Posted in Book Reviews

With Eyes Opened: The Perfect Betrayal by Lauren North #ThePerfectBetrayal @Lauren_C_North @TransworldBooks @damppebbles #damppebblesblogtours

Happy Monday! I couldn’t be happier to kick off the blog tour for The Perfect Betrayal with my friend Shalini, who writes wonderful reviews!

I would like to thank Emma @damppebbletours for inviting me to be part of this tour and sending me a copy of the novel.

the perfect betrayal.jpgTitle: The Perfect Betrayak
Author: Lauren North
Publisher: Transworld Books
Date of publication: March 2019
Format: NetGalley copy
Source: publisher
Number of pages: 356

After the sudden death of her husband, Tess is drowning in grief. All she has left is her son, Jamie, and she’ll do anything to protect him – but she’s struggling to cope.

When grief counsellor Shelley knocks on their door, everything changes. Shelley is understanding and kind, and promises she can help Tess through the hardest time of her life.

But when a string of unsettling events happens and questions arise over her husband’s death, Tess starts to suspect that Shelley may have an ulterior motive. Tess knows she must do everything she can to keep Jamie safe – but she’s at her most vulnerable, and that’s a dangerous place to be.

Continue reading “With Eyes Opened: The Perfect Betrayal by Lauren North #ThePerfectBetrayal @Lauren_C_North @TransworldBooks @damppebbles #damppebblesblogtours”

Posted in The Positivity Wave

Happy Friday! #ThePositivityWave 15

Welcome to today’s Happy Friday! My remedy against feeling down is to make a list of all the good things in my life. It can be anything. Really, anything. The smallest gesture from a stranger can change your day, if you open your eyes. Now, I am a pessimistic and I need daily reminders to look for the bright side. Maybe you are too, or maybe the state of our world is weighing on you. In any case, here’s your shot at some happy things!

The POsitivity wave without c`

Continue reading “Happy Friday! #ThePositivityWave 15”

Posted in Book Reviews

One Day at a Time: 99 Days with You by Catherine Miller #BlogTour @katylittlelady @bookouture

Happy Thursday, guys! Today, I am not going to talk to you about dead bodies and cops! Today is all about life, love, and the powers of words to make you live so many different lives.

I would like to thank Kim for inviting me to be part of this Book-On-Tour for 99 Days with You. I received a copy through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

99-Days-With-You-KindleTitle: 99 Days with You
Author: Catherine Miller
Publisher: Bookouture
Date of publication: 19 June 2019
Format: NetGalley copy
Source: publisher
Number of pages: 269

Sometimes the end is the start of forever…

Emma and Nathan couldn’t be more different. But when they meet in a hospital waiting room, to the sound of a ticking clock and surrounded by faded magazines, they are both terrified, nervous and alone. And they have one fatal thing in common…

Emma lives a quiet life. She looks after her disabled mother. She lives vicariously through the well-thumbed pages and cracked spines of her beloved books.

Nathan spends his days fifteen thousand feet above the ground, soaring through the air, stomach somersaulting, as a sky diving instructor. After a lifetime of having a recurring dream that he would die at twenty-seven, he treats every day like it’s his last.

As fate throws Emma and Nathan together, everything is about to change.

Emma has never been kissed, or tasted champagne, or travelled abroad. Nathan has never fallen in love, worn odd socks, or grown a sunflower from a seed.

Emma and Nathan vow never to waste an hour, knowing that goodbye could come all too soon. But as they lose their hearts to one another against all the odds, have they found each other too late?

An utterly heartbreaking yet ultimately uplifting novel about the redemptive power of love and how the end isn’t the end at all… Fans of Jojo Moyes, Jodi Picoult and Diane Chamberlain will lose their hearts to Catherine Miller’s stunning story.

Continue reading “One Day at a Time: 99 Days with You by Catherine Miller #BlogTour @katylittlelady @bookouture”

Posted in Book Reviews

Meggy’s Quickies: Only The Evidence Against Cruelty Is Completely Fine

Yes, I know, I should stop mixing all the titles together but… I enjoy it too much! Bear with me!

Why choose the short way? For a million reasons! I still haven’t recovered from the awesomeness of the book. The author burnt my brain. The book didn’t have a big impact on me. I could go on and on. The length of each review doesn’t reflect my appreciation of the book. Sometimes, fewer words are enough to convey what you felt and thought.

