Posted in This week in books

This Week In Books (April 6th 2016)

thisweekinbooks

This Week In Books is a great meme hosted by Lipsyy Lost & Found where you sum-up what you’ve been reading during the week.


( a click on the title will take you to Goodreads! 🙂 )

∧ Then ∧ After You, Jojo Moyes / The Ex, Alafair Burke

Blurb for After You:
Lou Clark has lots of questions.
Like how it is she’s ended up working in an airport bar, spending every shift watching other people jet off to new places. Or why the flat she’s owned for a year still doesn’t feel like home.
Whether her close-knit family can forgive her for what she did eighteen months ago.
And will she ever get over the love of her life.
What Lou does know for certain is that something has to change.
Then, one night, it does. But does the stranger on her doorstep hold the answers Lou is searching for – or just more questions?
Close the door and life continues: simple, ordered, safe. Open it and she risks everything.
But Lou once made a promise to live. And if she’s going to keep it, she has to invite
them in . . .

The review was posted earlier this week. I am glad I read both Me Before You and After You because now I understand what people are talking about.

Blurb for The Ex:
In this breakout standalone novel of suspense in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on a Train, a woman agrees to help an old boyfriend who has been framed for murder—but begins to suspect that she is the one being manipulated.
Twenty years ago she ruined his life. Now she has the chance to save it.

The review is on its way. Overall, the book met my expectations. I was so happy to finally read it that I took it with me at work to make the best of my time.

≈ Now ≈ The Ice Twins , S.K Tremayne

Blurb:
A year after one of their identical twin daughters, Lydia, dies in an accident, Angus and Sarah Moorcraft move to the tiny Scottish island Angus inherited from his grandmother, hoping to put together the pieces of their shattered lives.
But when their surviving daughter, Kirstie, claims they have mistaken her identity—that she, in fact, is Lydia—their world comes crashing down once again.
As winter encroaches, Angus is forced to travel away from the island for work, Sarah is feeling isolated, and Kirstie (or is it Lydia?) is growing more disturbed. When a violent storm leaves Sarah and her daughter stranded, Sarah finds herself tortured by the past—what really happened on that fateful day one of her daughters died?

The Ice Twins is another of my most anticipated reads. I am four chapters in and totally hooked. There is something about the writing that takes you right into the story. I am loving it.

∨ Next ∨ Throne of Glass , Sarah J. Maas

Blurb:
After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin.
Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king’s council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she’ll serve the kingdom for three years and then be granted her freedom. Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilirating. But she’s bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her… but it’s the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best.
Then one of the other contestants turns up dead… quickly followed by another. Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined.

Remember what I said about sci-fi being out of my comfort zone? Well, it is nothing compared to fantasy. But thanks to the sweet and super busy Jill @rantandraveaboutbooks.com I am taking the jump and embracing the genre!

Have you read any of those books? What’s next on your list?
Happy reading!

26 thoughts on “This Week In Books (April 6th 2016)

    1. I hope you’ll enjoy it as much as I did. I have a thing for anything involving lawyers but this one was really good. I did not even know that Throne Of Glass was part of a series! That’s how little I know about the genre…

      Like

  1. It’s great you’re going to try Throne of Glass! I would say that Book 1 isn’t my favourite. I still think Book 2 is the best in the series…followed by Book 4. However, if you enjoy Book 1 (which is best approached as just some good, entertaining escapism… nothing deep), you’ll enjoy the rest of the series. I hope you like it!

    Here’s my WWW: https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2016/04/06/www-wednesday-6th-april-2016/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I learnt it was part of a series only a few minutes ago, haha. I am really excited about trying something new. I’ll keep your words in mind while reading 🙂 I’ll check out your post now!

      Like

  2. I have After You in my April TBR although it doesn’t sound very popular. I read your review on it but decided to soldier on and read it LOL maybe I will end up being in the the group that likes it 🙂 I really want to read The Ex. I liked both Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. The Ex sounds great.

    Happy reading, enjoy the next week.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re brave, haha! Who knows, you might just enjoy it 🙂 That’s what I love about sharing about books, I get to see how people experience a book differently. I highly recommend The Ex, my review is on the way. I haven’t read Gone Girl and The Girl On The Train, though! Happy reading to you too!

      Like

  3. I think I’m gonna skip out of reading After You. I like the way Me Before You ended and I don’t really think it needed a sequel, other than Moyes trying to squeeze some more money out of its popularity, haha! I’m looking forward to reading ToG though!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It totally looks like that’s what she had in mind. You’re juuuuust fine with the ending of Me Before You.
      I’m really excited about reading ToG, I feel like a kid at the door of a new kingdom (if that makes any sense, haha!)

      Liked by 1 person

  4. The Ice Twins sounds so good! I’ve had it on my wishlist like forever; I really need to get a copy soon. I’m not sure yet if I actually want to read After You because I wasn’t a big fan of Me Before You… But I’m definitely going to try and pick up The Ex soon; it sounds like an entertaining read. I hope you’ll enjoy Throne Of Glass! I really enjoyed the series, although the first book is still my least favorite of the bunch. Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The Ice Twins is as good as it sounds! (I should avoid saying this until I reach the end but I can’t!!) If Me Before You did not get to you, I’d say you can skip After You. Also, I highly recommend The Ex, it’s a good read. I feel like a kid about to discover a new world with Throne of Glass, I am way too excited! Thank you! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s