Posted in Giveaways

Beauty and the Beasts: The Language of Secrets by Ausma Zehanat Khan @AusmaZehanat @noexitpress #GuestPost @annecater

In October last year, I was lucky to be invited to read The Language of Secrets, the second book in the Esa Khattak and Rachel Getty mystery series. I had ADORED the first novel and was over the moon to read the next adventure of two of the best-crafted characters ever.

Today, I am just as happy to be part of the blog tour with a guest post from the author, the very talented Ausma Zehanat Khan!

Thank you Anne for letting me stay on this great journey with you, Exit Press, and Ausma!

the language of secrets
Find my review of The Language of Secrets here

And the review of The Unquiet Dead here!

AN UNDERCOVER INFORMANT HAS BEEN MURDERED… BUT WHOSE SIDE WAS HE ON?
TORONTO: A local terrorist cell is planning an attack on New Year’s Day. For months, Mohsin Dar has been undercover, feeding information back to Canada’s national security team.
Now he’s dead.
Detective Esa Khattak, compromised by his friendship with the murdered agent, sends his partner Rachel Getty into the unsuspecting cell. As Rachel delves deeper into the unfamiliar world of Islam and the group’s circle of trust, she discovers Mohsin’s murder may not be politically motivated after all. Now she’s the only one who can stop the most devastating attack the country has ever faced.

Continue reading “Beauty and the Beasts: The Language of Secrets by Ausma Zehanat Khan @AusmaZehanat @noexitpress #GuestPost @annecater”

Posted in Book Reviews

I Will Not Recover from This One: #DoNoHarm by L. V. Hay @LucyVHayAuthor #BlogTour @OrendaBooks #RandomThingsTour @annecater

I have been DYING to share my thoughts on this story. If you are on Twitter, you might remember this…

Screen Shot 2018-07-26 at 14.31.10

Yep, my boss tried – and almost succeeded – to kill me with a book. Weeks later, my mind is still thinking about how our reads shape the way we see things and how Lucy have made me even more paranoid than I was before!!

D0_NO_HARM_COVERTitle: Do No Harm
Author: Lucy V. Hay
Date of publication:  July 2018
Publisher: Orenda Books
Format: Uncorrected Proof
Number of pages: 287
Rating: 🧚‍♀️🧚‍♀️🧚‍♀️🧚‍♀️🧚‍♀️

Till death do us part…

After leaving her marriage to jealous, possessive oncologist Maxwell, Lily and her six-year-old son have a second chance at happiness with headteacher Sebastian. Kind but vulnerable, Sebastian is the polar opposite of Maxwell, and the perfect match for Lily. After a whirlwind romance, they marry, and that’s when things start to go wrong…
Maxwell returns to the scene, determined to win back his family, and events soon spiral out of control. Lily and Sebastian find themselves not only fighting for their relationship, but also their lives…
Chilling, dark and terrifying, Do No Harm is a taut psychological thriller and a study of obsession, from one of the most exciting new voices in crime fiction.

Continue reading “I Will Not Recover from This One: #DoNoHarm by L. V. Hay @LucyVHayAuthor #BlogTour @OrendaBooks #RandomThingsTour @annecater”

Posted in Guest Post

Sharing a Cuppa with Sam Carrington! #Guestpost #OneLittleLie @sam_carrington1 @AvonBooksUK @HarperCollinsUK @AnneWilliams4 @Sabah_K

Happy Tuesday! I might not be able to blog today as I’m in a hospital and their Wifi is awful, but I am over the moon to be able to share a guest post from the very Sam Carrington!! Excited, much?? YES!

I’d like to thank Avon Books UK’s team for inviting me to be part of this tour!

one little lie.png

‘My name is Alice. And my son is a murderer.’

Deborah’s son was killed four years ago. Alice’s son is in prison for committing that crime.

Deborah would give anything to have her boy back, and Alice would do anything to right her son’s wrongs.

Driven by guilt and the need for redemption, Alice has started a support group for parents with troubled children. But as the network begins to grow, she soon finds out just how easy it is for one little lie to spiral out of control…

They call it mother’s intuition, but can you ever really know your own child?

A twisty and unnerving story about the price of motherhood and the unthinkable things we do to protect our children. Perfect for fans of Cara Hunter and Laura Marshall.

‘Sam Carrington has done it again. One Little Lie is a twisty, gripping read that deserves to fly. I loved it.’ Cass Green, bestselling author of In a Cottage In a Wood

Continue reading “Sharing a Cuppa with Sam Carrington! #Guestpost #OneLittleLie @sam_carrington1 @AvonBooksUK @HarperCollinsUK @AnneWilliams4 @Sabah_K”

Posted in Book Reviews

Lazy Saturday Review: Rush of Blood by Mark Billingham @MarkBillingham @groveatlantic

Happy Saturday, whether you’re at Harrogate or not!

lazy-saturday-review

From LipsyyI started doing ‘lazy Saturday reviews’ as a way of getting reviews done in just 30 mins, and they proved to be quite popular. They are quick and snappy, and concentrate less on the plot (or content) and writing and more on my overall feelings about said book. They generally end up being a bit of a rant. My fave!

