Book Reviews

Cold Cuts: The Glass Woman by Caroline Lea @CarolineleaLea @Michaeljbooks

Title: The Glass Woman
Author: Caroline Lea
Publisher: Michael Joseph
Publication date: November 2019
Genre: Mystery, Gothic, Historical Fiction
Format: Paperback
Number of pages: 392

When Rósa is betrothed to Jón Eiríksson, she is sent to a remote village.

There she finds a man who refuses to speak of his recently deceased first wife, and villagers who view her with suspicion.

Isolated and disturbed by her husband’s strange behaviour, her fears deepen.

What is making the strange sounds in the attic?

Who does the mysterious glass figure she is given represent?

And why do the villagers talk of the coming winter darkness in hushed tones?

The Glass Woman is a mysterious and captivating tale of love, fear and superstition, perfect for readers of The MiniaturistThe Silent Companions, and The Bear & The Nightingale.

The Glass Woman was a gift from Kelly at Love Books Group. Don’t you love it when you discover stories you would not have picked yourself?

This novel is mesmerizing, from the cover to the words inked on the pages. The Glass Woman reminded me of classics, but in a good way. Let me explain a bit here – I am NOT a fan of classics, except for Jane Eyre and Rebecca. The writing is peculiar, atmospheric, and the main characters hold an air of mystery that never really leaves. Well, this also applies to The Glass Woman!

Rosa is a … I was going to say a modern female character, but the story takes place during the 17th century in Iceland. Technically not someone I would be able to relate to, or warm to. ERROR! Rosa’s love for her mother, her struggles to leave her old house to marry and protect her mother and village with the guarantee her husband can provide, her first love, those subjects are universal and always find a way to reach the reader when written about with care and skill. Caroline Lea’s book is exquisite and beautiful, tragic and cold. The slow pace matched the freezing temperature and the claustrophobia that comes with being stuck in a tiny house, not knowing what Mother Nature will bring next.

It did take me a while to read The Glass Woman, but it was entirely my fault. I kept expecting a big rush of adrenaline, when this is not what the book is about. The mystery is complex and fascinating, the rumors are poisonous, and some characters very dangerous, but the flow takes its time and you just have to go with it to appreciate the outstanding writing. As a lover of the English language, I could not help but pause and reread some sentences, their beauty hitting me right through the heart.

My biggest thanks to my friend Kelly for an exquisite bookish gift.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

I really enjoyed it!

You can grab your copy on Amazon or BookShop.org (note that those are affiliate links, which means they generate a wee amount of money for me with no extra cost for you)

15 thoughts on “Cold Cuts: The Glass Woman by Caroline Lea @CarolineleaLea @Michaeljbooks”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.