Posted in Book Reviews

Fly, Fly Higher: The Silent Kookaburra by Liza Perrat @LizaPerrat #BookReview

Today we’re flying over to Australia!

the silent kookaburra
Title: The Silent Kookaburra
Author: Liza Perrat
Date of publication: 2016
Format: Digital Review Copy
Source: Kindly provided by the author
Number of pages: 309
Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️and a half

All eleven-year-old Tanya Randall wants is a happy family. But Mum does nothing besides housework, Dad’s always down the pub and Nanna Purvis moans at everyone except her dog. Then Shelley arrives –– the miracle baby who fuses the Randall family in love for their little gumnut blossom.

Tanya’s life gets even better when she meets an uncle she didn’t know she had. He tells her she’s beautiful and could be a model. Her family refuses to talk about him. But that’s okay, it’s their little secret.

Then one blistering summer day tragedy strikes, and the surrounding mystery and suspicion tear apart this fragile family web. 

Embracing the social changes of 1970s Australia, against a backdrop of native fauna and flora, The Silent Kookaburra is a haunting exploration of the blessings, curses and tyranny of memory. 

Unsettling psychological suspense blending the intensity of Wally Lamb with the atmosphere of Peter James, this story will get under your skin.

Continue reading “Fly, Fly Higher: The Silent Kookaburra by Liza Perrat @LizaPerrat #BookReview”

Posted in Tags & Awards

Suntag: Anything But Books Tag!

Summer rhymes with fun, so does sun! Okay, I should stay away from the outdoors and get to the point! It’s time for a new Suntag! I was nominated by the ever lovely/talented/funny Orang-Utan Librarian and if you haven’t been there yet, you deserve a little slap on the hand! You’re missing out on amazing discussion posts, fabulous reviews that make me jealous (I wish I could analyze stories the way you do!!) and general awesomeness!

anything

Continue reading “Suntag: Anything But Books Tag!”

Posted in Book Reviews

Here Without You: The Lost Wife by Anna Mansell @bookouture @AnnaMansell #blogtour

Today on Chocolate’n’Waffles, no blood or serial killers. Today a precious story gets reviewed, and this little post is my thank you to Bookouture for inviting me to take part in this blog tour!

The-Lost-Wife-KindleTitle: The Lost Wife
Author: Anna Mansell
Publisher: Bookouture
Date of publication: July 28th 2017
Format: Digital Review Copy
Source: NetGalley
Number of pages: 307
Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

How do you live without the one you love?

Since Rachel lost her mother she has drifted through life, never settling down. Then she meets Ed, recently widowed and with a new baby, and is compelled to help him and his son.

Ed is struggling to cope, and his friends and family all tiptoe around his grief. Rachel is the only one who sees him as more than just a widower, and the pair soon grow close.

Then Rachel discovers something Ed’s wife was hiding from him – something that changes everything. But she knows that memories of lost loved ones are precious, and should be protected at all costs…

Can Rachel help Ed learn to live in a world where his wife is no longer around to tell her side of the story? And can Ed help Rachel to finally open her heart to a happy future?

Since You’ve Been Gone is a compelling and poignant story about love, loss, and family secrets, perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes, Dani Atkins, and Kelly Rimmer.

Continue reading “Here Without You: The Lost Wife by Anna Mansell @bookouture @AnnaMansell #blogtour”

Posted in Blogging Life, Vlog

And… Action! Chocolate’n’Waffles Goes Live!

Guys, I have a revelation for you. I am French! Yes, you probably already know this because of either something I’ve written here at some point that did not feel natural, or because you’ve read me complain about it! No more complaining, I’m taking the matter in both hands and adding a little fun to the blog with… videos!

going live.png

Continue reading “And… Action! Chocolate’n’Waffles Goes Live!”

Posted in Book Reviews, Guest Post

Yellow Lemon Tree: Broken Branches by M. Jonathan Lee #GuestPost @MJonathanLee @HideawayFall

Happy publication day to M. Jonathan Lee and his amazing story Broken Branches!

I am glad to have a special guest post for you today, but before we get to it, let’s take another look at the book!

broken branchesTitle: Broken Branches
Author: M. Jonathan Lee
Publisher: Hideaway Fall
Date of publication: July 2017
Format: Physical Review Copy
Source: Publisher
Number of pages: 294
Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Family curses don’t exist. Sure, some families seem to suffer more pain than others, but a curse? An actual curse? I don’t think so.’

A family tragedy was the catalyst for Ian Perkins to return to the isolated cottage with his wife and young son. But now they are back, it seems yet more grief might befall the family.

There is still time to act, but that means Ian must face the uncomfortable truth about his past. And in doing so, he must uncover the truth behind the supposed family curse.

