Posted in Book Reviews

Under One Roof: The Reunion by Samantha Hayes @bookouture @samhayes

Welcome on my stop for one of the most chilling stories I have read. Sometimes what looks normal turns out to be awfully scary. Really…

As usual, this review is my unbiased thanks to the fabulous Bookouture team and the wonderful Kim!

coverTitle: The Reunion
Author: Samantha Hayes
Publisher: Bookouture
Date of publication: 9th Feb 2018
Format: e-ARC
Source: Publisher
Number of pages: 386
Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

They were all there the day your sister went missing. 
Who is lying? Who is next?

THEN – In charge of her little sister at the beach, Claire allowed Eleanor to walk to the shop alone to buy an ice cream. Placing a coin into her hand, Claire told her to be quick, knowing how much she wanted the freedom.

Eleanor never came back.

NOW – The time has finally come to sell the family farm and Claire is organising a reunion of her dearest friends, the same friends who were present the day her sister went missing.

When another girl disappears, long-buried secrets begin to surface. One of the group hides the darkest secret of them all…

If you loved Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, this gripping psychological thriller packed full of twists and turns will be impossible to put down

Continue reading “Under One Roof: The Reunion by Samantha Hayes @bookouture @samhayes”

Posted in Book Reviews

Take a Look in the Mirror: #ForceOfNature by @janeharperautho, @LittleBrownUK @kimberleynyam

I am beyond thrilled to be one of the stops on the Force of Nature blog tour for Jane Harper’s latest story! Welcome to Hel.. Sunday’s post!

This unbiased review is my huge thanks to Little Brown UK and Kimberley for including me in this blog tour!

force of nature coverTitle: Force of Nature
Author: Jane Harper
Publisher: Little Brown UK
Date of publication: Feb 2018
Format: e-ARC
Source: Publisher
Number of pages: 400
Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

FIVE WENT OUT. FOUR CAME BACK…

Is Alice here? Did she make it? Is she safe? In the chaos, in the night, it was impossible to say which of the four had asked after Alice’s welfare. Later, when everything got worse, each would insist it had been them.

Five women reluctantly pick up their backpacks and start walking along the muddy track. Only four come out the other side.

The hike through the rugged landscape is meant to take the office colleagues out of their air-conditioned comfort zone and teach resilience and team building. At least that is what the corporate retreat website advertises.

Federal Police Agent Aaron Falk has a particularly keen interest in the whereabouts of the missing bushwalker. Alice Russell is the whistleblower in his latest case – and Alice knew secrets. About the company she worked for and the people she worked with.

Far from the hike encouraging teamwork, the women tell Falk a tale of suspicion, violence and disintegrating trust. And as he delves into the disappearance, it seems some dangers may run far deeper than anyone knew.

Continue reading “Take a Look in the Mirror: #ForceOfNature by @janeharperautho, @LittleBrownUK @kimberleynyam”

Posted in Book Reviews

This Is The End: Killed by Thomas Enger @OrendaBooks @EngerThomas #BlogTour

I hate goodbyes… But some are more memorable than others…

Thank you to my darling Karen and the wonderful Anne for having me as part of the blog tour for Killed. This post is unbiased and I take responsibility for any fangirlism.

 

killedTitle: Killed
Author: Thomas Enger
Translation: Kari Dickson
Publisher: Orenda Books
Date of publication: 15th Feb 2018
Format: Paperback
Number of pages: 276
Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

SOMEONE HAS TO DIE…

Henning Juul sits in a boat on a dark lake. A man with a gun sits
opposite him. At the man’s feet is a body that will be soon be dumped

into the water.

Henning knows that the same fate awaits him.
And he knows that it’s his own fault.

Who started the fire that killed Henning’s young son? How is his
sister, Trine, involved? Most importantly, who can be trusted?
Packed with tension and unexpected twists, Killed is the long-awaited
finale of the internationally renowned series featuring conflicted,
disillusioned but always dogged crime reporter Henning Juul, and
one of the most chilling, dark and moving crime thrillers you may ever read.

Continue reading “This Is The End: Killed by Thomas Enger @OrendaBooks @EngerThomas #BlogTour”

Posted in Cover Reveal

Open the Curtain: @Bookouture @cerilowepetrask #CoverReveal

Hello, hello, hello!

Yes, I am very excited! Today on the blog, I am sharing something different from my usual genres and it comes from one of my go-to publishers, so DOUBLE WIN!

Now you are wondering what I am talking about, right? Let me show you!

Thank you to my queen Noelle from Bookouture for inviting me to be part of this project!

allons y

Continue reading “Open the Curtain: @Bookouture @cerilowepetrask #CoverReveal”

Posted in Excerpt

#BlackHeart Extract! @annaloulondon @Bookouture

Happy Bookouture day here on Chocolate’n’Waffles! Today, as part of the tour for Black Heart by Anna-Lou Weatherly, I’m sharing an extract that I hope will make you curious!

