Posted in Book Reviews

Lazy Saturday Review: Would You Recognize Your Own Son?

Have you ever struggled with a review? Staring at a blank screen with an unwilling blurb and a lazy mind? Waist-deep in the mud, trying to find get the upper hand on those stupid words. The most frustrating part being that you did not hate the book, you just don’t know how to write a proper review. That’s when I remembered Lipsyy’s brilliant idea of Lazy Saturday Reviews. Here’s what she has to say about it:

lazy saturday review

I started doing ‘lazy Saturday reviews’ as a way of getting reviews done in just 30 mins, and they proved to be quite popular. They are quick and snappy, and concentrate less on the plot (or content) and writing and more on my overall feelings about said book. They generally end up being a bit of a rant. My fave!

Let me tell you it works pretty well!

my husband's son

Title: My Husband’s Son
Author: Deborah O’Connor
Publisher:
Bonnier Publishing / Twenty7
Release date:
June 16th 2016
Format: eARC
Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

The Story

You’d always recognise your own son. Wouldn’t you?

A captivating psychological thriller with a devastating twist, perfect for fans of Apple Tree Yard and Gone Girl Heidi and Jason aren’t like other couples. Six years ago, Heidi’s daughter was murdered. A year later, Jason’s son Barney disappeared. Their shared loss brought them together. By chance, Heidi meets a boy she’s certain is Barney. But Jason is equally convinced it’s not him. Is Heidi mad? Or is Jason hiding something? And can their fragile marriage survive Heidi’s newfound quest for the truth . . .
My thoughts

Every parents’ nightmare – losing a child. Heidi’s daughter was murdered. Jason’s son disappeared. Grief brought them together, but when Heidi spots a young boy who’s the spitting image of what Barney should look like, she believes she can put an end to her husband’s suffering and bring him his son back. Except Jason swears the boy is not his.

Memories and experiences seemed to me to shape our identity so much more than a series of cells and chromosomes.

I admired the length Heidi was willing to go to prove she was right. Acting solely on a hunch, she goes above and beyond to make sure the truth comes out. I could only imagine the pain both parents’ must have been living with every day so I understood why she took it so personally and never gave up on this boy, despite the risks for herself, her life and her marriage. I remember Cleo at @ Cleopatra Loves Books mentioning the sex scenes throughout the story, I was not expecting them in such a story. But I realized it all comes down to the raw feelings, the edge you get to when something like this happens to you, when you deal with your pain, and what drives you to the end. Everything was there: the pain, the hope, the lies, the loneliness, the life. The writing lets you feel them all. This is what this book is about. Clinging to what’s left, putting bandages on scars that will never disappear. The characterisation was so spot-on that I felt all of Heidi’s emotions and distress with no effort of imagination. The words drew me in and left me breathless and exhausted, as if I had been the one chasing a child.

Our dreams had the power to sustain us as much as they had the power to destroy us.

The more Heidi looked into her recent discovery, the less everything made sense. Time started running out and the urgency was dripping from the pages, along with all those feelings. I began to wonder about her husband, his ex-wife, everyone, as hints were thrown out and the clock kept ticking. I got frustrated at Heidi for putting herself in harm’s way, at the world for not believing her, at the author for making me stay up! But it was all worth it.

If there is a Plot Twist Award, it belongs to My Husband’s Son. I never saw it coming, and I had to reread the ending three times to make sure I had not gone crazy. If you are looking for a fast-paced story with a gob-smacking twist, look no further, get this book.

I would like to thank the publishers for sending me a copy of this book through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

24 thoughts on “Lazy Saturday Review: Would You Recognize Your Own Son?

    1. That twist left me staring at the Kindle forever, thinking “what the hell just happened??” haha!
      30 min without any rereads and corrections xD But hey, I get extra points for writing in a second language!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Those are the best! 😀 Omg…*applauds*! So it IS possible! Now I know there’s hope out there for me as well xD. True to the second language thingy, I often have to go to Google translate when I want to use a non-kiddy version of a word 😛

        Liked by 1 person

            1. Yep ma’am, I have several real physical dictionaries and I’m buying new ones in September! But there are also better online dictionaries! Cambridge for English definitions because they have the US pronunciation recommended by a Youtube teacher, Wordreference for FR/EN and EN/FR, but never ever never do I use google translation!

              Liked by 1 person

              1. Haha! Omg, do I feel like a simpleton now :’). I own a ton of dictionaries but they’re all at least 15+ years old and, let’s be honest, I just can’t be arsed to grab them from upstairs and look for words because I’m such a lazy cow XD :/. Cambridge it is! 😉

                Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s