

Chocolate’n’Orenda Round 1: Beton Rouge by Simone Buchholz @ohneKlippo @OrendaBooks @FwdTranslations

Hello!!!!!!!!!!

Can you guess I am bursting with excitement?

Why, I hear you ask…

Because today, I am launching something exciting! For the duration of this summer, I will be featuring an Orenda Books novel each week! I have been a huge fan of this publisher for years now and I was lucky to learn a lot from Orenda Mama, so it’s a real pleasure to devote a day per week to fresh and original voices!

chocolate'n'orenda

Continue reading “Chocolate’n’Orenda Round 1: Beton Rouge by Simone Buchholz @ohneKlippo @OrendaBooks @FwdTranslations”

Posted in Book Reviews

Shackles: Undercliff by Mark Brend @MinuteBook @HornetBooks @LoveBooksGroup #BlogTour

I am not a Mondays fan. Are you? The answer doesn’t matter, I have the perfect way to kick off this week: a book. Different, unsettling, revealing its secrets drop by drop…

I would like to thank Hornet Books and Kelly @LoveBooksGroupTours for inviting me to be part of the blog tour. I received a copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review.

undercliff.jpg
Title: Undercliff
Author: Mark Brend
Date of publication: 30 May 2019
Publisher: Hornet Books
Format: e-copy
Number of pages: 202

It’s the summer of 1972, and 30-something divorcee Martyn returns to London after some years away. He joins the Olive Grove, a religious community, where he forms a relationship with Amelia. Over time Martyn becomes suspicious of the Olive Grove’s leaders, a pair of apparently ordinary men who can speak in perfect unison, known as the Two.

A sequence of ambiguous events might indicate that the Two have malign purposes, though Martyn cannot be sure. These suspicions come to a head when Amelia breaks off with Martyn and appears to vanish. He travels to Devon, where the Olive Grove has a retreat house, in search of Amelia and the truth about the organisation. There, events take several disturbing and unexpected turns.  

Continue reading “Shackles: Undercliff by Mark Brend @MinuteBook @HornetBooks @LoveBooksGroup #BlogTour”