Posted in Guest Post, Interviews

#OrendaMonth The Team’s Tree:The Roots aka the amazingly talented Karen Sullivan @OrendaBooks

orenda-book-month

How does a tree live? What makes it so strong and beautiful? (Yes, I’m feeling poetic…) Its ROOTS of course! And the Orenda Books Tree is so lucky to have the amazing, sweet and very talented Karen Sullivan at its top. Or bottom, if I keep the roots thing. Anyway, you get the idea! The point here is that today you can find out more about the big boss in this special “5 Facts About” !

Continue reading “#OrendaMonth The Team’s Tree:The Roots aka the amazingly talented Karen Sullivan @OrendaBooks”

Posted in Book Talk

#OrendaMonth The Team’s Tree: The Branches (final part) @OrendaBooks

orenda-book-month

This is the end. I feel like quoting Adele and being dramatic. Here is the last bunch of awesome people working at Orenda Books and taking part in the 5 Facts posts! I have had a blast putting this facts and I hope you’ve enjoyed discovering more about Orenda Books’ fabulous authors as much as I did!

Continue reading “#OrendaMonth The Team’s Tree: The Branches (final part) @OrendaBooks”

Posted in Book Reviews

Don’t Stop Me Now by Colleen Coleman #BlogTour @bookouture @CollColemanAuth

Happy Tuesday everyone! Bordeaux is not having much luck with its weather, so I am happy today I am on the last stop of the blog tour for Don’t Stop Me Now, which is a real ray of sunshine!

coverTitle: Don’t Stop Me Now
Author: Colleen Coleman
Publisher: Bookouture
Date of publication: March 22nd 2017
Format reviewed: eARC
Source: Publisher
Number of pages: 272
Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

A hilarious feel good read about making lemonade when life gives you lemons, and finding the silver lining in every cloud.

Poppy Bloom planned to finish her PhD and walk straight into a job at her university. But here she is, unemployed, unceremoniously dumped by her boyfriend, and living back at her mum’s in her vampire-themed childhood bedroom.

Not exactly what she was hoping for.

But when Poppy sets her mind to something, nothing can stand in her way. She scores herself an internship at the hottest radio station in town, joins a netball team, and renews her friendship with her oldest friend Leanne. Spending time with Leanne’s gorgeous twin Tom is just a bonus…

But life has a way of tripping you up when you least expect it, and Poppy soon has to decide where her priorities lie… With new friends, a new career and a new romance, can Poppy keep everyone happy, or is everything about to tumble down around her?

A laugh-out-loud story about friendship, second chances, and new love, perfect for fans of Lindsey Kelk, Marian Keyes and Jane Costello.

Continue reading “Don’t Stop Me Now by Colleen Coleman #BlogTour @bookouture @CollColemanAuth”

Posted in Book Reviews

#OrendaMonth Book 6: In Her Wake by Amanda Jennings @OrendaBooks @MandaJJennings + Giveaway!

orenda-book-month

I can hardly believe this will probably be my last review for the Orenda Month! I haven’t been able to finish my next read so unless a miracle happens, In Her Wake is my last piece of work, and what a fantastic way to end the review part of this project!

in her wake
Title: In Her Wake
Author: Amanda Jennings
Publisher: Orenda Books
First date of publication: 2016
Format: eBook
Source: Review copy
Number of pages: 320
Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

A perfect life … until she discovered it wasn’t her own

A tragic family event reveals devastating news that rips apart Bella’s comfortable existence. Embarking on a personal journey to uncover the truth, she faces a series of traumatic discoveries that take her to the ruggedly beautiful Cornish coast, where hidden truths, past betrayals and a 25-year-old mystery threaten not just her identity, but also her life. Chilling, complex and profoundly moving, In Her Wake is a gripping psychological thriller that questions the nature of family – and reminds us that sometimes the most shocking crimes are committed closest to home.

Continue reading “#OrendaMonth Book 6: In Her Wake by Amanda Jennings @OrendaBooks @MandaJJennings + Giveaway!”

Posted in Book Talk, The Pub Corner

#OrendaMonth The Team’s Tree: The Branches (part 3) @OrendaBooks

orenda-book-month

Sundays are for lazy hours of reading brunches! And brunches would not be the same without lovely and interesting people to share it with, so here are some of the most talented of Orenda Books’s team for you to have a good time with! (I’m writing this at noon, I’m hungry, excuse the brunch introduction!)

Continue reading “#OrendaMonth The Team’s Tree: The Branches (part 3) @OrendaBooks”

Posted in Book Reviews

#OrendaMonth Book 5: The Abrupt Physics of Dying by Paul Hardisty @OrendaBooks @Hardisty_Paul

orenda-book-month

Time flies! It’s the fifth book in the Orenda Month to be reviewed! To be frank, I was hoping I’d review more books but March has been too good to moan about what a slow reader I am! Especially when you come across books from a genre you never expected to enjoy so much! Gosh, it feels good to jump out of our comfort zone!!!

the abrupt physics of dying

Title: The Abrupt Physics of Dying
Author: Paul E. Hardisty
Publisher: Orenda Books
First date of publication: 2015
Format: Paperback
Source: Review copy
Number of pages: 448
Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Claymore Straker is trying to forget a violent past. Working as an oil company engineer in the wilds of Yemen, he is hijacked at gunpoint by Islamic terrorists. Clay has a choice: help uncover the cause of a mysterious sickness afflicting the village of Al Urush, close to the company’s oil-processing facility, or watch Abdulkader, his driver and close friend, die. As the country descends into civil war and village children start dying, Clay finds himself caught up in a ruthless struggle between opposing armies, controllers of the country’s oil wealth, Yemen’s shadowy secret service, and rival terrorist factions. As Clay scrambles to keep his friend alive, he meets Rania, a troubled journalist. Together, they try to uncover the truth about Al Urush. But nothing in this ancient, unforgiving place is as it seems. Accused of a murder he did not commit, put on the CIA’s most-wanted list, Clay must come to terms with his past and confront the powerful forces that want him dead. A stunning debut eco-thriller, The Abrupt Physics of Dying is largely based on true events – the horrific destruction of fresh water and lives by oil giants. Gritty, gripping and shocking, this book will not only open your eyes but keep them glued to the page until the final, stunning denouement is reached.

Continue reading “#OrendaMonth Book 5: The Abrupt Physics of Dying by Paul Hardisty @OrendaBooks @Hardisty_Paul”

Posted in Book Talk, Guest Post

#OrendaMonth Top 10 Twins in Fiction, Guest Post by Lucy V. Hay @OrendaBooks @LucyVHayAuthor

orenda-book-month

Remember how I said this Orenda project was my first big thing on the blog? Well, today, another big thing is happening! A Top 10! I am over the moon to be hosting a guest post, and guess what? It’s on one of my favorite subjects and by the author of one of my most anticipated reads of the year!!!

Without further ado, I present you the Top 10 Twins in Fiction according to Lucy V. Hay!

Continue reading “#OrendaMonth Top 10 Twins in Fiction, Guest Post by Lucy V. Hay @OrendaBooks @LucyVHayAuthor”