Posted in Book Reviews

Hide & Seek: Gone by Midnight by Candice Fox @candicefoxbooks @SarahHarwood_ @PenguinUKBooks

I’m kicking off this week with a shiny and fantastic read! Nothing better to teach this Monday to behave!

img_2777
Title: Gone By Midnight
Author: Candice Fox
Publisher: Century
Date of publication: 24st January 2019
Format: uncorrected bound copy
Number of pages: 370

They left four children safe upstairs.
They came back to three.
__________________

On the fifth floor of the White Caps Hotel, four young boys are left alone while their parents dine downstairs.

But when one of the parents checks on the children at midnight, they discover one of them is missing.

The boys swear they stayed in their room. CCTV confirms that none of them left the building. No trace of the child is found.

Now the hunt is on to find him, before it’s too late – and before the search for a boy becomes a search for a body…

Continue reading “Hide & Seek: Gone by Midnight by Candice Fox @candicefoxbooks @SarahHarwood_ @PenguinUKBooks”

Posted in Book Reviews

No Signal: The Last by Hanna Jameson @Hanna_Jameson @VikingBooksUK

I hope everyone is having a relaxing weekend! I was pretty silent (well, less active than usual!) here and on social media due to a water leak that turned my living room into an indoor swimming pool and that urge to read book after book without stopping… But I’m back, and hoping my reviewing skills haven’t disappeared…

Today I’m reviewing a special book…

the lastTitle: The Last
Author: Hanna Jameson
Publisher: Vicking
Date of publication: 31st January 2019
Format: uncorrected bound copy
Number of pages: 392

Breaking: Nuclear weapon detonates over Washington

Breaking: London hit, thousands feared dead

Breaking: Munich and Scotland hit. World leaders call for calm

Historian Jon Keller is on a trip to Switzerland when the world ends. As the lights go out on civilization, he wishes he had a way of knowing whether his wife, Nadia and their two daughters are still alive. More than anything, Jon wishes he hadn’t ignored Nadia’s last message.

Twenty people remain in Jon’s hotel. Far from the nearest city and walled in by towering trees, they wait, they survive.

Then one day, the body of a young girl is found. It’s clear she has been murdered. Which means that someone in the hotel is a killer.

As paranoia descends, Jon decides to investigate. But how far is he willing to go in pursuit of justice? And what kind of justice can he hope for, when society as he knows it no longer exists?

Continue reading “No Signal: The Last by Hanna Jameson @Hanna_Jameson @VikingBooksUK”

Posted in Book Reviews

Take Off Your Masks: The Man With No Face by Peter May @authorpetermay @QuercusFiction @riverrunbooks

My deepest apologies for sending this review so late. Personal emergencies and blabla. But here it is!

I received a copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review. I would like to thank the publisher and Agnes for inviting me to be part of this blog tour!

the man with no faceTitle: The Man With No Face
Author: Peter May
Publisher: Riverrun
Date of publication: 10th January 2019
Format: uncorrected bound copy
Number of pages: 406

Set amidst the political and social turmoil of the 1970s, in Brussels, the beating heart of the new Europe to which, at that time, Britain had just committed itself, The Man With No Face follows the story of a high-ranking member of the British government who is murdered, witnessed only by an autistic child with extraordinary artistic ability. Her only means of communicating what she sees is by drawing the killer. Interrupted before completing the details of the face, she cannot be persuaded to finish it. But can the killer afford to take the risk that she won’t?

Continue reading “Take Off Your Masks: The Man With No Face by Peter May @authorpetermay @QuercusFiction @riverrunbooks”

Posted in Book Reviews

What If…: The Disappeared by Sibel Hodge @sibelhodge @Bloodhoundbook #PublicationDay #BlogBlitz

Happy publication day Sibel Hodge!!! I am over the moon to kick off the blog blitz along with great fellow bloggers!

Thanks a lot to our darling Emma at Bloodhound Books for inviting me to be part of this special time!

Sibel Hodge - The Disappeared_coverTitle: The Disappeared
Author: Sibel Hodge
Publisher: Bloodhound Books
Date of publication: 10th January 2019
Format: e-copy

The widow. The secret. The liar.

The Disappeared…

On a routine flight from Africa to England, Dr Mason Palmer is tragically killed when the light aircraft he’s travelling on crashes and disappears in dense bush land.

The Widow…

Ten months later, Nicole Palmer is still trying to block out the grief of her husband’s sudden death. Until one morning she receives a photo of Mason through the post, along with a cryptic message. A message only he could’ve written.

The Secret…

But when Nicole tries to find out if Mason is really alive and what actually happened to him in Africa, everyone she turns to for answers ends up dead.

Determined to find the truth, Nicole uncovers a conspiracy that spans the globe, and discovers there are powerful people who are prepared to kill to keep her silent.

Who’s lying? Who’s watching Nicole? And can she expose their murky secrets before they catch up with her?

