Posted in This week in books

This Week In Books (December 21st 2016)

thisweekinbooks

This Week In Books is a weekly update on what you’ve been reading hosted by Lipsyy Lost & Found . A similar meme is hosted by Sam @ Taking on a World of Words.

∧ Then ∧ Don’t Tell Anyone, Eleanor Gray

dont-tell-anyone

Nearly lost in a fog of grief over the fatal stabbing of her daughter, art historian Grace Neville feels only sorrow as Jordan Dukes is found guilty of murder. Days after the sentencing, Grace receives a visit from Jordan’s father, who claims that his son is innocent and a grave miscarriage of justice has taken place. Jordan’s history of gang-related violence and the fact that he doesn’t have an alibi make his father’s plea hard to believe. But then why does somebody break into Grace’s home and go through her daughter’s belongings?

In Don’t Tell Anyone, Eleanor Gray explores the relationship between a mother and a daughter, and the secrets that drive Grace to seek the truth no matter what the cost.

I finished this book in one sitting, but not necessarily for the right reasons. I have mixed feelings about this book and I’m gonna need a couple of days to decide whether or not I liked it.

≈ Now ≈ The Lonely Life of Biddy Weir, Lesley Allen

the lonely life

A stark but uplifting story of bullying and redemption, for anyone who’s ever been a weirdo.

Almost too terrified to grip the phone, Biddy Weir calls a daytime television show.

The subject is bullying, and Biddy has a story to tell.

Abandoned by her mother as a baby, Biddy lives in her own little world, happy to pass her time watching the birds – until Alison Fleming joins her school.

Popular and beautiful, but with a dangerous, malevolent streak, Alison quickly secures the admiration of her fellow students. All except one. And Alison doesn’t take kindly to people who don’t fit her mould . . .

A story of abuse and survival, of falling down and of starting again, and of one woman’s battle to learn to love herself for who she is, The Lonely Life of Biddy Weir is Lesley Allen’s startlingly honest debut novel, perfect for fans of Rowan Coleman and Julie Cohen

Starting it today!

∨ Next ∨ The Beautiful Dead, Belinda Bauer

the-beautiful-dead

Belinda Bauer is an award-winning British crime writer of the highest caliber, whose smart, stylish novels have captivated readers and reviewers on both sides of the Atlantic and earned her a reputation as “the true heir to the great Ruth Rendell” (Mail on Sunday (UK)). Her latest, The Beautiful Dead, is a riveting narrative centered on a down-on-her-luck journalist and a serial killer desperate for the spotlight.

TV crime reporter Eve Singer’s career is flagging, but that starts to change when she covers a spate of bizarre murders—each one committed in public and advertised like an art exhibition. When the killer contacts Eve about her coverage of his crimes, she is suddenly on the inside of the biggest murder investigation of the decade. But as the killer becomes increasingly obsessed with her, Eve realizes there’s a thin line between inside information and becoming an accomplice to murder—possibly her own.

A seamlessly-plotted thriller that will keep readers breathless until the very end, The Beautiful Dead cements Belinda Bauer’s reputation as a master of heart-stopping suspense.

I am still going through my ARCs and this one announces that I have officially caught up with publication dates.

Have you read any of those books? What is on your list this week?
Do share in the comments:)
Happy reading
!

31 thoughts on “This Week In Books (December 21st 2016)

    1. I finally made up my mind about Don’t Tell Anyone 🙂 I’m disappointed that the only thing that kept me reading was the fact I wanted to confirm if the theory I had come up with was the right one!

      Like

    1. Don’t Tell Anyone was so promising 😦 I think I did not like it. Nah, I’m sure, haha. I’m just hesitating because I kept reading anyway but that was just my brain hoping to be right on its theories!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Congratulations already on having caught up with your ARCs after reviewing these! Really diverse choice again here. You always find books that I’ve never heard of, like the first two. These two also sound interesting.. I have a book of Julie Cohen on my wishlist btw which should be quite emotional so I’m expecting this book to be so too. I’ve read one book by Belinda Bauer (Darkside) and gave it a rare 2 stars because of its sucky ending so I’ve never been inclined to give it another go. Maybe you can change my mind ;-).

    Like

    1. I try to keep my reads as diverse as possible 🙂 It’s funnier this way! I can’t believe I am about to reach 80% on NG! The remaining ARCs will be published in 2017 so that leaves me plenty of time to get to them. I need to have some time with titles on my TBR. I’ll do my best with Bauer’s book and we can talk about it when I’m done 🙂

      Like

  2. Yay! You’re all caught up with your pub dates! 🙂 I have so many ARCs to read by their pub dates plus my book stuff. 😂 I’m not requesting another one for a very long time. I had the same issue with Don’t Tell Anyone. Your cover is different so it took me a minute to realize it was the ARC I detested. How about that ending? Gross! I read it one sitting just because I was so annoyed and had to know what happened.

    Like

    1. We are besties for a reason! The same happened to me with Don’t Tell Anyone! I just wanted to know if my theory was right, I couldn’t care about the characters or the flaws in the plot.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That book was a rant for me. I tried to be nice since it was so close to the pub date when I reviewed it, but I really didn’t like it at all. She was an annoying MC, I didn’t like the supporting characters, and the story felt like it had zero direction or purpose. I read it quick just to get it over with. 😂

        Like

    1. Haha, me too, I love rants! They are easier to write than raving reviews but as it is an ARC it made me feel so bad to write so many negative things. Anyway, the review will be published next week to keep the last days of 2016 joyous and happy! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s