Posted in This week in books

This Week In Books (May 3nd 2017)

thisweekinbooks

This Week In Books is a weekly update on what you’ve been reading hosted by Lipsyy Lost & Found . A similar meme is hosted by Sam @ Taking on a World of Words.

∧ Then ∧ Two Lost Boys, Linda Robertson 

two lost boysJanet Moodie has spent years as a death row appeals attorney. Overworked and recently widowed, she’s had her fill of hopeless cases, and is determined that this will be her last. Her client is Marion ‘Andy’ Hardy, convicted along with his brother Emory of the rape and murder of two women. But Emory received a life sentence while Andy got the death penalty, labeled the ringleader despite his low IQ and Emory’s dominant personality.

Convinced that Andy’s previous lawyers missed mitigating evidence that would have kept him off death row, Janet investigates Andy’s past. She discovers a sordid and damaged upbringing, a series of errors on the part of his previous counsel, and most worrying of all, the possibility that there is far more to the murders than was first thought. Andy may be guilty, but does he deserve to die?

Gosh I had missed a good legal story!

≈ Now ≈ Block 46, Johana Gustawsson 

Block-46-vis-2-195x300

In Falkenberg, Sweden, the mutilated body of talented young jewelry designer Linnea Blix is found in a snow-swept marina. In Hampstead Heath, London, the body of a young boy is discovered with similar wounds to Linnea’s. Buchenwald Concentration Camp, 1944. In the midst of the hell of the Holocaust, Erich Hebner will do anything to see himself as a human again. Are the two murders the work of a serial killer, and how are they connected to shocking events at Buchenwald? Emily Roy, a profiler on loan to Scotland Yard from the Canadian Royal Mounted Police, joins up with Linnea’s friend, French true-crime writer Alexis Castells, to investigate the puzzling case. They travel between Sweden and London, and then deep into the past, as a startling and terrifying connection comes to light.

french block 46.jpg

Falkenberg, Suède. Le commissaire Bergström découvre le cadavre terriblement mutilé d’une femme.
Londres. Profileuse de renom, la ténébreuse Emily Roy enquête sur une série de meurtres d’enfants dont les corps présentent les mêmes blessures que la victime suédoise : trachée sectionnée, yeux énucléés et un mystérieux Y gravé sur le bras.
Étrange serial killer, qui change de lieu de chasse et de type de proie…
En Suède, Emily retrouve une vieille connaissance : Alexis Castells, une écrivaine pleine de charme spécialisée dans les tueurs en série. Ensemble, ces deux personnalités discordantes se lancent dans une traque qui va les conduire jusqu’aux atrocités du camp de Buchenwald, en 1944.

Look at the lucky lady who gets to read this beauty in both languages!

∨ Next ∨ Annie’s Lovely Choir by the Sea, Liz Eeles

annie's lovely choir

Prepare to be whisked away to the Cornish seaside, where clear blue skies, crashing waves, and a welcoming choir await you.

Annie Trebarwith has no family to tie her down, and she likes it that way. But when a letter arrives, unexpectedly inviting her to visit her great aunt Alice in her family’s ancestral home, curiosity gets the better of her and she travels to deepest Cornwall to meet the family she’s never known.

Salt Bay is beautiful and Tregavara House imposing – but there’s no phone signal and some of the locals, like the gorgeous but brooding Josh, are incredibly grumpy. But Alice’s poor health compels Annie to stay, so to keep herself busy she relaunches the Salt Bay Choral Society.

Annie is surprised to see how much the choir means to the community, and she even starts to break through Josh’s surly exterior. As she begins to put down roots in Salt Bay, Annie soon realises that there’s a lot to be said for finding the place where you belong after all…

Annie’s Lovely Choir by the Sea is a heartwarming story about family, belonging and the healing power of music, perfect for fans of Alex Brown, Rachael Lucas and Carole Matthews.

And to finish, a little change in scenery. This sounds like the perfect holiday read!

That’s it for this week! What’s on your reading list? Let me know!

41 thoughts on “This Week In Books (May 3nd 2017)

  1. Your books are so different this week. Legal, crime thriller and a contemporary read. They all sound great. I am especially curious about the first book since I haven’t read a legal thriller in a while.How are you going to read the Block 46 though? Will you read both versions?

    Enjoy all the books. Happy reading.

    Like

    1. I know, it makes me excited to see the diversity of stories! And it helps with the reviews, it’s much easier to write on different genres in a row!
      I read Block 46 in English first to give the translation a fair chance, or my brain would have replaced many things by the French version, and then I read the French version carefully to study the author’s style. I couldn’t help compare the two versions because of my background in translation, and it was very interesting! I am among the few people who can actually feel anything wrong in their second language when usually you’re only aware of translation details in your own language. That means I spent hours comparing for fun xD

      Like

  2. I love reading in parallel in two languages. I did that with Maylis de Kerangal ‘Reparer les vivants’ and it was beautiful (as well as really useful). Lucky you!

