Posted in Book Reviews

Life-Changing Stories: The Idea of You by Amanda Prowse @MrsAmandaProwse

Some stories you pick on a whim and they take your breath away. The best part is, they don’t wear a warning!

the idea of youTitle: The Idea of You
Author: Amanda Prowse
Publisher: Lake Union Publishing
Date of publication: March 2017
Format: eARC
Number of pages: 332
Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

With her fortieth birthday approaching, Lucy Carpenter thinks she finally has it all: a wonderful new husband, Jonah, a successful career and the chance of a precious baby of her own. Life couldn’t be more perfect.

But becoming parents proves much harder to achieve than Lucy and Jonah imagined, and when Jonah’s teenage daughter Camille comes to stay with them, she becomes a constant reminder of what Lucy doesn’t have. Jonah’s love and support are unquestioning, but Lucy’s struggles with work and her own failing dreams begin to take their toll. With Camille’s presence straining the bonds of Lucy’s marriage even further, Lucy suddenly feels herself close to losing everything…

This heart-wrenchingly poignant family drama from bestselling author Amanda Prowse asks the question: in today’s hectic world, what does it mean to be a mother?

Continue reading “Life-Changing Stories: The Idea of You by Amanda Prowse @MrsAmandaProwse”

Posted in Life in General, Mental Health

What I Make of December: My Very Own Little Christ…Thanksgiv..Well, Post.

If you’ve been around for a while, you already know it. If you are new, let me tell you Christmas time is not very welcome around here. Forced gatherings, fake smiles, compulsory gifts. I don’t care for any of it. Don’t talk to me about the Christmas spirit, I haven’t seen it in years! Plus, I don’t have a chimney. This totally ruins the thing.

christmas.gif

Continue reading “What I Make of December: My Very Own Little Christ…Thanksgiv..Well, Post.”

Posted in Book Reviews

One Needle in a Hell of a Haystack: The Child by @figbarton @TransworldBooks

I am THRILLED to be kicking off December with a review of The Child by Fiona Barton! Thank you so much Transworld and Anne Cater for inviting me to be part of this blog tour!

the child
Title: The Child
Author: Fiona Barton
Publisher: Transworld Books
Date of publication: December 1st 2017
Format: eARC
Number of pages: 364
Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

When a paragraph in an evening newspaper reveals a decades-old tragedy, most readers barely give it a glance. But for three strangers it’s impossible to ignore.

For one woman, it’s a reminder of the worst thing that ever happened to her.

For another, it reveals the dangerous possibility that her darkest secret is about to be discovered.

And for the third, a journalist, it’s the first clue in a hunt to uncover the truth.

The Child’s story will be told.

Continue reading “One Needle in a Hell of a Haystack: The Child by @figbarton @TransworldBooks”

Posted in Book Reviews

Length doesn’t Matter: CWA Anthology of Short Stories @OrendaBooks @the_cwa

Let’s begin the day with an Orenda Books review! And not any review. Today I’m finally publishing my thoughts about the CWA anthology of short stories. Personal reasons prevented me from posting on time, I apologize to the lovely Karen Sullivan and to the patient Anne Cater for this! This post in my thank you for including me in the tour!

cwa anthology.jpg

Title: CWA Anthology of Short Stories
Edited by: Martin Edwards
Publisher: Orenda Books
Date of publication: November 2017
Format: eARC
Number of pages: 306
Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

This exciting collection of short stories features crime writers working with a “mystery tour” or travel theme. Ann Cleeves on Tanzania, Vas Khan on Mumbai, and Marnie Riches on Holland. Other writers include Sarah Hilary, Alex Marwood, Cally Taylor, Elly Griffiths, Steph Broadribb, Johana Gustawsson, Liz Nugent, Steve Cavanagh, Cal Moriarty, Paul Hardisty, Mason Cross, Sharon Bolton, Vas Khan, Marnie Riches, Bill Ryan, Ian Rankin, Peter James, Kate Rhodes, Ragnar Jonasson, and Ann Cleeves.

Continue reading “Length doesn’t Matter: CWA Anthology of Short Stories @OrendaBooks @the_cwa”

Posted in Book Reviews

Blog Blitz! Gone Missing by T.J Brearton @BreartonTJ @bookouture

Happy Thursday! Today I’m happy to share the love for Gone Missing, a special and interesting new release from Bookouture! Happy publication day to  and thank you to Bookouture for letting me be a part of the party!

gone missingTitle: Gone Missing
Author: T.J. Brearton
Imprint: Bookouture
Date of publication: November 16th 2017
Format: eARC
Rating: ⭐⭐⭐ and a half

It was a normal day. Then they took her.

Katie Calumet is on an early-morning run when she hears a baby crying. The park is deserted, and there’s no one in the street. She follows the cries, but then everything goes black. When Katie wakes up, she’s blindfolded and her hands and feet are bound.