Thank you to the beautiful Kim at Bookouture for inviting me to be part of this blog tour!

Black-Heart-Kindle

There’s a letter on the floor covered with blood next to a heart-shaped box of chocolates. The note says: ‘My beautiful darling, I’m sorry, please forgive me.’

When the body of a man is found with his wrists slashed in a London hotel room, it appears at first to be a tragic suicide. But Detective Dan Rileysuspects there is more to this case than meets the eye and the pathology report confirms his worst fears – the victim was poisoned and suddenly Dan is dealing with a murder inquiry. 

Then he makes a disturbing discovery, uncovering links between the victim and a woman calling herself Goldilocks on an online dating site. Is she seeking revenge or something more? 

Still grieving the devastating loss of his girlfriend and unborn child in a car accident two years ago, Dan throws everything he has into the investigation. Yet just as Dan begins to piece together the clues of this complex case, the body of a woman is found in her bed with identical wounds. 

Dan is on the trail of a twisted individual who is much closer than he realises. Can he overcome his own demons and stop the killer before it’s too late? 

An all-consuming and totally unputdownable read that will have you holding your breath to the very last page. Perfect for fans of Rachel Abbott, Robert Bryndza and Karin Slaughter. 

Previously published as Last Cry.

Continue reading “#BlackHeart Extract! @annaloulondon @Bookouture”

Posted in Guest Post

Making or Breaking a Book, a Guest Post from Helen Fields #PerfectDeath #BlogTour @Helen_Fields @HarperCollinsUK

Two posts in one day, how lucky you are, haha! I just couldn’t pass on the opportunity to take part in the blog tour for Helen Fields’ Perfect Death!

I’d like to thank Harper Collins and the wonderful team for inviting me to be part of this tour!

perfect death

Your new addiction starts here: get hooked on the #1 bestselling series. Perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter and M.J. Arlidge.

There’s no easy way to die…

Unknown to DI Luc Callanach and the newly promoted DCI Ava Turner, a serial killer has Edinburgh firmly in his grip. The killer is taking his victims in the coldest, most calculating way possible – engineering slow and painful deaths by poison, with his victims entirely unaware of the drugs flooding their bloodstream until it’s too late.

But how do you catch a killer who hides in the shadows? A killer whose pleasure comes from watching pain from afar? Faced with their most difficult case yet, Callanach and Turner soon realise they face a seemingly impossible task…

Continue reading “Making or Breaking a Book, a Guest Post from Helen Fields #PerfectDeath #BlogTour @Helen_Fields @HarperCollinsUK”

Posted in Book Reviews

Open Your Ears: Hydra by Matt Wesolowski @ConcreteKraken @OrendaBooks #BlogTour

You can’t imagine my pleasure today. I am all in for a treat. And you are, too!!

This review of Hydra is my unbiased thank you to Karen Sullivan, Anne Cater, and the #TeamOrenda!

HYDRA BF AW.indd
Title: Hydra
Author: Matt Wesolowski
Publisher: Orenda Books
Date of publication: 2018
Format: Paperback
Source: Publisher
Number of pages: 258
Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

A family massacre. A deluded murderess. Five witnesses. Six Stories. Which one is true?
One cold November night in 2014, in a small town in the northwest of England, 21-year-old Arla Macleod bludgeoned her mother, stepfather and younger sister to death with a hammer, in an unprovoked attack known as the Macleod Massacre. Now incarcerated at a medium-security mental-health institution, Arla will speak to no one but Scott King, an investigative journalist, whose Six Stories podcasts have become an internet sensation.

King finds himself immersed in an increasingly complex case, interviewing five key witnesses and Arla herself, as he questions whether Arla’s responsibility for the massacre was as diminished as her legal team made out. As he unpicks the stories, he finds himself thrust into a world of deadly forbidden ‘games’, online trolls, and
the mysterious black-eyed kids, whose presence seems to extend far beyond the delusions of a murderess… Dark, chilling and gripping, Hydra is both a classic murder mystery and an up-to-the-minute, startling thriller that shines light in places you may never, ever want to see again.

Continue reading “Open Your Ears: Hydra by Matt Wesolowski @ConcreteKraken @OrendaBooks #BlogTour”

Posted in Things that don't fit in any category

Resolutions I Will NOT Make #ByeJanuary!

Let’s be honest, New Year’s good resolutions were only made to comfort us about things we wish we could change but won’t because we are 1) too lazy 2) too busy 3) both 4) way too lazy, busy, and stuck (Thinking about the million people who have tried to quit smoking at this time of year. Failure or mistake has nothing to do with the moment you chose to try it. The pressure killed you!)

This is why today, I am rebelling against this archaic means of self-torture!

resolutions

Continue reading “Resolutions I Will NOT Make #ByeJanuary!”