The Defenceless by Kati Hiekkapelto @OrendaBooks @HiekkapeltoKati @countertenorist

the defenceless
Title: The Defenceless
Author: Kati Hiekkapelto
Translator: David Hackston
Publisher: Orenda Books
Date of publication: 2015
Format: Paperback
Number of pages: 320
Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Chilling, disturbing, and terrifyingly believable, an extraordinary thriller by one of the most exciting new voices in crime fiction

When an old man is found dead on the road—seemingly run over by a Hungarian au pair—police investigator Anna Fekete is certain that there is more to the incident than meets the eye. As she begins to unravel an increasingly complex case, she’s led on a deadly trail where illegal immigration, drugs, and, ultimately, murder threaten not only her beliefs, but her life. Anna’s partner Esko is entrenched in a separate but equally dangerous investigation into the activities of an immigrant gang, where deportation orders and raids cause increasing tension and result in desperate measures by gang members—and the police themselves. Then a bloody knife is found in the snow, and the two cases come together in ways that no one could have predicted. As pressure mounts, it becomes clear that having the law on their side may not be enough for Anna and Esko.

Continue reading

Will To Live by Rachel Amphlett #blogtour @RachelAmphlett @emmamitchellfpr

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Will To Live by Rachel Amphlett! We are here today because of a cover lust that turned out to be one of the best surprises I’ve had! I’m definitely gonna keep judging books by their cover!!

cpver.jpgTitle: Will to Live
Author: Rachel Amphlett
Publisher: Saxon Publishing
Date of publication: April 4th 2017
Format reviewed: eARC
Source: PR
Number of pages: 320
Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

When a packed commuter train runs over a body on a stretch of track known to locals as ‘Suicide Mile’, it soon transpires that the man was a victim of a calculated murder.

As the investigation evolves and a pattern of murders is uncovered, Detective Sergeant Kay Hunter realises the railway’s recent reputation may be the work of a brutal serial killer.

With a backlog of cold cases to investigate and attempting to uncover who is behind a professional vendetta against her, Kay must keep one step ahead of both the killer and her own adversaries.

When a second murder takes place within a week of the first, she realises the killer’s timetable has changed, and she’s running out of time to stop him…

Will to Live is the second book in a new crime thriller series featuring Kay Hunter – a detective with a hidden past and an uncertain future…

If you like Angela Marsons, Peter James and Robert Bryndza, discover the latest addition to Rachel Amphlett’s new series today

Continue reading

March Wrap-up + #OrendaMonth Giveaway Winner Announcement!

Dear March, you have been magical and exhausting, a challenge and a blessing, with your ups and your downs. You stole my hours of sleep but gave me my best blogging time since I started Chocolate’n’Waffles. I am sad to see you leave, but I’m happy we worked well together, even if you tried to freeze me to death and make me choke with the heat. You really couldn’t decide on your own weather, could you?

march.png

Continue reading

#OrendaMonth The Team’s Tree:The Roots aka the amazingly talented Karen Sullivan @OrendaBooks

orenda-book-month

How does a tree live? What makes it so strong and beautiful? (Yes, I’m feeling poetic…) Its ROOTS of course! And the Orenda Books Tree is so lucky to have the amazing, sweet and very talented Karen Sullivan at its top. Or bottom, if I keep the roots thing. Anyway, you get the idea! The point here is that today you can find out more about the big boss in this special “5 Facts About” !

Continue reading

Don’t Stop Me Now by Colleen Coleman #BlogTour @bookouture @CollColemanAuth

Happy Tuesday everyone! Bordeaux is not having much luck with its weather, so I am happy today I am on the last stop of the blog tour for Don’t Stop Me Now, which is a real ray of sunshine!

coverTitle: Don’t Stop Me Now
Author: Colleen Coleman
Publisher: Bookouture
Date of publication: March 22nd 2017
Format reviewed: eARC
Source: Publisher
Number of pages: 272
Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

A hilarious feel good read about making lemonade when life gives you lemons, and finding the silver lining in every cloud.

Poppy Bloom planned to finish her PhD and walk straight into a job at her university. But here she is, unemployed, unceremoniously dumped by her boyfriend, and living back at her mum’s in her vampire-themed childhood bedroom.

Not exactly what she was hoping for.

But when Poppy sets her mind to something, nothing can stand in her way. She scores herself an internship at the hottest radio station in town, joins a netball team, and renews her friendship with her oldest friend Leanne. Spending time with Leanne’s gorgeous twin Tom is just a bonus…

But life has a way of tripping you up when you least expect it, and Poppy soon has to decide where her priorities lie… With new friends, a new career and a new romance, can Poppy keep everyone happy, or is everything about to tumble down around her?

A laugh-out-loud story about friendship, second chances, and new love, perfect for fans of Lindsey Kelk, Marian Keyes and Jane Costello.

Continue reading