Detective Justin Cross takes on the case, but with the trail leading into endless dense forest, and a failing marriage weighing on his mind, finding Katie is his most challenging case yet – not least because the Calumet family are keeping secrets of their own.

Justin and Katie face a race against time that will push them both to their very limits. As Justin works day and night to discover who took her and why, Katie fights desperately to escape from her kidnappers and the forest that surrounds her…

Can Justin find her before it’s too late?

A gripping and breath-taking thriller you won’t be able to put down. Perfect for fans of Tom Bale, Rachel Abbott and Robert Dugoni.

Continue reading “Blog Blitz! Gone Missing by T.J Brearton @BreartonTJ @bookouture”

Posted in Excerpt

The Icelandic Storm Part 1: Extract of Whiteout by Ragnar Jonasson @ragnarjo @OrendaBooks

Good morning, afternoon or evening! I am freezing but absolutely happy to be a part of the tour for Whiteout by our very own Ragnar Jonasson! I need to thank Anne Cater and Karen Sullivan for including me! Today, I am lucky to present you a slice of Whiteout!!!

Whiteout_New_Cover.jpeg

Two days before Christmas, a young woman is found dead beneath the cliffs of the deserted village of Kálfshamarvík. Did she jump, or did something more sinister take place beneath the lighthouse and the old house on the remote rocky outcrop? With winter closing in and the snow falling relentlessly, Ari Thór Arason discovers that the victim’s mother and young sister also lost their lives in this same spot, twenty-five years earlier. As the dark history and the secrets of the village are unveiled, and the death toll begins to rise, the Siglufjordur detectives must race against the clock to find the killer, before another tragedy takes place. Dark, chilling and complex, Whiteout is a haunting, atmospheric and stunningly plotted thriller from one of Iceland’s bestselling crime writers.

Continue reading “The Icelandic Storm Part 1: Extract of Whiteout by Ragnar Jonasson @ragnarjo @OrendaBooks”

Posted in Book Reviews

We’re on the Highway to: Hell to Pay by Rachel Amphlett @RachelAmphlett @emmamitchellfpr

THE TIME HAS COME.

My Kay Hunter fix arrived. I jumped on it. I devoured it. Now I’m sharing and waiting for the next!!!

A million thanks to Rachel Amphlett and Emma Mitchell for allowing me to kick off the blog tour and for providing me with a copy of the book.

Hell to Pay Cover MEDIUM WEB
Title: Hell to Pay
Author: Rachel Amphlett
Imprint: Saxon Publishing
Date of publication: November 16th 2017
Format: eARC
Number of pages: 322
Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

When a road traffic accident on a dark autumn night uncovers a disturbing conspiracy, Detective Sergeant Kay Hunter’s investigation exposes a ruthless serial killer exploiting vulnerable young women.

With her enemies unmasked and her career spiralling out of control, Kay’s determination to seek vengeance for the victims brings her dangerously close to those who want to silence her.

Undeterred, she uncovers the real reason behind a plot to destroy her career and sets in motion a terrifying chain of events.

Could Kay’s need for revenge be her undoing, or will she survive to see justice served?

Continue reading “We’re on the Highway to: Hell to Pay by Rachel Amphlett @RachelAmphlett @emmamitchellfpr”

Posted in Book Reviews

A Video Review of Broken Bones by Angela Marsons! @WriteAngie @bookouture

Hellooooo! I am so excited and happy to present you my first ever video review! And it’s not any review! It’s a Kim Stone book one!!! Thanks ever so much to Kim and Angela for including me in this project! I had lots of fun recording myself but Oi! Reviewing on video is awfully difficult so I hope it won’t be too boring to watch! I definitely have missed points I wanted to talk about so you’ll see a Goodreads review pop soon! I did not dive into details as it’s a series, so it’s all about feelings and discovering!

Broken-Bones-KindleTitle: Broken Bones
Author: Angela Marsons
Publisher: Bookouture
Date of publication: November 3rd 2017
Format: eARC
Number of pages: 374
Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

They thought they were safe. They were wrong.
The murder of a young prostitute and a baby found abandoned on the same winter night signals the start of a disturbing investigation for Detective Kim Stone – one which brings her face to face with someone from her own horrific childhood.

As three more sex workers are murdered in quick succession, each death more violent than the last, Kim and her team realise that the initial killing was no one-off frenzied attack, but a twisted serial killer preying on the vulnerable.

At the same time, the search begins for the desperate woman who left her newborn baby at the station – but what looks like a tragic abandonment turns even more sinister when a case of modern slavery is uncovered.

The two investigations bring the team into a terrifying world of human exploitation and cruelty – and a showdown that puts Kim’s life at risk as shocking secrets from her own past come to light.

Continue reading “A Video Review of Broken Bones by Angela Marsons! @WriteAngie @bookouture”