Posted in This week in books

This Week In Books (March 23rd)

thisweekinbooks

This Week In Books is a great meme hosted by Lipsyy Lost & Found where you sum-up what you’ve been reading during the week.

(clicking on the title of each book will take you to the Goodreads page)

I decided to make this last week of March a great one, at least for reading. Also, reviews and tags are on their way!

∧ Then ∧ Rebecca, Daphné du Maurier

Blurb
“Last night I dreamt I went to Manderley again…”
So the second Mrs. Maxim de Winter remembered the chilling events that led her down the turning drive past the beeches, white and naked, to the isolated gray stone manse on the windswept Cornish coast. With a husband she barely knew, the young bride arrived at this immense estate, only to be inexorably drawn into the life of the first Mrs. de Winter, the beautiful Rebecca, dead but never forgotten… her suite of rooms never touched, her clothes ready to be worn, her servant–the sinister Mrs. Danvers–still loyal. And as an eerie presentiment of evil tightened around her heart, the second Mrs. de Winter began her search for the real fate of Rebecca… for the secrets of Manderley.


I am glad I gave Rebecca another try after a couple of days. It made it to the “Classics I enjoyed reading” list, and if you know me, you know how hard it is to win the title. I really wanted to know what would happen to the second Mrs. de Winter. Naive and shy, she didn’t fit in the great Manderley picture, and I’m a sucker for things that don’t fit. I kept wondering about the big twist I had heard about and it did not let me down.

Rating: 3/5 I liked this book

≈ Now ≈ The Laptev Virus, Christy Esmahan

Blurb:
Winner of the 2015 National Indie Excellence Award in the Medical Thriller genre. This techno thriller, hard scifi novel, begins in the Arctic where an oil company is drilling and unwittingly discovers a megavirus which had been frozen in the permafrost for 30,000 years. It is a thousand times larger than any viruses known before and is a human pathogen. Now investigators in Houston must race against the ticking clock of the short Arctic summer to discover a way to protect workers from the virus before competitors drain the basin of its rich resources…and before anyone else dies from the hemorrhagic fever that the Laptev virus causes.

I am late on schedule again so I’m only halfway through it but I appreciate how different it is from my usual readings. I had feared technical descriptions would bore me but the writing style makes it okay.

∨ Next ∨ Me Before You, Jojo Moyes / The Ex, Alafair Burke

(Little) Blurb for The Ex:
In this breakout standalone novel of suspense in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on a Train, a woman agrees to help an old boyfriend who has been framed for murder—but begins to suspect that she is the one being manipulated.

Last week of March means I must really start reading the Book of the Month! I really hope Me Before You will keep its promises.
Also, I am utterly excited about finally reading The Ex. I have been dying to read it since Cleo from cleopatralovesbooks.wordpress.com published her great review (find it here). As an extra motivation to find more time to read, I decided to treat myself with one of the books I have been absolutely looking forward to.

Have you read any of those books? What’s next on your reading list?
I wish you a good bookish week!

29 thoughts on “This Week In Books (March 23rd)

    1. It think it’s worth adding to your TBR, I enjoyed it enough to recommend it 🙂 I’d love to know what you think of it if you read it.
      I’m afraid of reading challenges, ah ah. Good luck with that! I’ll check out your post now 🙂

      Like

      1. Fantastic! Perhaps I’ll get to reading Rebecca this summer. It’s so difficult to find the time to do much fun reading during the school year.

        Liked by 1 person

            1. I’m majoring in English and Japanese, with economy, marketing and law as minors. I’m hoping to ditch Japanese and all minors next year to focus on English only

              Like

              1. That’s a lot!! What made you fall in love with the English language? Je crois que le français est plus beau et historique. Je l’ai etudié à l’université. Mais j’aime l’allemand et le néerlandais aussi.

                Liked by 1 person

                1. I am a bit of a masochist, ah ah!
                  I was lucky to meet an awesome teacher who believed in sharing his knowledge of the language with passion. I owe him my own passion. It’s crazy how the people can have such a strong influence on you. I am considering becoming an English teacher myself, no matter how many years it takes. Either this or enrolling in a Translation Master. I am not very fond of French, je trouve la langue très compliquée, même pour les natifs! J’ai étudié le russe et l’espagnol au lycée aussi. But it’s hard to keep up with a language if you don’t use it. I’ve lost most of what I knew because I don’t watch Spanish TV shows or listen to Spanish songs.
                  What French your major?

                  Like

                  1. French harder than Russian?! There’s a whole other alphabet to learn! English is also complicated…for natives. Haha I agree, it is amazing how someone’s own love of a subject can influence your interests. The other languages I’ve studied I’ve lost, because of a lack of use. Bye bye German, Dutch, Spanish, and Arabic. French was my minor along with Anthropology. I majored in Religious Studies.

                    Liked by 1 person

                    1. Learning a new alphabet is not very hard, I had to do it too for Japanese and it’s a lot of fun. Well, my idea of fun xD Religious Studies sound interesting. I wish we had a wider choice of study fields here. The French system is not very good about that.

                      Like

                    2. It’s a fantastic topic, but I’m biased. It really teaches you a lot about history, different cultures, and why so many people do the things they do. That is a shame it’s not available in the French system. I was able to take classes in Religious Studies when I studied in Belgium. Les sciences des religions et laïcité. So much fun!

                      Liked by 1 person

  1. It always annoyed me in Rebecca that the second Mrs DW was never named; as if she didn’t have or wasn’t worthy of her own identity.
    The Ex sounds like a good read, although may be over-hyped comparing it to Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train…Is it narrated by an unreliable female….??
    Gosh, I’ve been rather negative in my comment this week, I do apologise 😉
    Here’s my WWW – http://bookboodle.co.uk/2016/03/23/www-wednesday-march-23rd

    Like

    1. I found it very disturbing, it was hard to see her as a whole character as she was never refered to by her name. It created a kind of distance, which felt weird as it is her we follow throughout the story.
      I’ve been extremely excited about The Ex so I’m like a kid around Christmas now, which feels a bit weird, it’s been a long time since a book has had that effect on me. I hope I won’t be disappointed.
      Comments are always good, negatives or not! 🙂 Thank you for stopping by, have a great reading week!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I hope you’ll enjoy Me Before You! I’ve heard a lot of great things about The Ex and I have been doubting whether to get a copy… I know I will give in in the end, because it just sounds too good. 😀 Happy reading!

    Like

    1. I finished this morning, but I am not sure I will review it, as it seems everything has been said about it. I was not disappointed but no tears were shed. I think I expected a little more from it.
      Thank you so much! I’ll check your post now! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s