One Day at a Time: 99 Days with You by Catherine Miller #BlogTour @katylittlelady @bookouture

Happy Thursday, guys! Today, I am not going to talk to you about dead bodies and cops! Today is all about life, love, and the powers of words to make you live so many different lives.

I would like to thank Kim for inviting me to be part of this Book-On-Tour for 99 Days with You. I received a copy through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

99-Days-With-You-KindleTitle: 99 Days with You
Author: Catherine Miller
Publisher: Bookouture
Date of publication: 19 June 2019
Format: NetGalley copy
Source: publisher
Number of pages: 269

Sometimes the end is the start of forever…

Emma and Nathan couldn’t be more different. But when they meet in a hospital waiting room, to the sound of a ticking clock and surrounded by faded magazines, they are both terrified, nervous and alone. And they have one fatal thing in common…

Emma lives a quiet life. She looks after her disabled mother. She lives vicariously through the well-thumbed pages and cracked spines of her beloved books.

Nathan spends his days fifteen thousand feet above the ground, soaring through the air, stomach somersaulting, as a sky diving instructor. After a lifetime of having a recurring dream that he would die at twenty-seven, he treats every day like it’s his last.

As fate throws Emma and Nathan together, everything is about to change.

Emma has never been kissed, or tasted champagne, or travelled abroad. Nathan has never fallen in love, worn odd socks, or grown a sunflower from a seed.

Emma and Nathan vow never to waste an hour, knowing that goodbye could come all too soon. But as they lose their hearts to one another against all the odds, have they found each other too late?

An utterly heartbreaking yet ultimately uplifting novel about the redemptive power of love and how the end isn’t the end at all… Fans of Jojo Moyes, Jodi Picoult and Diane Chamberlain will lose their hearts to Catherine Miller’s stunning story.

review

Fate strikes everywhere. Even in waiting rooms, when your world is minutes from being forever changed. Fate falls on Emma and Nathan in the cruelest way. Love and cancer are not a partnership you would ever expect to build a relationship on. And yet.

Lovely, sweet, and quiet Emma cares for her mother while working part-time at the library. I connected to her straight away. Living vicariously through books and letting days dictate her life without ever taking control, she reminded me of… Well, me. The old me that was changed after a trauma.

Nathan is the complete opposite. Driven by a dream which has been following him all his life, he doesn’t waste a minute, jumping from one extreme life experience to the other. But is it really ‘living’?

The contrast between their personalities is even stronger when they both face bad news, allowing the author to show how differently people react to the threat of a possible shortened life. Both characters made my chest grow heavier as doctors talked and tests were performed. The way they approached their new and scary paths was breath-taking and heart-breaking. Instead of having the characters come out of the book, I wanted to dive into the pages and hold them close. I was happy Emma and Nathan had each other to rely on through the bad and the good times.

99 Days with You is sad. Yes, it is. 99 Days with You attacks the awful C word. Yes, it does. But 99 Days with You does a lot more, too. It lets love blossom in the most unexpected place. It reminds us of the importance of support, mental and physical, when life throws such a huge punch in our face. It makes you think of our role out there. Do you want to leave a trace of your passage on Earth? What makes you think you have lived? You jumped out of a plane? You kissed a million men? You traveled to the end of the world? This novel has an important message. We shouldn’t take life for granted, and we should cherish all those little moments which don’t feel important, because they are important. They are what make us who we are. 99% of us won’t become president or swim with sharks, but it doesn’t mean we haven’t lived life to the fullest.

Catherine Miller creates a garden with this book. A beautiful garden filled with all kinds of flowers. The sad lonely orchid, the unruly row of poppies, the gorgeous sunflowers that make us hope. Reading 99 Days with You is like walking in this garden. You feel the wind on your face. It dries the tears on your cheeks. The different smells take you places, and by the time to reach the gate at the other side, you are a different person. More accurately, you are the same person, with a stronger sense of what is around you. You are thankful for the encounters you’ve had, the rows you didn’t, the kisses you shared. When I finished 99 Days with You, I was grateful. Teary-eyed but happy. Calm and so glad to have followed Emma and Nathan through it all.

One moment can change everything. Catherine Miller whispers in our ear that it is important to live, whatever it means to us. With two characters on borrowed time, she stole my heart and filled it with love and hope.

I recommend this novel if you are looking for a touching and beautiful story about love and life.

You can grab your copy now!

about the author
catherine miller.jpg
When Catherine Miller became a mum to twins, she decided her hands weren’t full enough so wrote a novel with every spare moment she managed to find. By the time the twins were two, Catherine had a two-book deal with Carina UK. There is a possibility she has aged remarkably in that time. Her debut novel, Waiting For You, came out in March 2016.

Catherine was a NHS physiotherapist, but for health reasons (Uveitis and Sarcoidosis) she retired early from this career. As she loved her physiotherapy job, she decided if she couldn’t do that she would pursue her writing dream. It took a few years and a couple of babies, but in 2015 she won the Katie Fforde bursary, was a finalist in the London Book Fair Write Stuff Competition and highly commended in Woman magazine’s writing competition. Soon afterwards she signed with Carina. Soon after that, she collapsed in a heap and was eventually revived by chocolate.

Since then she’s had four novels published and hasn’t found a week that didn’t require revival by chocolate. She is one eighth of The Romaniacs – a group of writing friends who’ve supported each other since meeting through The Romantic Novelists’ Association’s New Writers’ Scheme.

17 comments

  1. This sounds like such an emotional read. I’m glad it left you happy though. Often I look at books that discuss cancer and premature deaths and find them to sad to read. But a book that can be uplifting aswell must be well written.
    Great review Meggy
    Amanda xx

    Like

  2. Excellent review Meggy! It sounds like this book will cause the reader to ponder many things that Emma and Nathan faced. I love how the book’s life questions sparked your thought process and made you reflect. I’ve got it on my TBR now!

    Like

  3. Lovely review, Meggy! I hadn’t heard of this book before, and reading the blurb I possibly would have skipped it because it sounds like a heartbreaking read but your thoughts about it make it sound like such thoughtful novel. I’ll add this to my list 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.