Speed Limit: Cradle to Grave by Rachel Amphlett @RachelAmphlett @Tr4cyF3nt0n #KayHunter #BlogTour

October could get a better start! Let’s review! And not any book, but the newest installment in my favorite series!!! I couldn’t be happier to kick off this blog tour!!!

Cradle to Grave Cover LARGE EBOOK

Title: Cradle to Grave
Author: Rachel Amphlett
Publisher: Saxon Publishing
Date of publication: 6 October 2019
Format: uncorrected proof
Source: author

When a faceless body is found floating in the river on a summer’s morning, Detective Kay Hunter and her team are tasked with finding out the man’s identity – and where he came from.

The investigation takes a sinister turn when an abandoned boat is found, covered in blood stains and containing a child’s belongings.

Under mounting pressure from a distraught family and an unforgiving media, the police are in a race against time – but they have no leads, and no motive for the events that have taken place.

Will Kay be able to find a ruthless killer and a missing child before it’s too late?

Cradle to Grave is the eighth book in the Detective Kay Hunter series by USA Today bestselling author Rachel Amphlett, and perfect for fans of Ann Cleeves, Peter James and Stuart MacBride.

Review

The genius in the Kay Hunter series is that Rachel Amphlett manages to draw you in within seconds. Here we are, talking about the eighth book in the Kay Hunter series, and once again, as soon as I laid my eyes on the page, I was transported. How does she do this? Through a down-to-earth, inviting writing that seizes your attention by being so ‘normal’. No big fat shoes and a reputation. No light shining over Kay’s team. Just regular days spent with a terribly good police officers, going up and down along with an investigation that requires the best of their abilities.

As if a faceless dead guy wasn’t enough, evidence of a child near the scene immediately brings the kind of frantic urgency you get when an innocent party is involved. And because Rachel Amphlett’s characters have a heart and different backgrounds, they throw themselves completely into this search. I often hear ‘you can’t understand until you have kids’ and I hate this assumption. I don’t have children, but I am affected when something happens. So while some team members react according to their upbringing waiting for them at home, the author brilliantly offers other officers like the amazing Carys the chance to show how much people care, no matter if their ovaries have been used or not!

Cradle to Grave felt somehow different from the previous book in terms of the pace. A quiet deadly discovery is followed by the rush of a search for a missing person, leaving no time to the reader (or the team) to take things as they come. My heart was pumping furiously as the plot jumped from fast-running periods to the slow-path of legwork and digging up leads. Instead of frustrating me, it only enhanced the feeling of authenticity I always get when reading about Kay’s cases.

I had no idea where this investigation would lead and truly appreciated the team effort that Rachel Amphlett never underestimates to bring a case alive and kicking. Everything happens for a reason and affects people in different ways, pushing them to work harder, take a closer look home, or just give them wings they didn’t know they had. Carys particularly shone in this installment and I could feel a sense of something coming. Change? Well, it just doesn’t affect us. Characters live and move on. This is not a spoiler, by the way! The dynamic between Kay’s well-balanced team was as wonderful as ever, taking the role of X factor that takes a book from good to fabulous. Barnes, Gavin, Sharp, they all have room in my heart and their development is a key factor in every job they encounter.

Why kill a man and abduct a little girl? I dare you to guess that one!

With appearances from secondary characters, such as the lovely Adam and the newest animal addition to the Hunter house, or Kay’s parents, it is easy to remember Kay is also a woman, a daughter, a wife, and so much more. Poignant moments made this novel both heart-wrenching and warm. Kay is not known for giving up, and this time again fueled by the love of those around her and her stubborn urge for answers, she digs as deep as needed to get to the bottom of a dark family story that takes the reader across the Channel. The danger is not obvious, and it takes an eye for detail and thorough investigation under real tension to untangle another complex race for justice and the truth.  

If you are looking for a strong police procedural with a close-knit team and an author with her finger on the adrenaline button, grab your copy of Cradle to Grave!

Pre-order to be the first to read! Amazon

A hug thanks to Tracy Fenton for inviting me to be part of this blog tour, and to Rachel Amphlett for providing me with a copy of this novel.

Cradle to Grave 09.09.19.png

Click on the Search button on the right to look for reviews of the previous books! And don’t forget to check the great stops on the tour!

about the author.png

Rachel Amphlett author photo

Before turning to writing, USA Today bestselling author Rachel Amphlett played guitar in bands, worked as a TV and film extra, dabbled in radio as a presenter and freelance producer for the BBC, and worked in publishing as a sub-editor and editorial assistant.

She now wields a pen instead of a plectrum and writes crime fiction and spy novels, including the Dan Taylor and English Spy Mysteries espionage novels and theDetective Kay Hunter British police procedural series.

She’s a member of International Thriller Writers and the Crime Writers Association, with the Italian foreign rights for her debut novel, White Gold sold to Fanucci Editore’s TIMECrime imprint, and the first four books in the Dan Taylor espionage series contracted to Germany’s Luzifer Verlag.

15 thoughts on “Speed Limit: Cradle to Grave by Rachel Amphlett @RachelAmphlett @Tr4cyF3nt0n #KayHunter #BlogTour

Add yours

  1. Yay another brilliant Kay Hunter book. 😁 and of course you had to be on this blog tour as the biggest Kay fan I know.
    It sounds like it will be another best seller. I’m intrigued by the faceless body!
    Amanda xx

    Like

  2. Fantastic review!! I’m still so happy you finally made me meet Kay Hunter… I love this series and Cradle To Grave is yet another excellent addition. ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: