Posted in Book Reviews, This week in books

This Week In Books (December 28th 2016)

thisweekinbooks

This Week In Books is a weekly update on what you’ve been reading hosted by Lipsyy Lost & Found . A similar meme is hosted by Sam @ Taking on a World of Words.

I am oddly emotional at the thought this is the last TWIB of the year. This meme has made my TBR so big and I owe it some of my favorite discoveries *grabs a tissue and gazes at nothing* Do the holidays make you all feel mushy too or is it just me??

∧ Then ∧ The Lonely Life of Biddy Weir, Lesley Allen

the lonely life

A stark but uplifting story of bullying and redemption, for anyone who’s ever been a weirdo.

Almost too terrified to grip the phone, Biddy Weir calls a daytime television show.

The subject is bullying, and Biddy has a story to tell.

Abandoned by her mother as a baby, Biddy lives in her own little world, happy to pass her time watching the birds – until Alison Fleming joins her school.

Popular and beautiful, but with a dangerous, malevolent streak, Alison quickly secures the admiration of her fellow students. All except one. And Alison doesn’t take kindly to people who don’t fit her mould . . .

A story of abuse and survival, of falling down and of starting again, and of one woman’s battle to learn to love herself for who she is, The Lonely Life of Biddy Weir is Lesley Allen’s startlingly honest debut novel, perfect for fans of Rowan Coleman and Julie Cohen

This was moving but a bit long. I enjoyed the story, as much as you can enjoy reading about bullying of course, but Biddy’s case took the issue to the extreme and I felt too disconnected to her to truly appreciate the development she goes through.

≈ Now ≈ The Beautiful Dead, Belinda Bauer

the-beautiful-dead

Belinda Bauer is an award-winning British crime writer of the highest caliber, whose smart, stylish novels have captivated readers and reviewers on both sides of the Atlantic and earned her a reputation as “the true heir to the great Ruth Rendell” (Mail on Sunday (UK)). Her latest, The Beautiful Dead, is a riveting narrative centered on a down-on-her-luck journalist and a serial killer desperate for the spotlight.

TV crime reporter Eve Singer’s career is flagging, but that starts to change when she covers a spate of bizarre murders—each one committed in public and advertised like an art exhibition. When the killer contacts Eve about her coverage of his crimes, she is suddenly on the inside of the biggest murder investigation of the decade. But as the killer becomes increasingly obsessed with her, Eve realizes there’s a thin line between inside information and becoming an accomplice to murder—possibly her own.

Hooked from the very start, I’m loving this story. I feels good to be scared sometimes!

∨ Next ∨ How to Throw Your Life Away, Laurie Ellingham

how-to-throw

Have you ever wondered how much it would take to make you snap? For thirty-two year old Katy Davenport it was the littlest thing… All her boyfriend of five years had to do was answer her question about dinner. Not ignore her. Not continue to watch the football like she didn’t exist.

In that moment Katy snaps. One moment of insanity and Katy throws her life away.

The policeman who arrests her laughs. Her best friend cheers. And her anger management counsellor insists on embarrassing her in front of the entire class. For Katy this is just the beginning as she struggles to find her place in a whole new world where her ex-boyfriend refuses to move out of her house, and Katy finds herself snapping again and again. Will Katy be able to control her anger for long enough to pick up the pieces of her life?

After a nice series of crime and heavy stories, it’s time for a break. Why not start the year with a light story with a funny name?

Have you read any of those books? What is on your list this week?
Do share in the comments:)
Happy reading
!

24 thoughts on “This Week In Books (December 28th 2016)

    1. The Beautiful Dead is a great surprise with a different side that makes the genre feel refreshed and new! Exactly 🙂 The year has been quite stressful and full of events so ending it with a light read is great.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. These all sound like interesting books, and it seems like you enjoyed the first two as well Donna which is always a plus isn’t it? 🙂
    I definitely agree with your reasoning of starting the new year with a light-hearted and funny book, and it sounds like How to Throw Your Life Away is the perfect pick as well. Hopefully it will set the tone for the year for you!
    Happy reading! 😀

    Like

    1. Beautiful Dead dealt with a subject I’m fascinated with so it heightened my interest in the story 😀 How To Throw Your Life Away is a great light story, I was not expecting to love it so much, the characters are so easy to fall for!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I can totally relate! I still cannot believe the year is almost over… The Beautiful Dead sounds SO good by the way; I will be looking forward to your review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s