In a nutshell: I write Regular Reviews, Lazy Saturday reviews which are shorter than the regular ones and focus on my feelings instead of analysing the novel, and Quickies to unload feelings and keep track of what worked and what didn’t!

Books Quickies

Continue reading “Meggy’s Quickies: Only The Evidence Against Cruelty Is Completely Fine”

Posted in The Positivity Wave

Happy Friday! #ThePositivityWave 14

Welcome to today’s Happy Friday! My remedy against feeling down is to make a list of all the good things in my life. It can be anything. Really, anything. The smallest gesture from a stranger can change your day, if you open your eyes. Now, I am a pessimistic and I need daily reminders to look for the bright side. Maybe you are too, or maybe the state of our world is weighing on you. In any case, here’s your shot at some happy things!

The POsitivity wave without c`

Continue reading “Happy Friday! #ThePositivityWave 14”

Posted in Book Reviews

Dear Clare: After The End by Clare Mackintosh @claremackint0sh @LittleBrownUK @LucyMalagoni @CathBurkeEditor @CBGBooks

If you are lucky, you stumble upon books that change your life. Don’t mind my dramatic tone… In fact, do mind, because today’s post is special. I couldn’t put down my feelings, I couldn’t come up with a review. I read a book, and I felt different. Isn’t it magic when it happens?

I can’t thank Little, Brown UK enough for letting me read a copy of this novel through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

after the end.pngTitle: After The End
Author: Clare Mackintosh
Publisher: Little, Brown UK
Date of publication: 25 June 2019
Format: NetGalley copy
Source: publisher
Number of pages: 384

Max and Pip are the strongest couple you know. They’re best friends, lovers—unshakable. But then their son gets sick and the doctors put the question of his survival into their hands. For the first time, Max and Pip can’t agree. They each want a different future for their son.

What if they could have both?

A gripping and propulsive exploration of love, marriage, parenthood, and the road not taken, After the End brings one unforgettable family from unimaginable loss to a surprising, satisfying, and redemptive ending and the life they are fated to find. With the emotional power of Jodi Picoult’s My Sister’s Keeper, Mackintosh helps us to see that sometimes the end is just another beginning.

Continue reading “Dear Clare: After The End by Clare Mackintosh @claremackint0sh @LittleBrownUK @LucyMalagoni @CathBurkeEditor @CBGBooks”

Posted in Book Reviews

Mama’s Gonna Buy You a Mockingbird: The Mother’s Mistake by Ruth Heald @RJ_Heald @bookouture #BlogTour

Mothers. Do we need to be one to talk about one? I don’t think so. Anyway, the subject is one we all relate to, in one way or another, and today, I’m excited to kick off the blog tour for The Mother’s Mistake with fellow bloggers to let you know you should read this book!

Happy publication day, Ruth!!! 🎉🎉

Hugs to Team Bookouture for providing me with a copy of this book and to Kim and Noelle for inviting me to be part of the blog tour!

The-Mothers-Mistake-Kindle
Title: The Mother’s Mistake
Author: Ruth Heald
Publisher: Bookouture
Date of publication: 11 June 2019
Format: uncorrected NetGalley copy
Source: publisher
Number of pages: 374

Everyone makes mistakes. But does everyone deserve to be forgiven?

She runs past the tinkling of children’s laughter that fills the park. Heart hammering, feet stinging, she reaches the riverbank, her breath catching in her throat. And then she sees…

Three years later.

Claire has everything she’s always wanted. A new-born baby. A doting husband by her side. A picturesque home in the countryside.

But behind closed doors, Claire’s life is falling apart. Her husband is barely ever home, she’s struggling to bond with her baby girl, and she swears that she is being watched in the remote, lonely cottage.

And when a threatening note is posted through her letterbox, saying she doesn’t deserve her daughter, it’s clear that someone knows about the terrible mistake that Claire made – someone won’t let her forget it. Three years ago, she would have known who to turn to. But now she no longer recognises those closest to her, or the person she’s become. Who can she trust?

An atmospheric, chilling and absolutely unputdownable psychological thriller about a mother’s worst nightmare. Fans of K.L. Slater, Shalini Boland and The Girl on the Train will love the twists, turns and gasp-worthy shocks of this stunning debut from Ruth Heald.

Continue reading “Mama’s Gonna Buy You a Mockingbird: The Mother’s Mistake by Ruth Heald @RJ_Heald @bookouture #BlogTour”