    Like

  3. ‘Two Lost Boys’ sounds like something I would enjoy. I used to write to a man on a death row through Amnesty International and it’s a topic I’ve gotten into some very heated debates about. It sounds like an interesting read!
    Hope you have a good reading week (and a good week in general!) 🙂

    Like

    1. Two Lost Boys raises very good questions about the death penalty and the entire system, as well as the place of luck and the strength for the right lawyer in those cases. It was very interesting, and I love the legalese as I am a former Law student 🙂
      Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Sounds like some good books. Legal thrillers are my favourite at the moment. So I look forward to your review of Two Lost Boys. I am also intrigued by your thoughts on the translation of the book in French and English.
    Happy reading Donna.
    Amanda. xx

    Like

    1. Two Lost Boys was a book I couldn’t resist, and I loved the intense take on law we get in it and the questions the subject raises. The translation comparisons I have done have been exhausting because I still can’t shake the believe I can’t judge something written by a native English speaker, but I’m getting there!
      Happy reading to you too, dearest xx

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I hope you’re enjoying (if that’s the right word given the subject matter) Block 46. I finished it this week and reviewed it today – I thought it was absolutely brilliant. I’m really interested to read your review when you’ve read the book in the original and translation to see how they compare. Two Lost Boys sounds like an interesting read, I’m going to look out for that one. Hope you enjoy all your reading this week! 🙂

    Like

    1. Yeah enjoying is not a word I’m gonna use in my review!!! But it was a fantastic read! I lost the habit of compared translating so it was a bit hard for me to read in both versions but I discovered I do have an eye for details that is required in this field 🙂
      Two Lost Boys was a great jump back into the legal system! xxx

      Like

      1. That’s great that you discovered you have an eye for the detail required in translating books – another skill to add to your list 🙂 It makes me wish I could speak another language so that I could experience a foreign book in the original as well as the translation. xx

        Like

  6. Well these all sound like interesting books Donna. I’m glad to see you enjoyed Two Lost Boys, and I hope you enjoy Block 46. I kind of think it’s amazing you can read one book in two different languages! I’d love to learn another language, and I’m actually currently learning one but it’s slow going. It’ll be a while before I can read a book in another language let’s put it that way! 🙂
    Annie’s Lovely Choir by the Sea does seem like a change of pace from the other books you featured this week but hopefully it will be a fun read! 😀

    Like

    1. Two Lost Boys was a real nice treat because I missed legal crime stories 🙂 and this one was a bit different 🙂 Block 46 was a real reading experiment, with the two different versions to read, enjoy, compare and judge! Oh, what language are you learning? If you don’t mind my asking of course 🙂 I remember feeling the same way when I started Japanese!
      I’m really hoping for a quiet and nice break with the Lovely Choir 🙂 before I jump back into dark waters! xxx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. At least you managed to get back to that genre then. Are there differences between the two versions then, I guess there would have to be subtle ones in terms of the language but are there bigger differences than that? I’m trying to learn Italian, here’s hoping I can pick up more as the time goes by because I’d love to be able to speak another language. 🙂

        Like

        1. Well, there are bound to be differences in terms of cultural references and all, but not so much here, the French touch can be felt, and it’s interesting to think about the translator’s choices. There are definitely no big differences between the two versions, you get the same deal 🙂
          Good luck with Italian! I can’t help with this one haha! I love being able to speak two other languages, it makes me feel like I can go anywhere and communicate 🙂 xx

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Oh yeah I get that, sometimes I notice pieces of that when comparing the UK edition of books I own to the US editions. That is good to hear, still must have been interesting reading the book twice in different languages as well! 🙂
            Thanks, I’m gonna need all the luck I can get! 😀

            Like

  7. As you already know, you’ve made me feel jealous you’re reading Block 46. It sounds SO good! And in two different languages as well… Lucky you. 😉 ❤

    Like

  8. Feels like it has been an eternity since I’ve heard from you!! :O :O Love the books you’re currently reading. Do you do that often? Read the same book, in English and French, one after the other (or simultaneously)? That’s got to be reallllly interesting! Happy reading Donna 😀

    Like

    1. Welcome back my dear 😀
      Nope, it’s the first time I’m reading both the original and translated work of an author. I just couldn’t resist, it’s an Orenda Author and she’s lovely. Also, I was curious to know if I had forgotten all of my Translation studies knowledge, haha! It’s fascinating to check and interpret the choices of the translator as well as appreciating the original version. Happy reading to you too! xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s