Posted in Book Reviews

It’s #BookoutureWeek! Last Day: The Visitor by K.L. Slater @KimLSlater @bookouture

This week is BOOKOUTURE WEEK on Chocolate’n’Waffles!

Screenshot 2018-12-24 at 00.15.53

Why focus on one publisher? The main reason is that few Bookouture books have disappointed me and I wanted December to be a good reading month. So I took a bet on them. Okay, a safe bet, but still! Another reason is that Bookouture was the first publisher to trust me when I started blogging, and they have given me great novels, fab friendships, and lots of fun, so I wanted to give back with seven reviews in a row, as a thank you and a ‘let’s have even more fun next year’!

One rule: all books have been read this month! As always, thank you to the fantastic Bookouture team for feeding me via NetGalley in exchange for honest reviews.


I can’t believe the Bookouture week is over!!! I feel quite sad about it, but I know I still have lots of books from this publisher waiting for me, and I will keep on supporting them. Still, I loved spending the week reading and reviewing so many fabulous novels in such a short time. When’s the next Bookouture Week???

Time to close this week, this chapter, and this year with my last review of 2018.

the visitorTitle: The Visitor
Author: K.L. Slater
Publisher: Bookouture
Date of publication: March 2018
Format: e-copy
Source: NetGalley

You can never know what goes on behind closed doors. Or can you?

Holly never thought she’d move back to her home town, but then something terrible happened. She doesn’t know if she can recover. But she knows she can never tell another soul.

People say her neighbour, David, is “different”. He doesn’t go out much, and never after dark. But in David Holly finds just what she needs: a friend. Someone who’s always there.

No one knows Holly’s secret, or where she lives. She has left the past behind. She is sure of it. So why does she feel as though she’s in terrible danger?

An absolutely unputdownable psychological thriller, from the bestselling author of Blink and The Mistake. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train and The Couple Next Door. 

my-review-red

I am a big fan of K.L Slater so it seemed natural to end my Bookouture week with one of my favourite authors, the Queen of the unforeseen twist.

Kim earned this title after blowing my mind with Blink back in February 2017. Since then, each of her books have had the same effect on me. I even had to invent a special Slater Book Hangover Cocktail!

The Visitor is no exception. The title had me in the dark. An invitation to a secret bookish party ready to make me shiver and feed my paranoid side. How could I refuse? Did I even think of refusing? Absolutely not!

Now I have lots of notes next to me and fabulous quotes to use but all I can say is BUY THE DAMN BOOK. I know, for a book reviewer, I could do better. But nothing I can say will be enough to express how much you need to meet Holly and David. And Cora and Emily. And … everyone. Because the players and the stakes at risks here are big. We are talking people with masks, guys with issues, mysteries. We are dealing with thrilling moments, scary nights, bad memories. We face consequences, evil plans, disturbing behavior.

I couldn’t stop reading, I couldn’t stop thinking. When you dive into a book written by Kim Slater, you know you’ll get the answers, but you never know what kind of answers, and you are at the mercy of twisted minds, winding roads, and windy journeys to the truth. I love her style. I can’t get enough of it. I drank The Visitor faster than everyone knocked back G&Ts at Christmas.

Holly is a mesmerizing character. I felt something was off, but I couldn’t put my finger on it. So I tried to keep my distances. Haha, of course, I failed, because the author makes sure to give you enough information to connect to the characters she offers you. Holly was a stranger, but in a good way. A foreigner coming back to her hometown and I just couldn’t hold back my excitement at knowing why!

David worried me. I imagined him with blurred features, as if he was always at the corner of my eye. I can’t say I approved of his methods, but like Holly, I wanted more than the surface, I wanted reasons why he had become the way he was portrayed in the novel.

Around those two were a series of wonderfully crafted secondary characters who made The Visitor an unsettling read. We all have secrets and many of us love to read about them. What’s more thrilling than discovering what the skeletons in others’ closets are wearing? Kim Slater had me wondering until THE VERY END. I spent 90% of my reading time with a creepy feeling of foreboding despite nice houses, work offices and normal daily basis stuff, and the 10 remaining percent had me looking like a fish out of its bowl. Big eyes and open mouthed. Oh and I forgot… SPEECHLESS. I was speechless. Again.

So I’ll say it. This psychological thriller is good. Brilliant. Awesome. It’s a book that tests you, plays with your nerves and your judgment of others. Read it, just read it. There’s nothing else I can say. You want twists? You’ll have them. You want a crazy plot that totally makes sense in the scheme of the universe and yet is so unnerving that you’ll want to keep the lights on and check that the curtains are closed? You’ll get it all.

The Visitor is a hell of a book! I am so glad to say goodbye to 2018 with a gift from a tremendously talented author.

You can treat yourself to this fab read now!

about-the-author-red

Kim Slater pic

Kim is the bestselling author of psychological crime thrillers ‘Safe With Me,’ ‘Blink,’ ‘Liar’ and the soon to be released ‘The Mistake.’

For many years, Kim sent her work out to literary agents and collected a stack of rejection slips. At the age of 40 she went back to Nottingham Trent University and now has an MA in Creative Writing.

Before graduating in 2012, she received five offers of representation from London literary agents and a book deal which was, as Kim says, ‘a fairytale … at the end of a very long road!’

Kim is a full-time writer and lives in Nottingham with her husband, Mac.

She also writes award-winning YA fiction for Macmillan Children’s Books, writing as Kim Slater.

7 thoughts on “It’s #BookoutureWeek! Last Day: The Visitor by K.L. Slater @KimLSlater @bookouture

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.