Ps: My lazy reviews are more often good ones than rants, haha!

33841016.jpg
Title:
Rush of Blood
Author: Mark Billingham
Date of publication:  2017
Publisher: Grove Atlantic
Format: NetGalley copy
Number of pages: 292
Rating: 🧚‍♀️🧚‍♀️🧚‍♀️🧚‍♀️

In the standalone novel Rush of Blood, internationally bestselling author Mark Billingham puts a sinister twist on a deceptively innocent topic: the beach vacation.

Three British couples meet around the pool on their Florida holiday and become fast friends. But on Easter Sunday, the last day of their vacation, tragedy strikes: the fourteen-year-old daughter of an American vacationer goes missing, and her body is later found floating in the mangroves. When the shocked couples return home to the U.K., they remain in contact, and over the course of three increasingly fraught dinner parties they come to know one another better. But they don’t always like what they find. Buried beneath these apparently normal exteriors are some unusual kinks and unpleasant vices. Then, a second girl goes missing, in Kent—not far from where any of the couples lives. Could it be that one of these six has a secret far darker than anybody can imagine?

Ambitiously plotted and laced with dark humor, Rush of Blood is a first-rate suspense novel about the danger of making new friends in seemingly sunny places.

Continue reading “Lazy Saturday Review: Rush of Blood by Mark Billingham @MarkBillingham @groveatlantic”

Posted in Excerpt

Wednesday Teasing: The New Girl by Ingrid Alexandra @IngridWrites @AvonBooksUK @Sabah_K #Excerpt

Busy day today! I am very excited to share an extract of The New Girl by Ingrid Alexandra. The book sounds BRILLIANT!

Thank you to Avon UK for inviting me to be part of this tour!

the new girl

You’ve only just met.

But she already knows you so well.

When Rachel moves into the spare room in Mary’s flat, everyone is quick to jump to the conclusion that there’s something strange about her. Everyone apart from Mary.

And when Rachel starts sleepwalking, everyone’s fears grow. But there’s something about the new girl that Mary can’t help but trust, and having recently escaped a toxic relationship, she needs the support.

Rachel becomes a friend and an ally, and Mary soon discovers that they have more in common than she ever could have imagined.

In fact, Rachel seems to know more about Mary than she knows about herself…

Continue reading “Wednesday Teasing: The New Girl by Ingrid Alexandra @IngridWrites @AvonBooksUK @Sabah_K #Excerpt”

Posted in Book Reviews

What Goes On Under The Sun: Dead of Night by Michael Stanley #HappyPublicationDay @OrendaBooks @detectivekubu

Happy publication day to the wonderful Michael Stanley team!!!

dead of night out now banner

Title: Dead of Night
Author: Michael Stanley
Date of publication:  15th July 2018
Publisher: Orenda Books
Format: Uncorrected proof
Number of pages: 320
Rating: 🧚‍♀️🧚‍♀️🧚‍♀️🧚‍♀️

When freelance journalist, Crystal Nguyen, heads to South Africa, she thinks she’ll be researching an article on rhino-horn smuggling for National Geographic, while searching for her missing colleague. But within a week, she’s been hunting poachers, hunted by their bosses, and then arrested in connection with a murder. And everyone is after a briefcase full of money that may hold the key to everything…
Fleeing South Africa, she goes undercover in Vietnam, trying to discover the truth before she’s exposed by the local mafia. Discovering the plot behind the money is only half the battle. Now she must convince the South African authorities to take action before it’s too late. She has a shocking story to tell, if she survives long enough to tell it…
Fast-paced, relevant and chilling, Dead of Night is a stunning new thriller that exposes one of the most vicious conflicts on the African continent…

Continue reading “What Goes On Under The Sun: Dead of Night by Michael Stanley #HappyPublicationDay @OrendaBooks @detectivekubu”

Posted in Book Reviews

Days, Hours, Minutes: 29 Seconds by T. M. Logan @TMLoganAuthor @BonnierZaffre @CamillaWray @DA_Agency

It feels so good to review without a deadline!

I would like to thank Bonnier Zaffre for my review copy of this novel. This review is my unbiased opinion.

36217426Title: 29 Seconds
Author: T. M. Logan
Date of publication:  2018
Publisher: Bonnier Zaffre
Format: NetGalley e-ARC
Number of pages: 320
Rating: 🧚‍♀️🧚‍♀️🧚‍♀️🧚‍♀️🧚‍♀️

 

Give me one name. One person. And I will make them disappear . . .

When Sarah rescues a young girl in trouble, she expects nothing in return. But her act of bravery puts a powerful and dangerous man in her debt. He lives by his own brutal code, and all debts must be repaid – in the only way he knows how.

He offers Sarah a way to solve a desperate situation with her intolerable boss. A once-in-a-lifetime deal that will make all her problems disappear.

No consequences. No comeback. No chance of being found out.

All it takes is a 29 second phone call.

Because everyone has a name to give. Don’t they?

Continue reading “Days, Hours, Minutes: 29 Seconds by T. M. Logan @TMLoganAuthor @BonnierZaffre @CamillaWray @DA_Agency”