Continue reading “What If…: The Disappeared by Sibel Hodge @sibelhodge @Bloodhoundbook #PublicationDay #BlogBlitz”

Posted in Book Reviews

Tell Me Your Name: My Name Is Anna by Lizzy Barber @ByLizzyBarber @Rachel90Kennedy @arrowpublishing

Happy Wednesday, guys! I’m back today after a little reading-binge to talk about a fantastic book! Let me tell you, January is being very nice to me book-wise!

My biggest thanks to Rachel at Century for inviting me to be part of this blog tour and for providing me with a copy of this book. (I hate the post for losing my print copy!!!!)

my name is anna coverTitle: My Name Is Anna
Author: Lizzy Barber
Publisher: Century
Date of publication: 10th January 2019
Format: e-copy
Source: NetGalley

Two women – desperate to unlock the truth.
How far will they go to lay the past to rest?

ANNA has been taught that virtue is the path to God. But on her eighteenth birthday she defies her Mamma’s rules and visits Florida’s biggest theme park.

She has never been allowed to go – so why, when she arrives, does everything seem so familiar? And is there a connection to the mysterious letter she receives on the same day?

ROSIE has grown up in the shadow of the missing sister she barely remembers, her family fractured by years of searching without leads.Now, on the fifteenth anniversary of her sister’s disappearance, the media circus resumes in full flow, and Rosie vows to uncover the truth.

But will she find the answer before it tears her family apart?

Continue reading “Tell Me Your Name: My Name Is Anna by Lizzy Barber @ByLizzyBarber @Rachel90Kennedy @arrowpublishing”

Posted in Book Reviews

Spit It Out: Tell Me A Secret by Jane Fallon @JaneFallon @MichaelJBooks

Ready to make this Sunday perfect? Grab a glass, settle in a comfortable armchair, and get to know a little more about Jane Fallon’s newest book!

Ps: My first choices of books for the year have secrets in their title and stories… What does it say about me??? And both received 5 stars…

tell me a secretTitle: Tell Me A Secret
Author: Jane Fallon
Publisher: Michael Joseph
Date of publication: 10th January 2019
Format: e-copy
Source: NetGalley
Rating: 5 ⭐️

Best friends Holly and Roz tell each other everything.

So when Holly gets a shot at her dream job after putting everything on hold to raise her daughter, she assumes Roz will be waiting to pop the champagne.

But is she just imagining things or is Roz not quite as happy as she should be?

And now she thinks about it, a few things don’t quite add up…

Perhaps it was a mistake to tell Roz all her secrets.

Because it takes two to tango,
But only one to start a war…

Continue reading “Spit It Out: Tell Me A Secret by Jane Fallon @JaneFallon @MichaelJBooks”

Posted in Book Reviews

How Well Do You Know Your Neighbours? #DirtyLittleSecrets by Jo Spain @SpainJoanne @QuercusBooks @Millsreid11

Good morning, lovelies!!! Or afternoon. Or night. Wherever you are, hello!

I am so excited to post my very first review of the year! And so happy that it is about a book that blew me away! I’m kinda spoiling the effect but… OMG I adored this novel!!!! Can you think of a best way to start your blogging year? Because I can’t!

I received a copy of Dirty Little Secrets from Quercus Books through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you to the team, and the author!

dirty little secretsTitle: Dirty Little Secrets
Author: Jo Spain
Publisher: Quercus Books
Date of publication: 7th February 2019
Format: e-copy
Source: NetGalley
Rating: 5 ⭐️

Six neighbours, six secrets, six reasons to want Olive Collins dead.

In the exclusive gated community of Withered Vale, people’s lives appear as perfect as their beautifully manicured lawns. Money, success, privilege – the residents have it all. Life is good.

There’s just one problem.

Olive Collins’ dead body has been rotting inside number four for the last three months. Her neighbours say they’re shocked at the discovery but nobody thought to check on her when she vanished from sight.

The police start to ask questions and the seemingly flawless facade begins to crack. Because, when it comes to Olive’s neighbours, it seems each of them has something to hide, something to lose and everything to gain from her death.

The new psychological thriller from the bestselling author of The Confession, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty.

Continue reading “How Well Do You Know Your Neighbours? #DirtyLittleSecrets by Jo Spain @SpainJoanne @QuercusBooks @Millsreid11”

Posted in Wrap-up

Bye 2018! Hello 2019! Happy 3rd Blogiversary to Me! Let’s Start This New Year!

Do I need to write Happy New Year again?

Okay…

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Now, I took a day to look back on 2018 before deciding on what to write in a wrap-up.

I’m joking, I was too lazy to write and post it on 31th December and I had too much to eat the next two days to do anything else than play Super Mario 3. That’s why you are getting a December wrap-up, a 2018 wrap-up and Let’s Roll, 2019 post all in one today!

How lucky are you?

first post of the year

Continue reading “Bye 2018! Hello 2019! Happy 3rd Blogiversary to Me! Let’s Start This New Year!”