Continue reading “Yellow Lemon Tree: Broken Branches by M. Jonathan Lee #GuestPost @MJonathanLee @HideawayFall”

Posted in Cover Reveal

Open the Curtain: Cold Blood by Robert Bryndza #CoverReveal @bookouture @RobertBryndza

What best way to end the day (or start it, depending on which time zone you’re in!!) than with a bloody fantastic cover reveal? You know how much I love covers, but I don’t fall so easily for them so when I agree for a reveal, you know it’s gonna be good…

cover reveal

Continue reading “Open the Curtain: Cold Blood by Robert Bryndza #CoverReveal @bookouture @RobertBryndza”

Posted in Book Reviews

Gone Without a Trace: Reported Missing by Sarah Wray

It’s finally time for me to share my thoughts on Reported Missing!

Reported Missing Cover Image
Title: Reported Missing
Author: Sarah Wray
Publisher: Bookouture
Date of publication: July 14th 2017
Format: Digital Review Copy
Source: NetGalley
Number of pages: 346
Rating: ⭐️⭐️

Four months ago, Rebecca Pendle’s husband disappeared. So did 14-year- old Kayleigh Jackson.

Just a coincidence? Rebecca wants to believe so… But as the police start to draw parallels between Chris and Kayleigh, it’s getting harder for her to trust his innocence. Faced with an angry town that believes Chris has abducted the teenager, Rebecca tries to discover the truth. But what she finds shocks her more than she ever thought. How well does she really know the man she loves?

A completely gripping, suspenseful thriller, with a shocking twist. Fans of Louise Jensen, K.L Slater and and The Girl on the Train will be hooked until the very last page.

Continue reading “Gone Without a Trace: Reported Missing by Sarah Wray”

Posted in Book Reviews

Lazy Saturday Review: Cursed by Thomas Enger @OrendaBooks @EngerThomas

I haven’t felt any pressure reviewing for a while, but this particular book had me on edge, looking for the right way to convey just how I felt, without going into details, without missing important points, or without forgetting all I wanted to say. Okay, I can hear you from here. What’s the difference with every other review? The book is different. That’s the key!

lazy-saturday-review

From LipsyyI started doing ‘lazy Saturday reviews’ as a way of getting reviews done in just 30 mins, and they proved to be quite popular. They are quick and snappy, and concentrate less on the plot (or content) and writing and more on my overall feelings about said book. They generally end up being a bit of a rant. My fave!

cursed.PNG
Title: Cursed
Author: Thomas Enger
Translation: Kari Dickson
Publisher: Orenda Books
Date of publication: May 1st 2017 (paperback)
Format: Paperback
Number of pages: 442
Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

When Hedda Hellberg fails to return from a retreat in Italy, where she has been grieving for her recently dead father, her husband discovers that his wife’s life is tangled in mystery. Hedda never left Oslo, the retreat has no record of her and, what’s more, she appears to be connected to the death of an old man, gunned down on the first day of the hunting season in the depths of the Swedish forests. Henning Juul becomes involved in the case when his ex-wife joins in the search for the missing woman, and the estranged pair find themselves enmeshed both in the murky secrets of one of Sweden’s wealthiest families, and in the painful truths surrounding the death of their own son. With the loss of his son to deal with, as well as threats to his own life and to that of his ex-wife, Juul is prepared to risk everything to uncover a sinister maze of secrets that ultimately leads to the dark heart of European history. 

Continue reading “Lazy Saturday Review: Cursed by Thomas Enger @OrendaBooks @EngerThomas”

Posted in Book Talk, Guest Post

Gone Without a Trace: Reported Missing by Sarah Wray @bookouture @Sarah_Wray #BlogTour

One thing is not missing, it’s today’s post as a part of the blog tour for Sarah Wray’s Reported Missing book by Bookouture! Thank you to the publisher for offering me to be a part of this tour!

Reported Missing Cover Image
Title: Reported Missing
Author: Sarah Wray
Publisher: Bookouture
Date of publication: July 14th 2017
Format: Digital Review Copy
Source: NetGalley
Number of pages: 346
Rating and review to come on Monday! 

Four months ago, Rebecca Pendle’s husband disappeared. So did 14-year- old Kayleigh Jackson.

Just a coincidence? Rebecca wants to believe so… But as the police start to draw parallels between Chris and Kayleigh, it’s getting harder for her to trust his innocence. Faced with an angry town that believes Chris has abducted the teenager, Rebecca tries to discover the truth. But what she finds shocks her more than she ever thought. How well does she really know the man she loves?

A completely gripping, suspenseful thriller, with a shocking twist. Fans of Louise Jensen, K.L Slater and and The Girl on the Train will be hooked until the very last page.

Continue reading “Gone Without a Trace: Reported Missing by Sarah Wray @bookouture @Sarah_Wray #BlogTour”