Posted in This week in books

This Week In Books (July 19th 2017)

thisweekinbooks

This Week In Books is a weekly update on what you’ve been reading hosted by Lipsyy Lost & Found . A similar meme is hosted by Sam @ Taking on a World of Words.

It’s been so long since my last TWIB post that I’ll only add the very last reads I’ve had!

∧ Then ∧ 

Cursed, Thomas Enger

CURSED AW.indd

When Hedda Hellberg fails to return from a retreat in Italy, where she has been grieving for her recently dead father, her husband discovers that his wife’s life is tangled in mystery. Hedda never left Oslo, the retreat has no record of her and, what’s more, she appears to be connected to the death of an old man, gunned down on the first day of the hunting season in the depths of the Swedish forests. Henning Juul becomes involved in the case when his ex-wife joins in the search for the missing woman, and the estranged pair find themselves enmeshed both in the murky secrets of one of Sweden’s wealthiest families, and in the painful truths surrounding the death of their own son. With the loss of his son to deal with, as well as threats to his own life and to that of his ex-wife, Juul is prepared to risk everything to uncover a sinister maze of secrets that ultimately leads to the dark heart of European history.

Review coming on Saturday! I cannot wait!! Can you guess if I liked it? :p

Reported Missing, Sarah Wray

Reported Missing Cover Image

Four months ago, Rebecca Pendle’s husband disappeared. So did 14-year-old Kayleigh Jackson.

Just a coincidence? Rebecca wants to believe so… But as the police start to draw parallels between Chris and Kayleigh, it’s getting harder for her to trust his innocence.

Faced with an angry town that believes Chris has abducted the teenager, Rebecca tries to discover the truth.

But what she finds shocks her more than she ever thought. How well does she really know the man she loves?

A completely gripping, suspenseful thriller, with a shocking twist. Fans of Louise Jensen, K.L Slater and and The Girl on the Train will be hooked until the very last page.

Because there’s an exception to everything, this book did not win my heart! Learn why next Monday!

Verdict of Twelve, Raymond Postgate

verdict of twelve

 

 

A woman is on trial for her life, accused of murder. Each of the 12 members of the jury has his or her own burden of guilt and prejudice which could effect the outcome. Hailed as one of the best mysteries of the year when it was first published in 1940, this book has become a classic of the genre.

Nope. Your eyes did not deceive you, this is a classic!! You’ll have to wait for another Quickies to get my review, but I enjoyed it!

 

The Lost Wife (also known as Since You’ve Been Gone), Anna Mansell 

since youve been gone.jpg

How do you live without the one you love?

Since Rachel lost her mother she has drifted through life, never settling down. Then she meets Ed, recently widowed and with a new baby, and is compelled to help him and his son.

Ed is struggling to cope, and his friends and family all tiptoe around his grief. Rachel is the only one who sees him as more than just a widower, and the pair soon grow close.

Then Rachel discovers something Ed’s wife was hiding from him – something that changes everything. But she knows that memories of lost loved ones are precious, and should be protected at all costs…

Can Rachel help Ed learn to live in a world where his wife is no longer around to tell her side of the story? And can Ed help Rachel to finally open her heart to a happy future?

Since You’ve Been Gone is a compelling and poignant story about love, loss, and family secrets, perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes, Dani Atkins, and Kelly Rimmer.

Feelings. My feelings!!!!

≈ Now ≈ Till the Dust Settles 

til the dust settles FINAL

The lives of two women who never meet are about to collide.

Lucie married young. Her husband has become abusive, controlling and violent.  Having lost everything as a result of the marriage, Lucie decides it is time to walk away.

As she leaves the house on the morning of September 11th, heading to a job interview at the World Trade Centre and the promise of a new life, the unthinkable happens.

On a street in New York, choking on the dust, Lucie stumbles upon an opportunity for a new life.

She thought the grass would be greener. But starting again is never that simple…

Sometimes, what lies ahead is even more deadly. 

This sounded too good to miss out on the opportunity to read it!

∨ Next ∨ The Girls in the Water, Victoria Jenkins

The Girls In The Water cover image.jpg

‘The first one had been an accident. He had never intended to kill her. But as he looked down at her body, he knew there would be a next one…’ 

When the body of Lola Evans is found in a local park on a cold winter’s morning, Detective Alex King and her new recruit Chloe Lane are called in to lead the hunt for the killer. 

Days later, a second girl goes missing. It seems the two shared a troubled history, and were members of the same support group. Who is the monster preying on these vulnerable girls? 

As the detectives start to piece together the clues, Chloe realises that she too is in danger – as she uncovers secrets about her own brother’s death which someone will kill to keep hidden. 

Alex and Chloe are determined to find the killer before more lives are lost… 

That’s it for this week! What’s on your reading list? Let me know!!

39 thoughts on “This Week In Books (July 19th 2017)

  1. Looking forward to your review of Cursed 🙂 I am worried about Reported Missing. Its on my July TBR but I have been hesitant to pick it because of the reviews so far. I will look out for your review of it though. Enjoy your books this week. Happy reading 🙂

    Like

  2. Well I’ve liked Cursed so I’m pretty sure you did too :-). I’m pretty interested in Since You’ve Been Gone too, especially when I see it is perfect for fans of Dani Atkins (my newly discovered author for giving me all the feels) and Jojo Moyes !

    Like

  3. So many good books there, and lots of reviews to look forward to. I am intrigued as to why you didn’t like ‘Reported Missing’ so much! The blurb sounds great, but as you say, always exceptions. I get the feeling you loved the Scandi Noir book! I can expect a raving review on Saturday.
    Amanda. x

    Like

    1. I know, I was writing the post and smiling at all the great stories I was adding 😀 Reported Missing was such a difficult review to write, I still can’t believe I did not enjoy it, as the blurb has everything I like! Cursed was… as special as its author! :p xxx

      Like

  4. Glad to hear you enjoyed Verdict of Twelve since I’m looking forward to reading it soon. I find these classics are addictive – the more I read of them, the more I enjoy them. I think they’re re-wiring my brain… 😉

    Like

  5. I love how you make me discover new books everytime with these posts my sweechie 🙂 I’m especially curious about Since you’ve been gone…especially with your little note at the end, FEELINGS. I am all for feelings, do tell!! 😛

    Like

  6. I’ll be looking forward to your Cursed and Reported Missing reviews! And psssst I’m reading The Girls In The Water soon as well. 😉 Enjoy your books this week and happy reading! ❤

    Like

  7. I was going to say you got through a lot of books this week Meggy, then I saw what you said at the beginning of your post that it’s been a while since you last posted in this feature. 😀 It seems like for the most part you really enjoyed them which is great to see, with the exception of Reported Missing, and I hope you continue to enjoy Till the Dust Settles and, when you get around to it, The Girls in the Water! 🙂 ❤

    Like

  8. You are reading classics 🙂 I need to do so more! I seem to read everything but haha. Aside from the Hobbit of course. The Girls in the Water has me hooked with that blurb. Will be keeping an eye out for your thoughts on that one. I have to admit also, that I love the covers with the sharply contrasting red ❤

    Like

  9. This week I have been mostly reading How To’s books for writer’s wishing to publish and rereading parts of my favourite novels (Ruin and Rising, ACOMAF, all books by Maham Fatemi on Wattpad etc.) Ugh I also went through writer’s block right after getting over my previous one; luckily it only lasted 2 days.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s