Posted in Book Reviews

And… Action: Reconciliation For The Dead by @Hardisty_Paul @OrendaBooks #BlogTour

I am so excited to be part of the explosive blog tour for the amazing Reconciliation for the Dead by Paul E. Hardisty, who once again achieved the miracle of keeping me hooked on an action thriller!
My review will be shorter as we are dealing with a series and the less you know, the better it is!

reconciliation for the deadTitle: Reconciliation for the Dead
Author: Paul E. Hardisty
Publisher: Orenda Books
Date of publication: May 2017
Format: eARC
Number of pages: 346
Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐ and a half

Fresh from events in Yemen and Cyprus, vigilante justice-seeker Claymore Straker returns to South Africa, seeking absolution for the sins of his past. Over four days, he testifies to Desmond Tutu’s newly established Truth and Reconciliation Commission, recounting the shattering events that led to his dishonourable discharge and exile, fifteen years earlier. It was 1980. The height of the Cold War. Clay is a young paratrooper in the South African Army, fighting in Angola against the Communist insurgency that threatens to topple the White Apartheid regime. On a patrol deep inside Angola, Clay, and his best friend, Eben Barstow, find themselves enmeshed in a tangled conspiracy that threatens everything they have been taught to believe about war, and the sacrifices that they, and their brothers in arms, are expected to make. Witness and unwitting accomplice to an act of shocking brutality, Clay changes allegiance and finds himself labelled a deserter and accused of high treason, setting him on a journey into the dark, twisted heart of institutionalised hatred, from which no one will emerge unscathed. Exploring true events from one of the most hateful chapters in South African history, Reconciliation for the Dead is a shocking, explosive and gripping thriller from one finest writers in contemporary crime fiction.

Continue reading “And… Action: Reconciliation For The Dead by @Hardisty_Paul @OrendaBooks #BlogTour”

Posted in Book Reviews, Mental Health

Blog Therapy n°3: Why I Blabber On and On about Small Victories and You Should Too.

Your brain is not always your friend. I don’t know if it is just me, but I have a tendency to keep the bad memories in store, clear and loud, in my head, rather than the good things. I’m gonna remember the stupid biker who tried to run me over but not the nice walk I had. I’m gonna keep the feelings of anxiety I felt after a three-hour amazing out-of-comfort-zone time. The bad days are always lurking in the back of my mind, like monsters with claws ready to get me back to the bad places I go when I’m not feeling good.

blabber.png

Continue reading “Blog Therapy n°3: Why I Blabber On and On about Small Victories and You Should Too.”

Posted in Book Reviews, The French Way

The French Way: Block 46 de Johana Gustawsson @JoGustawsson @BragelonneFR #auteurfavori

The french way.png

French Inside / Du français dans cet article!

Dear reader, if you don’t speak French, you can stop reading right now. You see, I fell in love with a book, and I found a new favorite author. The thing is, the book was originally written in French, and I felt weird reviewing it only in English. After all, I am French, I want to support my fellow patriots, and no one one Amazon France will understand the English version of my review. This is why I wrote a … well, something that looks like a review, in my native language. It’s definitely not as good as my English ones (not that there are THAT good!) but it’s a little something to thank Johana Gustawsson for reminding me to be proud to be French when it comes to literature.

I could have chosen to post it on Goodreads and Amazon only, but my blog is about what I feel and what I live. I lived Block 46 and it had an impact on me. So I’m making an exception and writing a post in French. Well, I just reread myself and so far it’s been English all along… French below!

french block 46Titre: Block 46
Auteur: Johana Gustawsson
Editeur: Bragelonne
Date of publication: 2015
Format: format poche
Nombre de pages: 336
Note: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Falkenberg, Suède. Le commissaire Bergström découvre le cadavre terriblement mutilé d’une femme.
Londres. Profileuse de renom, la ténébreuse Emily Roy enquête sur une série de meurtres d’enfants dont les corps présentent les mêmes blessures que la victime suédoise : trachée sectionnée, yeux énucléés et un mystérieux Y gravé sur le bras.
Étrange serial killer, qui change de lieu de chasse et de type de proie…
En Suède, Emily retrouve une vieille connaissance : Alexis Castells, une écrivaine pleine de charme spécialisée dans les tueurs en série. Ensemble, ces deux personnalités discordantes se lancent dans une traque qui va les conduire jusqu’aux atrocités du camp de Buchenwald, en 1944.

