Posted in This week in books

This Week in Books (June 28th 2017)

thisweekinbooks

This Week In Books is a weekly update on what you’ve been reading hosted by Lipsyy Lost & Found . A similar meme is hosted by Sam @ Taking on a World of Words.

∧ Then ∧ 

Guilty, Laura Elliot

cover

It begins with a phone call. It ends with a missing child.

On a warm summer’s morning, thirteen-year-old school girl Constance Lawson is reported missing.

A few days later, Constance’s uncle, Karl Lawson suddenly finds himself swept up in a media frenzy created by journalist Amanda Bowe implying that he is the prime suspect.

Six years later …

Karl’s life is in ruins. His marriage is over, his family destroyed. But the woman who took everything away from him is thriving. With a successful career, husband and a gorgeous baby boy, Amanda’s world is complete. Until the day she receives a phone call and in a heartbeat, she is plunged into every mother’s worst nightmare.

An utterly compelling psychological thriller that will keep you guessing to the very last page. Perfect for fans of Louise Jensen, Claire Douglas and Sarah Denzil’s Silent Child.

A book that surprised me, revolted me, and had me turn into a dark and revengeful lady!

Curves, Kisses, and Chocolate Ice Cream, Sue Watson

curves.jpg

Dani’s on a mission to get her life back on track by the end of the Summer. Running, rowing, aerobics and more, but perhaps all she needs are sweet treats and a second chance?

Twenty years ago, Dani fled Appledore with a broken-heart and a suitcase full of shattered dreams. Only now is she brave enough to put her past behind her and return for a summer selling homemade ice-cream and getting fit by doing sit-ups by the sea.

But the new-look cafe is filled with old memories of Jude, her teenage sweetheart-turned-sour. She thinks of him every time she swirls warm sauce onto a “chocolate-bockaglory” and even with the help of Chris, her gorgeous personal trainer, the urge to break her diet is everywhere she turns.

When Jude makes an appearance at the cafe on the eve of Dani’s birthday party, history threatens to repeat itself. Is Dani strong enough to say no? And is the love she’s been longing for much closer than she thinks?

A truly delicious, laugh out loud beach read that’s guaranteed to melt your heart. Perfect for fans of Lucy Diamond, Jenny Colgan and Debbie Johnson.

Such a lovely read for the summer!

≈ Now ≈

The Raven King, Maggie Stiefvater

the raven king.jpg

The fourth and final installment in the spellbinding series from the irrepressible, #1 New York Times bestselling author Maggie Stiefvater.

All her life, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love’s death. She doesn’t believe in true love and never thought this would be a problem, but as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.

I have been reading this for days, I just don’t feel the magic anymore, and even the characters can’t keep me reading for more than a few chapters at a time.

66 Metres, J.F. Kirwan

66 metres.jpg

The only thing worth killing for is family.

Everyone said she had her father’s eyes. A killer’s eyes. Nadia knew that on the bitterly cold streets of Moscow, she could never escape her past – but in just a few days, she would finally be free.

Bound to work for Kadinsky for five years, she has just one last mission to complete. Yet when she is instructed to capture The Rose, a military weapon shrouded in secrecy, Nadia finds herself trapped in a deadly game of global espionage.

And the only man she can trust is the one sent to spy on her…

After a little fight to convert this on a .mobi file, I’m finally reading this! The formatting makes it less easy to read so I’m not super fast!

∨ Next ∨

The Silent Kookaburra, Liza Perrat 

the silent kookaburra

All eleven-year-old Tanya Randall wants is a happy family. But Mum does nothing besides housework, Dad’s always down the pub and Nanna Purvis moans at everyone except her dog. Then Shelley arrives –– the miracle baby who fuses the Randall family in love for their little gumnut blossom.

Tanya’s life gets even better when she meets an uncle she didn’t know she had. He tells her she’s beautiful and could be a model. Her family refuses to talk about him. But that’s okay, it’s their little secret.

Then one blistering summer day tragedy strikes, and the surrounding mystery and suspicion tear apart this fragile family web.

Embracing the social changes of 1970s Australia, against a backdrop of native fauna and flora, The Silent Kookaburra is a haunting exploration of the blessings, curses and tyranny of memory.

Unsettling psychological suspense blending the intensity of Wally Lamb with the atmosphere of Peter James, this story will get under your skin.

That’s it for this week! What’s on your reading list? Let me know!!

29 thoughts on “This Week in Books (June 28th 2017)

  1. I’ve heard the Raven King is not that great. It’s actually the thing that’s put me off reading the series. Maybe someday.

    Does sound like you have lots of other really great books on the go.

    Like

  2. Sorry the Raven King isn’t capturing you… it frustrated me more than anything bcause the conclusion was left until the veryvery end, but I still enjoyed the read… anyway, are you going to push till the end or just drop it? 🙂

    Like

  3. Oh no, I’m so sorry you’re not feeling connected with these Raven Boys anymore :/ I hope that somehow you’ll start feeling the magic again while reading! ❤

    Like

  4. Seems like you’ve had/you have a lot of books planned for this week Meggy! I’m glad you enjoyed Guilty, and Curves, Kisses, and Chocolate Ice-Cream really does seem like a perfect book for summer, but oh it’s a shame you’re not feeling the magic when it comes to The Raven King anymore. Will you finish it or do you reckon it’s going to be a DNF book for you?

    Like

    1. I’ve decided that unless I have lazy weeks forever, I’m gonna participate in this meme twice a month, so it looks like I’m reading a lot, haha! I will finish The Raven King just because I went into the hassle of reading the entire series so I don’t want to DNF the last book, but I am not enjoying it much. It explains my reading slump this week…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Sounds like a good plan, and if this was the first week you were combining two weeks worth of reading it definitely made it look like you were reading a lot. 🙂
        Well in that case I hope The Raven King gets better for you, and oh I really hope it doesn’t end up putting you in a reading slump Meggy!

        Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s