Posted in Book Reviews

Blog Blitz! Gone Missing by T.J Brearton @BreartonTJ @bookouture

Happy Thursday! Today I’m happy to share the love for Gone Missing, a special and interesting new release from Bookouture! Happy publication day to  and thank you to Bookouture for letting me be a part of the party!

gone missingTitle: Gone Missing
Author: T.J. Brearton
Imprint: Bookouture
Date of publication: November 16th 2017
Format: eARC
Rating: ⭐⭐⭐ and a half

It was a normal day. Then they took her.

Katie Calumet is on an early-morning run when she hears a baby crying. The park is deserted, and there’s no one in the street. She follows the cries, but then everything goes black. When Katie wakes up, she’s blindfolded and her hands and feet are bound.

Detective Justin Cross takes on the case, but with the trail leading into endless dense forest, and a failing marriage weighing on his mind, finding Katie is his most challenging case yet – not least because the Calumet family are keeping secrets of their own.

Justin and Katie face a race against time that will push them both to their very limits. As Justin works day and night to discover who took her and why, Katie fights desperately to escape from her kidnappers and the forest that surrounds her…

Can Justin find her before it’s too late?

A gripping and breath-taking thriller you won’t be able to put down. Perfect for fans of Tom Bale, Rachel Abbott and Robert Dugoni.

my review red.png

Are you a jogger? I have heard running help you calm your mind, escape your thoughts, and for Katie Calumet, escape your life, whether you want it or not! Whenever I see a woman jogging, I feel a ping of guilt. This time, I was glad I am too lazy to get out and move my buttocks!

Katie Calumet and her husband live a normal life, in a nice suburb, nothing to report! Well, until Katie wakes up early for her dose of adrenaline and hears a baby crying in a van near a park… This is why we should not be too curious! Minutes later, Katie is away from her dream life and the world as she knows it will be changed forever!

Gone missing follows the couple and the main detective in charge of the case… as well as an interesting take at how things can take a totally different direction from what you expected!

Katie’s abduction triggered anxiety on my side, I knew something was going to happen, of course, and I was eagerly expecting it, but the writing made sure the tension was here and the surprise, while expected, was indeed big!

From there, the beginning of the case raised a couple of red flags. I was surprised the police would get on the case so fast! A couple of hours are enough for a husband to worry, but officers getting interested so fast? Maybe it was due to the fact they lived in a small place and nothing much happened, but still, I would have felt it more realistic had it waited a little longer to get moving, especially with the press!
Then comes the husband. You know how much I love to suspect them, but here, we have a case of a caring man hoping and wishing, doing his best to get his wife back. Keeping him so close to the case, bringing him along, bothered me a little. I’m a sucker for rules and for keeping families away. Weirdly, cops taking liberties with procedures when needed is okay, but civilians… Too risky!

There was something subtle that happened in a marriage, he thought.

I really enjoyed the different narratives that allows the reader to grab snippets of the lives of everyone involved. Justin is a police officer I really found interesting, his personal story was a nice breather between difficult times brought by the main plot! I really felt for him and the consequences life choices can have on a family. His relationship with his wife was subtle and spot-on, and I was rooting for some happiness, or at least relief, in this horrendous “adventure.”

What I thought would be a simple case of kidnapping turned into a survival race and the perfect setting to test someone’s limits. Add a dose of family issues, things untold, and dangerous people, and you have a steady story with the exploration of different sides of everything. A kidnapping turning wrong, tension and money rising, the fight for survival, everything was settled to make me believe the story would follow a set of rules… Then I was surprised! There are layers to Gone Missing and the descriptive writing takes you to the limits of the mind and body, life and reality. Action, blood, twists, you get it all!

On the other hand, maybe it was in such circumstances that true character was revealed.

There is a lot of potential in the book and the pleasure to be taken on a trip you’re not expecting is a great point! My hope for more realism was not fulfilled but it might just be me unable to let go of this fatal element!

Gone Missing is a different and addictive kind of abduction story, muddy, tackling the slow and fast sides of kidnapping cases (the waiting of families VS the fight from the kidnapped part!!!) in a great balance, dangerous and scary, a real good-time book! Well, at least for the reader!!!

You can now find the book on Amazon!

 

16 thoughts on “Blog Blitz! Gone Missing by T.J Brearton @BreartonTJ @bookouture

  1. This sounds intense. I like what you mentioned about the case being layered with so much going on. Characterization(esp Justin) also sounds great. Definitely one for my TBR.

    Like

  2. haha well if this book makes me feel good about no longer going jogging, then I’m down 😉 This sounds like a really entertaining read- and I like the sound of the tension, even if the police getting into gear was quicker than it realistically would’ve been. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s