Continue reading “The French Way: Block 46 de Johana Gustawsson @JoGustawsson @BragelonneFR #auteurfavori”

Posted in Book Reviews

Sing Along: Annie’s Lovely Choir by the Sea by Liz Eeles @lizeelesauthor @bookouture #BlogTour

I’m really happy to share my stop on the blog tour for Annie’s Lovely Choir by the Sea with Ali The Dragon Slayer!

annie's lovely choirTitle: Annie’s Lovely Choir by the Sea
Author: Liz Eeles
Publisher: Bookouture
Date of publication: May 18th 2017
Format: eARC
Number of pages: 331
Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

When twenty-nine-year-old Annie Trebarwith receives an unexpected letter from a great-aunt she’s never known, she leaves her shoebox-sized flat in London and catches a train to the rugged Cornish coast.

Salt Bay is beautiful and Annie begins to kindle a bond with her great-aunt Alice. Even though there is zero phone signal and the locals – including the gorgeous but brooding Josh Pasco – can be decidedly grumpy at times, Annie starts to feel at home in Salt Bay.

Soon Annie’s love of music leads her to relaunch the Salt Bay Choral Society, and she’s surprised to see how just much the choir means to the community – and she even starts to break through Josh’s surly exterior…

But London is calling Annie back, and she has to make a decision. Give up her old life completely, or leave Salt Bay, her new-found family – and the choir – behind?

Annie’s Lovely Choir by the Sea is a heart-warming story about family, belonging and the healing power of music, perfect for fans of Jo Thomas, Holly Martin and Carole Matthews.

Continue reading “Sing Along: Annie’s Lovely Choir by the Sea by Liz Eeles @lizeelesauthor @bookouture #BlogTour”

Posted in Book Reviews

Dartense: the dark/intense Block 46 by Johana Gustawsson #BlogTour @OrendaBooks @JoGustawsson

I can finally open my mouth and let go of all the feelings Block 46 stirred in me! It was hell not to share, and the story is still so vivid in my mind. Let’s unleash the beast… Or beasts.

block 46Title: Block 46
Author: Johana Gustawsson
Publisher: Orenda Books
Date of publication: May 15th 2017
Format: eARC
Number of pages: 300
Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Evil remembers…

Falkenberg, Sweden. The mutilated body of talented young jewellery designer, Linnea Blix, is found in a snow-swept marina. Hampstead Heath, London. The body of a young boy is discovered with similar wounds to Linnea’s. Buchenwald Concentration Camp, 1944. In the midst of the hell of the Holocaust, Erich Hebner will do anything to see himself as a human again. Are the two murders the work of a serial killer, and how are they connected to shocking events at Buchenwald? Emily Roy, a profiler on loan to Scotland Yard from the Canadian Royal Mounted Police, joins up with Linnea’s friend, French truecrime writer Alexis Castells, to investigate the puzzling case. They travel between Sweden and London, and then deep into the past, as a startling and terrifying connection comes to light. Plumbing the darkness and the horrific evidence of the nature of evil, Block 46 is a multi-layered, sweeping and evocative thriller that heralds a stunning new voice in French Noir.

Continue reading “Dartense: the dark/intense Block 46 by Johana Gustawsson #BlogTour @OrendaBooks @JoGustawsson”

Posted in Book Reviews

Tipping the Scale of Justice: Two Lost Boys, LF Robertson #BlogTour @TitanBooks @laroquette88

I am very excited to be today’s stop on Titan Books’ blog tour for Two Lost Boys and I wish the author a fantastic publication day!

two lost boysTitle: Two Lost Boys
Author: L. F. Robertson
Publisher: Titan Books
Date of publication: May 16th 2017
Format: eARC
Number of pages: 352
Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Janet Moodie has spent years as a death row appeals attorney. Over-worked, underpaid, and recently widowed, she’s had her fill of hopeless cases, and is determined that this will be her last. Her client is Marion ‘Andy’ Hardy, convicted fifteen years ago along with his brother Emory of kidnapping, rape and murder of two prostitutes, but Janet discovers a series of errors made by his previous lawyers. Andy may well be guilty of something, but what?

Continue reading “Tipping the Scale of Justice: Two Lost Boys, LF Robertson #BlogTour @TitanBooks @laroquette88”