Posted in This week in books

This Week In Books (Feb 8th 2017)

thisweekinbooks

This Week In Books is a weekly update on what you’ve been reading hosted by Lipsyy Lost & Found . A similar meme is hosted by Sam @ Taking on a World of Words.

∧ Then ∧ Revenge, Nigel May

revenge

If you keep dangerous secrets you’ll pay the ultimate price…

In the South of France, playground of the rich and famous, world renowned chef Dexter Franklin is organising a night to remember. As he opens the doors to his exclusive restaurant for the first time, he’s handpicked a list of guests, as hot and dazzling as the St Tropez sun itself:

Mew Stanton: Fashionable, beautiful and a notorious TV chef, Dexter’s ex-girlfriend has all the ingredients for success. As her books fly off the shelves, a secret from her past is about to surface with explosive consequences.

Holly Lydon: Ex girlband star who has fallen on hard times. Forced to make ends meet she’s having to sleep her way to the top. Now she’s making headlines for all the wrong reasons.

Rosita Velázquez: Brazilian actress extraordinaire and girlfriend of Dexter’s brother, Leland. When she’s in town everybody needs to know about it, but this is one show-stopping entrance she’ll live to regret.

Three women have a past with Dexter and a grudge to bear against him. As fireworks ignite in the jet set capital of Europe, there’s murder on the menu. Who will be served their just desserts?

The sun is setting in the South of France. Pour yourself a glass of champagne and sit back for a read of revenge, regrets and shocking revelations that will have you hooked to the very last page.

This story is a breath of air. Not the nicest or healthiest air but how so enjoyable!

≈ Now ≈ Blink, K.L. Slater

blink

What if the person you love most in the world was in terrible danger … because of you?

Three years ago, Toni’s five-year-old daughter Evie disappeared after leaving school. The police have never been able to find her. There were no witnesses, no CCTV, no trace.

But Toni believes her daughter is alive. And as she begins to silently piece together her memories, the full story of the past begins to reveal itself, and a devastating truth.

Toni’s mind is trapped in a world of silence, her only chance to save herself is to manage the impossible. She must find a way to make herself heard. She must find her daughter.

A compelling, gripping thriller with a breathtaking twist that will keep you awake until the early hours. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, Behind Closed Doors and The Sister.

If you read my review of the previous book by the author, you must already know I am really thrilled to be starting this today!

∨ Next ∨ Loving the Life Less Lived, Gail Marie Mitchell

loving-the-life-less-lived

An essential companion for anyone dealing with mental illness.
Like many people, Gail Marie Mitchell battled with anxiety and depression for many years, finding it exhausting, stressful and demoralising at times.

Realising that this approach to her condition was futile, Gail chose a different approach: acceptance.

Taking control in this way removed some of the pressure and enabled Gail to focus on developing coping strategies, creating the tips and tools that are included in this empathetic and practical book.

Gail focuses on the positive aspects of her condition, showing how a person living with mental illness is so much more than the label that society puts on them. She found acceptance empowering, enabling her to live her life to the full. Perhaps not the life she had planned, but one that is happy and fulfilling and that she loves. She is Loving the Life Less Lived.

By sharing her experiences and describing what she learnt from them as well as the resulting coping strategies, Gail has created an essential companion for anyone dealing with mental illness and their family and friends.

Then I will be taking care of myself this weekend with a gift from a friend (thank you again, so much!). I will be entering this new story on mental health with an open and curious mind and will take every advice it offers.

Have you read any of those books? What is on your list this week?
Do share in the comments:)
Happy reading
!

40 thoughts on “This Week In Books (Feb 8th 2017)

    1. That’s exactly what you’ll get with Revenge 😀 Well, St Tropez is very special, thankfully the rest of the country isn’t as glamgerous (glamour+dangerous, this is my only creativity of the day)

      Liked by 1 person

    1. That mention should so be forbidden, it’s a kind of a turnoff now, but I’ll forgive it because it sounds so good! I’ve caught up with reviews and I’m part of the blog tour so you won’t have to wait too long for my thoughts on this one!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I assure you you will not be disappointed by Blink! I also read Safe with me and thought this one could not be as good, but I was so wrong! It is even better. Cannot wait for the next one

    Like

  2. Well you have survived that dang comet haha. Blink sounds really good actually. Looking forward to how that turns out for you. And the cover for Loving the Life Less Lived has caught my eye ❤

    I haven't read these. I am still working on Red Sister and The Knot of King Gordius. I have been in the mood for nothing but fantasy and historical fiction haha.

    Like

    1. Yep, that comet couldn’t bring me down, haha! Blink is *needs to shut up but can’t wait to discuss it* So far so… creepy, hahahaha! Loving The Life Less Lived has an inspirational title and maybe I’ll find some answers in it 🙂
      Haha, great escape, you need them ❤ Enjoy

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m glad to see you enjoyed Revenge. I remember seeing that on your previous Week in Books post and it looked really interesting so I’ll be looking forwards to your review for this one. 😀 I hope you enjoy the other two as well. The blurbs make them sound like interested reads, granted in two very different ways. 🙂

    Like

    1. My review is out today! This proves I’m so late in replying to comments, haha! This week has been hectic! Revenge was a real treat, lots of people, lots of events, lots of hot moments, lots of everything! Definitely a good and gripping read. There’s something addictive to the kind of life told in it.
      I’m now into Blink and so far not disappointed 🙂 Happy reading to you!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s all right, this week (and last actually) has been really hectic for me which you can kind of tell from how behind I’ve got in terms of posting and commenting. Still should be back to normal soon, and I’ll be sure to check out your review shortly as well. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s