Posted in Book Talk, Guest Post

Gone Without a Trace: Reported Missing by Sarah Wray @bookouture @Sarah_Wray #BlogTour

One thing is not missing, it’s today’s post as a part of the blog tour for Sarah Wray’s Reported Missing book by Bookouture! Thank you to the publisher for offering me to be a part of this tour!

Reported Missing Cover Image
Title: Reported Missing
Author: Sarah Wray
Publisher: Bookouture
Date of publication: July 14th 2017
Format: Digital Review Copy
Source: NetGalley
Number of pages: 346
Rating and review to come on Monday! 

Four months ago, Rebecca Pendle’s husband disappeared. So did 14-year- old Kayleigh Jackson.

Just a coincidence? Rebecca wants to believe so… But as the police start to draw parallels between Chris and Kayleigh, it’s getting harder for her to trust his innocence. Faced with an angry town that believes Chris has abducted the teenager, Rebecca tries to discover the truth. But what she finds shocks her more than she ever thought. How well does she really know the man she loves?

A completely gripping, suspenseful thriller, with a shocking twist. Fans of Louise Jensen, K.L Slater and and The Girl on the Train will be hooked until the very last page.

extract

For the first extract, jump to Kristen’s blog here!

Extract number 2!

…I just see limbs and bobbing heads, then dark shapes running away towards the park entrance.

I go back inside and lock the door. Knees pulled up to my chest, I sit in the caravan in the dark, shivering, my heart thumping, for what seems like hours. I can’t calm down. Things have been quieter recently. Why again now, all of a sudden? I think back to earlier this evening; a phone call.

Silence, breathing. Wrong number, I tried to tell myself. But it was like before, when it first happened. I check the doors and windows one last time. I keep the lights out to hide any silhouette and push a chair in front of the door with cups and saucers crowded on the seat. Above each window, I carefully balance knives and spoons. Should anyone come back, I need to know straight away. I am ready.  

Finally, after this procedure is complete, I can rest a little easier, at least enough to just lie here in some sort of peace. The world always feels like it’s swimming slightly these days, my eyes are gritty and hot at the rims.

Despite its dingy furnishings – the faded, garish cushion coverings and the stark little gas fire, there’s something about life in the caravan that is soothing; it’s like playing shops or post office as a child. The compact space and the dual-purpose furniture are comforting, the smaller versions of chairs and appliances.

I had felt safer here. And it is too painful to be at the house, the credit-card promotions and pizza offers still arriving with his name on, his acoustic guitar propped against the wall. 

When I block out for the briefest moments why I ended up here, I have a fleeting feeling of serenity. Then it slams back in, I’m falling asleep, then I’m tripping over and falling off the cliffs, awake. 

He is still gone. Chris, my husband. Almost four months now. 112 days.

I rearrange the crockery on the chair once more, making sure it clatters if I nudge the chair even slightly. I pour myself half a mug of vodka, pull on my woolly hat and crawl under the covers, shivering.

I have to remove a glove; the phone requires a human touch. Then there he is, warm and alive, lying out on a picnic rug, squinting from the sun, pushing the camera away with mock coyness.

I play the video again.     


 

Does it make you want to keep reading? I really like this part, it’s creepy, the perfect way to end this tour! Please go check Ginger Book Geek’s stop today too and why not visit the previous stops to read more about Reported Missing?

Reported-Missing-Blog-Tour Graphic


about-the-author-red

sarah wray author pic

Sarah Wray is originally from Yorkshire but now lives in Newcastle-upon- Tyne where she works as a technology writer and editor. She won a Northern Writers Award (Arvon Award) in 2015 for an early version of her first novel.

 

You can find Sarah on Twitter, Facebook, or her website.

24 thoughts on “Gone Without a Trace: Reported Missing by Sarah Wray @bookouture @Sarah_Wray #BlogTour

  1. This sounds like an interesting book, and I’ll admit the excerpt has certainly grabbed my attention as well, but I remember what you said in your This Week in Books post yesterday about how this book wasn’t really what you expected. Now I think I’m just even more curious to see your review for Report Missing Meggy! 😀

    Like

  2. This book… Mh… I am still waiting for your review though I read Yvo’s already. Using your words, If the Time Lords allow, I will read it in early August.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s