Posted in Book Reviews

Seeking Justice: Dead To Me by Stephen Edger @StephenEdger @bookouture #BlogTour

dead to meTitle: Dead to Me
Author: Stephen Edger
Publisher: Bookouture
Genre: crime, thriller
Date of publication: August 17th 2017
Format: eARC
Number of pages: 352
Rating: ⭐⭐⭐ and a half

How do you catch a killer who knows your every move?

The woman lay flat on the table, her face to one side, her wrists bound with thick tape. Deep scratches marked the wood beneath her fingers, now resting cold and still…

When a woman’s body is found in an abandoned bar near the Southampton docks, Detective Kate Matthews is called in to lead the investigation. She must solve this case to prove she is coping with the death of a close colleague.

Kate knows a pile of ripped up newspaper cuttings discovered at the victim’s house must be a piece of the puzzle, but her team keep hitting dead-ends… Until she finds a disturbing clue that convinces her of three things: The murder is linked to the body of a man found hanging in a warehouse, she is on the hunt for a calculated serial killer, and the killer is watching her every move.

Kate realises there will be another victim soon, and that her own life is in grave danger, but no one else believes her theory. Can she find and stop the most twisted killer of her career, before another life is lost?

An absolutely NAIL-BITING thriller that will keep you guessing to the very last page. Perfect for fans of Robert Dugoni, James Patterson and MJ Arlidge.

my-review-red

First of all, I need to find the same coat as in the cover!

What does justice mean to you and how far would you be willing to go for it? Dead to Me explores the depth and holes of the system, the betrayal, the plans, everything that can make justice slip off the fingers and vanish without a trace.

This book keeps you busy! Different investigations, different members of the police force to deal with, different suspects, different places. You need a bit of concentration to follow the tightly weaved plot the author came up with! I loved this hustle and bustle and the competition between the D.Is. Belonging to the same force doesn’t mean everyone gets along or that everyone is nice. Personalities are different and the several confrontations were a welcome addition to the cases, adding a tension so tangible you could already almost touch it with your finger!!!

Our main character does have quite a history and her position in Southampton is not welcomed by everyone. The details of her arrival are sketchy and from the beginning, I felt Kate was a free and dangerous grenade. Her heart is at the right place, but her mind and her issues mix and make her quite unreliable as a police officer in my opinion! She was quick to jump to conclusions and I often questioned or disagreed with her decisions. Still, I enjoyed reading her battle against the devil, against herself, against others. It was very interesting and I hope to get to know her better in her next adventure! I felt that even if it fell into the “main character being a cop and having so many issues”, it was different and original. Kate won’t please everyone, but she couldn’t care less!

The case, or should I say cases, are intricate and take you on a chase for clues that can drive you crazy! The book was at the perfect length. I would have started being annoyed if the author had decided to make things drag more. The balance was good and kept me gripped and riddled with doubts, and I only dared thinking I knew who was the culprit just before the book got to the point, so yay for me being a fabulous detective, and yay for the author for keeping me in the dark so long!

Dead to Me is taut and explosive crime story which makes you question the very boundaries of justice.

Dead to Me was released a couple of days ago! Find the book on
Amazon UK or Amazon US!

A massive thank you to Bookouture for the opportunity to read and review this book as part of the blog tour!

Check the other stops on the tour!

Dead to me Blog Tour.jpg

about-the-author-red

Stephen Edger Profile photo (b&w)

Stephen Edger is a British crime writer, who has been writing since 2010. In that time he has written and published eleven novels, and five short stories. He writes mysteries and thrillers focused on crime.
Stephen was born in the north-east of England, grew up in London, but has lived in Southampton since attending university in the year 2000. Stephen works in the financial industry, and uses his insider knowledge to create the plots of his books. He also has a law degree, which gives him a good understanding of the inner workings of the UK justice system.

Stephen is married, and has two children, and two dogs. He is passionate about reading and writing, and cites Simon Kernick and John Grisham as major influences on his writing style.

Find Stephen on his site, Twitter, and Facebook!

22 thoughts on “Seeking Justice: Dead To Me by Stephen Edger @StephenEdger @bookouture #BlogTour

  1. The cover of this is pretty amazing isn’t it! The book sounds like just the kind of gripping thriller that I would enjoy, a detective with issues and theories that others don’t believe and a few dead bodies scattered along the way.
    I like it when I can guess the killer only just before its revealed, too much before spoils it a bit. And if its too much of a shock, you have to go back and consider all the clues, which is good too. But I get a feeling of smug-ness if I can guess just before!
    Great review for an excellent sounding book.
    Amanda

    Like

  2. Great review for this book Meggy, and I’m glad you ended up enjoying this one as well. It sounds like there’s a lot going on in Dead to Me with the different investigation, but it doesn’t seem like the character development suffered. Kate’s an intriguing character, and I hope you enjoy the next book in this series as well. 🙂
    Also good luck finding the coat on the cover! 😀

    Like

    1. True! But at least I’d be recognizable in the grey floods of people in downtown Bordeaux, haha! The book was very interesting and had something different that was good. I’m looking forward to the next story to see where the author wants to lead us! Thank you so much for stopping by! x

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Interesting to see that the multiple investigations/police officer point of views didn’t ruin the experience. Your warning of a need for concentration for this book is definitely a nice heads up! Great review, Meggy! 😀

    Like

  4. Great review Meggy. I have read a few reviews of this book and most readers seem to have issues with Kate and some just didn’t like her. I like what you said about her personality though and that bit about her not caring if she doesn’t please everyone had me laughing. This does sound quite interesting.

    Like

  5. Yay your Dead To Me review! I agree I would love a coat like that as well. 😉 And I’m so happy Kate didn’t bother you as much! That definitely makes it a lot easier to enjoy the story… Lovely review as always. ❤

    Like

  6. This sounds like a fun ride- even if the mc fell into the “main character being a cop and having so many issues” trope (I don’t know if that’s technically a trope- but I’ve seen it so many times- I think it makes sense) Great review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s