Book Reviews

Expectations VS Reality: #TheLifeWeAlmostHad by Amelia Henley @MsAmeliaHenley @HQstories @ManpreetEditor #BlogTour

Title: The Life We Almost Had
Author: Amelia Henley
Publisher: HQ
Date of Publication: JULY 23 2020
Genre: romance, general fiction
Format reviewed: e-ARC
Number of pages: 400

This is not a typical love story, but it’s our love story.

Anna wasn’t looking for love when Adam swept her off her feet but there was no denying their connection, and she believed they would be together forever.

Years later, cracks have appeared in their relationship. Anna is questioning whether their love can really be eternal when a cruel twist of fate delivers a crushing blow, and Anna and Adam are completely lost to one another. Now, Anna needs Adam more than ever, but the way back to him has life-changing consequences.
 
Is a second chance at first love really worth the sacrifice? Anna needs to decide and time is running out…

A beautiful and emotional love story that asks, how far would you go for a second chance at first love? Perfect for fans of The Man Who Didn’t Call and Miss You.

Whenever an announcement about Louise Jensen’s book is out, I get a shiver down my spine. I know I will read it. I know it will be one of my reading highlights of the month. How do I know? Because I have been following Louise since her first novel, The Sister, got out there. In fact, it was the very first proof I read. I was a newbie reviewer. Louise’s book seeped into my veins and made me understand different things. One, that an author has power. But a gifted author with a great pen, who understands their peers, and knows how to put words on emotions is on top of the world. Louise blew my mind with her first baby, and she continues to do so years later. The second thing I understood, and which made me a better reader and reviewer, is how important it is to share our thoughts in honesty and with respect. Last but not least, she taught me some stories stay with you forever.

Now, what about Louise Jensen’s alter ego, Amelia Henley? Far from thrillers but never from the psychological side of everything. I had high hopes about The Life We Almost Had. What a title. Full of promises, this nasty ‘almost’ hinting at bumps in the road, scars on a skin. I was so excited that the wait was almost (again, this word!!!) unbearable! When a proof was sent my way, I was relieved, elated, ready to dive in…

The swim was a dream.

I was in love with the writing. Amelia and Louise are the same person, but not exactly the same writer. I felt it, and let Amelia prove herself. Prove herself she did!!! She has a way with words that just make me fall in love over and over again with her style.

Anna and Adam were very interesting characters, and I loved their contradictions, their struggles, they really felt real. Actually, it all felt so real it hurt! I was able to empathize with both of them, get a 360° view of them, inside out. I am not one to read romance just for romance. I need meat! I need something that makes the romance plausible, tangible, palpable. What Anna and Adam have is beautiful and heart-breaking, it made my heart swell with happiness and break in a hundred little pieces. Their ups and downs mirrored those we face in real life (apparently, real and almost are key words!!!) I would like to thank Amelia for not sugar-coating their story. Instead, she created authentic characters with their own history, struggles, strengths and weaknesses. She joined their fates and breathed life into their experience.

When cracks began to appear in their relationship, I swore at thin air. I felt their love was written in the stars (oh goodness, I am becoming a sappy lady!) and yet… Yet life had other plans. There is no shortage of love between them, but so many factors come into account when building a life together that juggling it all has to put a strain on everything. I rooted for Anna and Adam and with every blow they took, my hope fought back. Still, love isn’t about what we deserve…

A very uncommon thing happened. I fell in love with a husband! Haha, I sound like a homewrecker! What I mean is that the more I read about Anna and Adam, the closer to Adam I felt. This was due to a very special and terrible twist that changed everything for them both. I wish I could tell you more, but vague should my review remain. What I can tell you is that I was personally invested in the matter, it hitting so close to home for me, and that’s when the gap between Anna and Adam widened in my heart. Amelia brilliantly handled how both characters reacted to what was happening to them, and more, but Adam moved me so much I was shaken by the wave of warmth I felt towards him. He was lovely, understanding, and never pushing, but Anna couldn’t see it, blinded by her pain. I wanted to shake her, I wanted her to open her eyes and see what she had. I know it was all part of a bigger picture, but I couldn’t help it. That’s how much the story reached me!

There’s nothing ordinary in this love story.

The Life We Almost Had is a beautiful story and a fantastic read, so smooth and authentic! Bravo, Amelia!

Verdict

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

Good read

You can grab your copy here!

Follow the blog tour!

Amelia Henley is a hopeless romantic who has a penchant for exploring the intricacies of relationships through writing heartbreaking, high-concept love stories.

Amelia also writes psychological thrillers under her real name, Louise Jensen. As Louise Jensen she has sold over a million copies of her global number one bestsellers. Her stories have been translated into twenty-five languages and optioned for TV as well as featuring on the USA Today and Wall Street Journal bestsellers list. Louise’s books have been nominated for multiple awards.

The Life We Almost Had is the first story she’s written as Amelia Henley and she can’t wait to share it with readers.

15 thoughts on “Expectations VS Reality: #TheLifeWeAlmostHad by Amelia Henley @MsAmeliaHenley @HQstories @ManpreetEditor #BlogTour”

  1. Is this the first romance book that Louise ( Amelia) has written? It sounds intriguing, especially as you loved the husband! I want to know what happened. I’m glad another of Louise ( Amelia’s) book has become attached to you.
    Amanda xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.